×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Life Sentences
     

Life Sentences

2.9 20
by Tekla Dennison Miller
 

See All Formats & Editions


Pilar Brookstone is an idealist. She thinks she can change things, make inmates' lives at the prison where she works a little better. Chad Wilbanks is a serial killer. He is serving life. Eight young women were his victims--and he's about to take his ninth. Original.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Life Sentences 2.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 20 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just want to state how disappointed I am in the single written review for this book. Now that you have given away the entire plot -including a key event- I have no desire to read it. I am tired of book reviews that recount the whole story, and more so the ones that give everything away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Everything about this book was awful. The characters were woefully under-developed and irritating and the plot was worse. I will never waste my time reading another book by this author and I highly suggest no one else does either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kept waiting and hoping for this book to be good, because the premise held promise, but it was a total disappointment. I'm glad it was free, because it was a complete waste of time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book kept my attention throughout. It very aptly described how a person could feel emotionally tied to an abusive partner- even one in prison. I will definately purcgase the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The women in this book were so stupid it was hard to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Main character was hard to like, arrogant. Writing lacked details that would make you understand the characters' dilemmas and why they did what they did. Lots of unrelated details in the courtroom scene that made no sense at all. Relationships the author tried to establish were poorly crafted, unbelievable. Very predictable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Because I'm from Michigan, I finished this book because it was kind of cool to read about places I'm familiar with. Outside of that, I was very diappointed. I knew Chad was her father's mysterious son, but that was never confirmed. Pilar was killed way too soon, much more could have been made of her character. Then the focus suddenly shifted to her Mom, but again, too vague. What about the details of her divorce to that jerk? Why was the new relationship so vague? Just disappointing and not enough detail on the main characters in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thanks to harriet klausner for ruining another book. Her cliff note book reports shoukd be banned. Another sale lost bn. Are you ever going to do anything to the plot revealers??????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so good I could not finish it fast enough so that I could buy book 2. The mystery keeps you going non-stop and I never lost interest or felt the story was moving too slowly. Even when I thought I figured everything out, I was still pulled in and had to keep reading because of the constant curve balls set to throw you off!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't like this book and couldn't even finish it. It had the potential to be a really good book but never lived up to it. I'm glad it was free and I wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends to read.
Sara2012 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I especially like the twist. i thought the characters were well written. I do agree that the women were a little weak in this book, but that the author's choice on how they want to write their material. I would like to read more of her work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I tried and tried to get into this book, but it dragged on and on and I only finished about 1/3 of it, so thank God it was free because I couldn't finish it and I'm immediately deleting it. The whole time I was reading it all I could think is how STUPID is this Pilar and how stupid is this plot. Really a guy murders her best friend and she's so devastated by it that she decides to have an affair with him in prison? REALLY??? And she's supposedly smart enough to be a dr. I understand where the author was trying to go with the whole psychology thing, but don't you have to get into the main characters mind to understand what's going on in their head? All I really got out of Pilar was she knew that her obsession with Chad was wrong and she really hated her dad. Well I for one am thanking the person who wrote the review that gave the whole story away because I didn't have to waste anymore of my time reading this crap and I got the ending.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Pilar Brookstone transferred from the University of Michigan medical school to the University of Wisconsin to get away from her cold father and to flee from the brutal murder of her friend, one of eight victims of convicted serial killer Chad Wilbanks. After a residency at Detroit Receiving Hospital, tired of no one male accepting that someone beautiful can be intelligent and wanting to be different from her wealth is everything dad, Pilar accepts employment as the doctor at Hawk Haven Prison. --- Her first patient is Chad she expected a monster, but instead he is charming and nice emphasizing her brains as much as her beauty. Pilar is shocked because she is attracted to the killer of her friend. As Chad beguiles Pilar she gives him money and rewrites her will naming him as her beneficiary. Tragedy strikes when someone murders Pilar. Her mother believes that snake oil Chad arranged a hit through one of his prison cronies and plans to prove it. --- Though somewhat a suspense thriller especially in the latter half of the novel, LIFE SENTENCE is more an intriguing character study that focuses into the psyche that allows an intelligent person to destroy themselves. The story line centers on Pilar whose distrust of males goes deep so when Chad penetrates through her anti-male armor, he grips her heart though she knows he is bad for her. After her murder, the story line continues as a character study although with more action and the focus on several protagonists but especially the victim¿s mother. Fans of tense deep looks into why people do things that they know are bad for themselves will want to read Tekla Dennison Miller¿s powerful drama. --- Harriet Klausner