×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Liar and Spy
     

Liar and Spy

4.2 62
by Rebecca Stead
 

See All Formats & Editions

The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of the Newbery Medal book When You Reach Me: a story about spies, games, and friendship. Seventh grader Georges moves into a Brooklyn apartment building and meets Safer, a twelve-year-old self-appointed spy. Georges becomes Safer's first spy recruit. His assignment? Tracking the mysterious Mr. X, who

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Liar and Spy 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
ClearGlass More than 1 year ago
This book pulls you right in. And keeps you reading... Rebecca Stead includes just the right type of mysterious characters and modern day issues. The hero of the story is easily related to by many kids today. You will love the ending. I highly recommend this for classroom reading, because it offers a lot of opportunities for interesting classroom discussion in the areas of Social Studies and Character Ed.
GeoLibrarian More than 1 year ago
I read Stead's When You Reach Me when it came out, just before it won the Newbery Medal. I liked it, but I didn't love it. So I figured going in to this one that I would probably like it but not love it. I was wrong. I loved it. I'm not sure if it was the characters, Georges and Safer their families or if it was the plot revolving around spying on one's neighbors and lying to one's family/friends, but I strongly suspect that I just loved the book as a whole. With a beautiful combination of character development and plot movement I found myself really interested in reading about Georges and his struggles with moving, bullies, and a new friend he doesn't 'get.' Stead also throws in a plot twist that I really did not see coming that really changed the way I saw the book and the story as a whole. It left me stunned and thoughtful. In my mind I went back and thought about the way Georges had been acting and how things turned out to be very different than I thought. It made me think about the way humans jump to conclusions so easily and so very often turn out to be wrong. I found this a beautifully written and surprisingly complex story despite what originally seemed like a fairly straight-forward plot. I really liked the writing. For me a well-written book is a book where the writing flows so smoothly that I pay little attention to it because I am so engrossed in the story. Liar & Spy is one of those books.
AnthonyNY More than 1 year ago
Very good book, I loved it a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Rebecca Stead is an amazing author. The book is always better than the summary says
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My daughter read this for her Children's Literature class. She enjoyed it so much,she insisted I read it as well. It was a fast paced read that touched on issues that many children go through; bullying, cliques, loneliness. It was all done with a slight hand. It was a wonderful book, and I'd recommend it to any pre-adolescent, and their parents as a way to open up conversation.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book. Unexpected ending. But still awesome book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing. Its amazing. Like Harry Potter the author is able to pull you straight into the book. Here is a reveiw: 7th grader georges is having a rough time. They moved out of their house into an apartment.hes mum is working extra shifts. Hes best friend left him. But he meets a strange boy named Safer and his world gets a happier turn. Pleas read tthis book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i read liar and spy and most people like but i read it for summer reading and the summary of the story sounded good but then when i read it i really did not like it to me there was just not enough action in it it did not get to the point of the book till the end and to me it was not a mystery and i like to read mysteries so to me it was a little boring but if you like books with not alot of action then to me it is the perfect book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! There's a major twist at the end which nobody would expect. If you think the book looks good, I would say definitely give it a try if you are in 7th grade or younger.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was amazing. Left you on the edge of your seat the whole time you read the book. It was also funny in spots!
choirgal04 More than 1 year ago
This novel was an absolute delight! I loved the clear, sensitive voice with which Rebecca Stead (Newbery author of the marvelous When You Reach Me) speaks through each of these young characters, especially Georges. Full of humor, courage, and surprises, this is a refreshing & satisfying story I am so enthused to recommend. I can't praise enough the imaginative gift of this author; and, while I would love to hear more from Georges & his friends, part of the wonderful charm of this novel is the author's restraint in not packaging it as the first in yet another cookie-cutter "series of the month." Umami! (read the book; you'll get it.)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amzing book and well written! You have to read this! A Virginia tech fan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my fav. books I have read with and without my reading teacher in school. Its the best book to read.
Anonymous 21 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is worth zero stars. I fell asleep while reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super good story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Suprising ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont like liar and spy beacaus it is very odd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago