×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Liars' Club
     

The Liars' Club

3.7 65
by Mary Karr
 

See All Formats & Editions

The dazzling, prizewinning, wickedly funny tale of Mary Karr’s hardscrabble Texas childhood—the book that sparked a renaissance in memoir

When it was published in 1995, Mary Karr’s The Liars’ Club took the world by storm and raised the art of the memoir to an entirely new level, as well as bringing about a dramatic revival of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Liar's Club 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 65 reviews.
ktwolf74 More than 1 year ago
I just finished The Liars' Club last night. Her writing style was, at times, difficult to follow. This book is not for the faint of heart. The events she portrays are at times horrific. I found it difficult at some points, not because I found the situations she writes about shocking, but because they brought up similar memories of my own childhood. At one point I even considered putting the book down because I was flooded with so much backwash from the past. I am glad that I persevered and finished, because the ending was truly worth it. It spoke of healing and things were revealed that shone a different light on her Mother. I will say the book may not be for everyone. As I have experienced, some folks simply do not want to look in the face of those kinds of evils, those dark realities of life, and honestly, if given a choice, those of us who have experienced such things wouldn't want to either. I admire her courage for revealing not only these kinds of things, but such a personal intimate side of herself for the entire world to read. I am not certain I have that same courage, not just to share those intimate stories of my past, but simply to summon and face again those skeletons and red eyed demons.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this years ago, and it remains on my top 5 favorite books I've ever read. Karr blended brutal, sometimes disturbingly graphic, truths with humor and deep insight. She didn't hold back! The gruesome integrity of this book was stunning. I can't say enough good things about it. Really.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I heard Mary Karr started the memoir revolution with this book, but until I read it, I had no idea a memoir could be so fun to read--so funny and sad at the same time. I couldn't put it down. I've bought 8 copies since I closed it, and I'm ready to open it again. Wow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I see that Mary Karr is a noted writer, but I found this memoir hard to follow. The memories and the coherence in the writing were disjointed and just not for me. I have read The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls so I found this memoir disappointing next to it. I highly recommend The Glass Castle - could not put that memoir down and was sad to finish reading it.
dancer2 More than 1 year ago
Mary Karr has a lyrical way of writing that is captivating. I loved the book and will plan on reading her latest, LIT.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I kept seeing this title as a recommeded read as I browsed through the internet site and read other's critiques. There is no doubt that this woman can write! Her story is told in a thoughtful manner, honest and intelligent. She doesn't want you to feel sorry for her life nor her circumstances. This book is outstanding and well worth the time it takes to read it! Even if you are not into biographies, read this one!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Liars¿ Club is a memoir in which Mary Karr describes her difficult and challenging childhood. With an alcoholic mother who wavers in and out of sanity, and a father that would rather work overtime than to deal with his wife¿s outbursts, Mary and her sister, Lecia, are forced to quickly grow up. Mary and Lecia took care of their drunken mother on their own, and were put in near-death situations as a result of her drinking. As a child, Mary gets picked on because of the state her mother is in, and immediately develops an attitude in which she uses profanity and violence as a way to tell the world to leave her alone. Consequently, their family becomes the most feared and gossiped about family in their little town in Texas. Despite the circumstances that Lecia and Mary are put into, they stay with their mother through everything because they love her and don¿t want to see her die as a result of her bad habit. The major message in this book is that family is more important than anything else. The reasons behind the mother¿s actions will eventually be revealed to Mary and the reader, and they are all based on family ties. Even though Mary¿s mother put her in bad situations and didn¿t take care of her as a mother should, Mary still loved her. In a family, there is a tight bond where unconditional love is always present, but isn¿t shown until a family is put into a difficult situation. Karr¿s detailed account of her childhood is amazing. She remembers the smallest details so vividly, but still tells the story through her memory, which doesn¿t always hold all of the answers and outcomes of what happened. She makes the story feel as if it happened to you. The reader can feel her pain, anguish and embarrassment as she recalls horrifying experiences. Simultaneously, Karr¿s detailed accounts of her often boring life can lead the reader to also feel bored with the book. Not only are her most horrifying and challenging experiences included in the book, but she also includes all of the less captivating experiences in between. If you like memoirs, then this book is probably for you. It is hard to believe that Karr was put through so much as a child, and yet her family survived. After reading this book, it can make almost anyone grateful that they have a better life than she did, and make those with rough lives understand that anything can be overcome.
Anonymous 25 days ago
Remi bites his lip as he knocks on the door. He rakes a hand through his hair, waiting in silence.
Anonymous 25 days ago
He nocked on the door
Anonymous 25 days ago
The guy sat on his bed, texting his friends as he waited for his fiance
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Karr's languageis a marvel that jumps from the page into 3-D power. Great storytelling. Loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Liars' Club is an amazing story about the childhood of a girl. This story tears me apart at times with how emotional it can get. Karr's writing style is amazing! She's a real work of art!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
xianluoepsom More than 1 year ago
The Liar’s Club is a story about growing up poor in an East Texas industrial town. It’s the tragic story of two sisters as told by the youngest and their deeply dysfunctional family. The whole book is so beautifully written I didn’t grasp how wrong everything was until it was summing up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Different, unique - not what i expected after reading today's "child abuse" memoirs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago