×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Life's a Beach
     

Life's a Beach

3.2 1534
by Claire Cook
 

See All Formats & Editions

By the bestselling author of Must Love Dogs, the story of two grown-up sisters who fight like cats and dogs—but call each other at least twice a day

When Must Love Dogs was published, the Chicago Tribune called it "pitch-perfect" and the Washington Post declared, "Readers will hope that Claire Cook will be telling breezy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Life's a Beach 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1534 reviews.
sheila bender More than 1 year ago
Very good exciting something new on every page
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good book for a beach, or on a plane, or somewhere where you'd like to read a book that's not too involved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is very light reading and not much of a plot. There's not anything that grabs you to make this a page turner. It seems as though the author was grasping for straws by some of the ideas she has put into the book. I got to the last 30 pages and wondered what the point of the story was. It's not something I would purchase and thankfully I got it as one of the free books for Nook. My book club is going to read Summer Blowout which is also by this author and I'm not sure if I'll purchase that either.
lorabele More than 1 year ago
I was looking for some light reading after reading three mysteries in a row. Got this one free on my Nook. Thank goodness it was free. I swear the positive reviews must have been written by the author's friends and family members. This book was awful! I made it just about 100 pages before I gave up. That's almost half-way through the book, and there had yet to be a plot. The characters were overdeveloped. It's like the author had to come up with some inane character representation for each of them. Most annoying was the father who spoke like a 1920's gangster. He drove me nuts from the beginning. I think I understand what Ms. Cook was trying to do with this book, but she missed the mark big time. Don't waste your time. If you want something fun to read this summer, read Janet Evonovich.
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
A story with a woman who is trying to find her true passion while figuring out what her future will hold. The cast of characters was hilarious and entertaining - her family made the book even more enjoyable. As I have stated before, I have a sister and I enjoy reading about sister relationships - these two made me laugh out loud because I saw me and my sister a few years down the road in their shoes. As the sister obsessed about her upcoming birthday, I giggled as I may obsess about things in my life. A love triangle which I always enjoy made this book a page turner. Sometimes I am sure which guy I want her to end up with and then I would flip a few pages and I was stumped - I had no clue which one would be the best in the end. Between the artsy glassbower and the methodical electrician from the movie set, I just couldn't decide who best fit her. As the story unfolded, I am glad the end came as it did and how it happened. It may have beach in the title, but that isn't the only reason why I put this book into my beach read list. A light and easy great read that I would recommend to pack in your beach bag. NOTE - I don't have a clue why it was titled as such, didn't quite fit the story.
Ray-Ray71 More than 1 year ago
I have read several of her novels and loved them so I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. Light and fluffy perfect for a Sunday afternoon.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was really looking forward to reading this on my beach vacation, but I was disappointed. I wanted beach fluff, but this was not it. I think the cover and title is very deceptive and does not foretell the book's plot. I like fluff occassionally, but this was not even good fluff. I will stick with Janet Evanovich when i want that(highly recommend her!). The characters were irritating and didn't seem very real, especially the dad. It really was just kind of boring. I kept putting it down, forced myself to finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was a simple story without any highs or lows. Was a good read but uneventful.
CoolMom3 More than 1 year ago
My first Claire Cook book and I enjoyed every page. Fun and quirky. Not as predictable as I assumed with unusual characters and some downright laugh-out-loud lines.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a good pool side, beach kinda book. Something light and easy that takes you away without getting too far into it that you can't think straight when you put it down.
Heartfelt_reader More than 1 year ago
What a wonderfully well-written funny book. I couldn't put it down and laughed so hard in places that this book got recommended to anyone listening while I was reading.
Gabbo More than 1 year ago
It's been a long time since I laughed this much reading a book. Each character is unique and lovable, even the infamous Allison Flagg. Riley stole the show from his aunt, but allowed her to find her true self at the end. and the user's guide to the fun, feisty and fabulous, OMG! Well done, a true masterpiece.
Vicki Foster More than 1 year ago
I+really+enjoyed+this+book.+The+characters+are+quirky+yet+believable.+The+relationships+between+the+main+character+and+her+family+were+hilarious+yet+loving.+
Anonymous 10 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not bad for an easy read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Summer stress? The beach (okay the pool had to do) and this delightful book took it all away.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very funny book. So watch where you are reading it because other people may be looking to see where the noises are coming from.
sidneykay More than 1 year ago
An "okay" book. Just a touch on the boring side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really liked the story.  Great beach read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't enjoy a 41 year old woman behaving like a child. I never understood the point.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago