×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Life Is So Good
     

Life Is So Good

4.5 131
by George Dawson, Richard Glaubman
 

See All Formats & Editions

What makes a happy person, a happy life? In this remarkable book, George Dawson, a 101-year-old man who learned to read when he was 98, reflects on the philosophy he learned from his father--a belief that "life is so good"--as he offers valuable lessons in living and a fresh, firsthand

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Life Is So Good 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 131 reviews.
Seeker-Pat More than 1 year ago
This man is a true hero demonstrating that it's never too late to enhance your life. For those who enjoy the mix of history and inspiration, I also recommend "Having Our Say". For a newer book with a whole different inspirational twist from another active centenarian, definitely check out Elsa's Own Blue Zone. She is a fantastic role model for all ages. The book is very entertaining and full of surprises. Both books have websites you can easily find with a quick search, too, for more information.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This simple man...meaning uncomplicated, has so much wisdom to share. It warmed my heart and gave me lots to think about...like what is really important. Put this book on your reading list.
Misty Wagner-Grillo More than 1 year ago
Recommended
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just adore this book. It will make you smile.
DoozleDorf More than 1 year ago
This book is full of wisdom and knowledge! GET THIS!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Whether you're highly educated, beginning your schooling, or a returning student, Mr. Dawson is an inspiration. This should be mandatory reading for high-school students.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this. Most interesting history lesson I have ever had.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is written by a teacher who goes and meets a man who, at the age of 98, learned to read and had been going strong all his life. This is the story of George Dawson and his life through the 20th century, and I must say it really makes you appreciate that it takes very little to make life so good. It's not how much stuff you have or if you have the latest clothes or electronics, it shows that family, self-respect, love, and faith really make for a truly happy life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of my favorites. This shows his journey through life and it is well written.
ProfessorMS More than 1 year ago
This book is not only valuable as a biography of what a man must do to survive, it is a history of ignorance and intolerance in this country. It also teaches us how wonderful it is to be literate, to be able to live a life with the power of the written word. Imagine what your life would be if you could not read. Would you be able to have the courage to live the life Mr. Dawson did? This book is vital to understanding how blessed anyone is who can read, and as Frederick Douglas said, once you learn to read, you will be forever free. Mr. Dawson is someone I admire, fo he understood, just like his father did, that this life is good, and things happen as they are meant to. It would be wonderful if most people had this level of wisdom in their minds and hearts. If you love to read, then read this book so you can begin to appreciate the skill you take for granted each day.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My grandmother will be turning 100 this year. Reading this book made me think alot about her and her wonderful life. Mr. Dawson offered some timeless lessons for humanity as told through his life experiences. Everyone who reads this will grow in some way and realize that life is good.
LP79 More than 1 year ago
This was a selection for my book club and I absolutely loved it. I grew up in Texas and recognizing the towns in the book gave it a little extra. I commend George on the wonderful outlook he held on life throughout all of his struggles. After reading this, you will appreciate a whole lot more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was one of the summer reading books for ninth grade. It was ok. You really won't find much inspiration or keys ti a good life or longevity here. Just a hard working man who never had much but worked hard to support his family. Toward the end there was something that hit home. Be g,happy with ehat you have. It's wanting more, and more often than not, more than you can afford thst causes worry. Smart man. Life seemed alot harder but also alot simplier back then.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As a 98 yr.old, or a 9 yr. old he showed tremendous courage,knowledge and common sence not seen in most adults, teenagers or politicians, even with their education. Learning to read at 98 and to continue for his G E D. . What a person!
HIstorygeekNYC More than 1 year ago
This book is beautiful! George Dawson is an inspiration to everyone. He tells the story of his life in an honest and simple way, which brought tears to my eyes. As an African American who has lived long enough to witness important changes in our country's history, his accounts are an important resource in teaching our children, and many adults, another side to the story that we don't read in our history books. Mr. Dawson told his story with no bitterness, in spite of the fact that he lived through very difficult times. It makes one stop to wonder what we are complaining about, when there are so many wonderful things we should be thankful for! Everyone should read this book. As a Social Studies teacher I think it should be used as a resource in the new national standards.
Janice Dudley More than 1 year ago
I wish this book was longer! Its was soo good and i recomended it to all my friends with nooks! This is my favorite book i have ever read
ThinkingAhead More than 1 year ago
This book was very inspirational, and allowed me to do a self assessment on how I could better myself with everyday endeavors.
Freda Kelley More than 1 year ago
Great read. Good life lessons for any age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stories about injustice need to be told over and over as do stories about the Holocaust. It is a worthwhile book for teenagers and young adults who have no idea what it was like for black people in America not so many years ago. Mr. Dawson led a remarkable life and must be applauded for his accomplishments and ever present optimism. This was a book club selection and most of our members did not feel it was well written. I do not recommend it for adult book clubs.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Having taught reading to First graders for 38 years I was thrilled to know that we are never to old to learn. A beautiful story that every one should read and especially those people who need a little more encouragement to keep the chin up and to keep trying!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. This man's life is amazing. I loved hearing about all of the different events and situations that he had to go through. This man has a lot to teach to everyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
George Dawson was a fascinating man with so much knowledge to share. Although he had no formal education he could learn by just watching and doing. He was able to travel all around the western hemisphere meeting many people that were just drawn to him. George could not read or write and was able to cross the border into Canada and Mexico and interact with the people. It seemed that most people treated him well, and those that didn¿t would soon be converted by his strength, positive attitude, pride, and just the way he carried himself. George is a gift to this world. He is filled with so much history, knowledge and experiences, which tugs at the human emotions. He is a walking, talking encyclopedia. Everything we read is a reality for him. He is a great source of U.S. history, and reminds the world of a time most would like to forget and wish never existed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I definitely enjoyed traveling through words with Mr. Dawson to each and everyone of his physical and emotional locations. He reminded me over and over that simple is good thing when living the human experience. Nice read about a very decent man !!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
It is not only Mr. Dawson¿s ability to turn the other cheek and his being a really nice person under rigorously ascetic circumstances that makes this story remarkably inspiring. It is the wisdom that comes from Mr. Dawson¿s humility, and his humility that explains how to age gracefully by simply living simply. Also, Mr. Glaubman is to be commended for capturing Mr. Dawson¿s voice with astounding care. It felt like I had walked the journey with Mr. Dawson. To think that out of the bouquet of books I cradled in my arm that day, almost electing to hold off on `Life is So Good¿, that this book would turn out to be the best. A tremendous amount of resilience and electrifying character is associated with this story.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I've ever read. Simple, yet so touching! I checked the book out from my library but enjoyed it so much that I bought the hardback book just to have. Wonderfully written.I also learned some things about life in the early 1900's. Please read this....you won't be sorry.