×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Liberty Defined: 50 Essential Issues That Affect Our Freedom
     

Liberty Defined: 50 Essential Issues That Affect Our Freedom

4.5 62
by Ron Paul
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Liberty Defined, congressman and #1 New York Times bestselling author Ron Paul returns with his most provocative, comprehensive, and compelling arguments for personal freedom to date.

The term "Liberty" is so commonly used in our country that it has become a mere cliché. But do we know what it means? What it promises? How it

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Liberty Defined 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
forkeh More than 1 year ago
This is a really great book even if you don't agree with everything Ron Paul says (I certainly don't, even if you flat out disagree with the majority of his opinions. The thing about this book is that it's extremely thought provoking, and that's something that more Americans need. Something to promote thinking on the subject. As a people, we're too caught up in the Pundits and their platforms, and their opinions. But how often do we really sit down and think about all of the subjects that make up politics? Sure, most of us hold many ideals, about how the country should be run, about foreign and domestic policies, about taxes and the economy. But why do we have these ideas? Have we ever really though about it? Seriously, read this book. Use it as a tool to fuel your mind, and thing for yourself.
IRONCLAD More than 1 year ago
If you are just waking up from 20 plus years of not knowing what this government's being doing to the American people, then this book will be the coffee you need to stay awake! Enjoy the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have become an avid Ron Paul supporter over the past few years, simply because I truly feel like he is the one politician who is sincere in everything he does and his policies and initiatives make complete sense, in my opinion. To understand Ron Paul is to understand a little bit of who he is. First, he is a physician from Texas who has been in congress for 20 years. He has always been a Republican but runs on the libertarian premise of social and economic policies. He has also ran for president and is again in 2012. This book briefly covers 50 issues that he sees are the most serious issues facing Americans today. Now, this book isn't for those who require or who are expecting depth and explicit examples and details over the issues. This is a book that just covers the top of certain issues, from abortion, to foreign aid policy, etc. He gives his view and his cure, along with some past examples of what hasn't worked in each chapter. I do wish each chapter was a few pages longer, but that would be a pretty stout book. So, if you're wanting to know a little bit about Ron Paul, or simply, a different perspective on specific issues we are facing today, then check this book out. It's definitely something that from time to time I will crack open when something is going on in our country just to refresh.
alexpeakdotcom More than 1 year ago
Paul is an excellent writer. He is a far better writer than he is a public speaker. In this book, his ideas and views are presented in clear fashion. Ron Paul is a libertarian constitutionalist, by which I mean he is philosophically a natural-law libertarian and practically a strict constitutional constructionist. His form of libertarianism, although not the most radical form of libertarianism, is probably one the most influential. (Other forms of libertarianism include anarcho-capitalism and Objectivism, just to name a couple.) This is not the first book I would recommend on either libertarianism (see Bergland's Libertarianism in One Lesson) or on constitutionalism (see Barnett's Restoring the Lost Constitution). However, it serves as a good introduction to the libertarian-constitutionalist views that characterise Paul and a great many of his supporters. I would recommend this book to (1) those interested in public affairs generally, and who are already at least vaguely familiar with libertarianism; (2) those interested in the views of Ron Paul, regardless of their familiarity with libertarianism; and (3) those who are libertarians interested in deepening their understanding of libertarianism. This is not to say that every person, or even every libertarian, will agree with Paul on every issue covered. I certainly do not. Nevertheless, his views are intriguing, and his presentation compelling. Even on issues where one already agrees with the good doctor, one will find a few surprisingly-fresh rationales for the viewpoints considered. Finally, everyone---whether liberal, conservative, or libertarian---will agree with Dr. Paul on something.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ron Paul clearly defines liberty and his policies on major issues other candidates skirt around. Intelligent and sensible.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has changed my life. I recommend this book to anybody who wants to better understand liberty.
lizytish More than 1 year ago
After seeing Ron Paul on Meet The Press, NBC's Sunday morning political hour, I was impressed, so I purchased his book. There are fifty topics, so it's a book that can be picked up for short spurts, according to your area of interest. His views are classic American, and solid. The man draws his philosophy from his many walks of life, and politics aside, his views are sensible. This book will not disappoint.
wroberthelms More than 1 year ago
Ron Paul is our modern day Thomas Jefferson. His in-depth consideration of each of these 50 issues ahould be a must read for anyone interested in reasoning out a solution to such major issues of our time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book will make you think twice about everything you thought you knew.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eternusvia More than 1 year ago
Enlightening read. As a seventeen year old, I find it hard to wade through the knee deep political jargon of the age, but Ron discusses the 50 'issues' in a concise and informative manner that is relatively free of jargon. The more I learn about our government and our overarching policies, the more I detest the way things are currently run. RP 2012...or 2016...or 2020... And if all else fails, RandP 2024! Haha.
PoliticalGenius More than 1 year ago
This book gave me more knowledge and confidence on multiple topics. Everyone who wants to know how our freedon effects our lives on strategic issues must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DMackenzie More than 1 year ago
In Liberty Defined, Paul applies concepts of liberty to fifty often controversial issues and is not afraid to step on any of the third rails of politics; the topics start with Abortion and end with Zionism. The chapters are short and concise, which often leaves the reader wanting more. But the book is not designed to explore any specific topic in depth, and Paul gives references at the end of many chapters to provide the reader with more information. Despite the laundry list organization, the common theme of liberty provides the framework for each topic. Paul¿s perspective of looking at an argument from the standpoint of liberty will likely make readers uncomfortable when they realize how their views have been shaped more by partisan politics and media hype than a consistent grounding in premise and reason. Paul explains the premise of liberty underpinning each topic and applies logic and reason to reach conclusions which are often refreshingly commonsensical. In the chapter ¿Patriotism¿ Paul defines it as obedience to the principle of liberty rather than blind obedience to the state, and reminds the reader of Samuel Johnson¿s quip, ¿Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel¿. Many of those scoundrels voted to eviscerate our 4th Amendment rights and had the arrogance to call it the Patriot Act. Paul¿s warnings of the security state pervades many of the chapters, and as he points out in the first paragraph of the book¿s introduction, we need to know not only what liberty means, but also to recognize it, and to recognize when the opposite of liberty is sold to us as a form of freedom. In the chapter on Empire, Paul outlines the destructive transformation of the Roman Republic into Empire, and in his brief reference to Cicero¿s failed effort to save the Republic, we see perhaps Paul¿s identification with Cicero as a lone crusader against an inevitable tide. Paul¿s clarity and prescience in matters of foreign policy is matched by his depth of understanding of monetary issues. Unique amongst his Congressional peers and fellow presidential candidates in predicting much of the current financial implosion, his chapters on Austrian Economics, Keynesianism, Monetary Policy, and Moral Hazard should be must-reads for anyone ready to find out what is really going on. Liberty Defined is not the typical feel-good, self-aggrandizing book of a candidate in a presidential campaign. Imagine most any other candidate (Repub or Dem) campaigning for the presidency and addressing these same topics, and one can imagine the creativity summoned to fabricate answers after carefully weighing how said answers would ¿play¿ to the voters. Paul, the ultimate political iconoclast, has never put popularity before his philosophy, and this book is obviously not the ghost-written product of a campaign consultant. This book will be helpful as a reference: Frustrated that the last debate was mostly theatrics with no substantive discussion of the issues? Confused about how a particular controversial topic should be analyzed, or where candidate Paul stands on an issue? Read the chapter and be enlightened. With its brief topic-oriented chapters, Liberty Defined is useful on many levels, and will be valuable to those who don¿t want to take the time to read the entire book. Liberty Defined is the perfect book to introduce Ron Paul and to provide balance for those who only know of him through the often dismissive and derisive comments of the
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago