×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page
     

Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page

3.8 15
by Brad Tolinski
 

See All Formats & Editions

This “oral autobiography” of Jimmy Page, the intensely private mastermind behind Led Zeppelin—one of the most enduring bands in rock history—is the most complete and revelatory portrait of the legendary guitarist ever published.
   More than 30 years after disbanding in 1980, Led Zeppelin continues to be celebrated for its

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Light and Shade: Conversations with Jimmy Page 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Croatanator More than 1 year ago
This book separates itself from the pack of Led Zeppelin books, in that it revolves around conversations directly with Mr. Page, as opposed to statements and conjectures about him. A very intelligent, insightful, and sensitive gentle artist is revealed in this book. I have re-read this book it is that good!!!! Less emphasis on gossip and more emphasis on the craft and skill of being a guitarist. It probably offers the truest window into a very complex personality.
murycki More than 1 year ago
There is a large amount of info that has never been covered in this book. Jimmy is a very talented artist. I highly recommend this book
Man_Of_La_Book_Dot_Com More than 1 year ago
Light & Shade: Con­ver­sa­tions with Jimmy Page by Brad Tolin­ski is a non-fiction book which is a com­pi­la­tion of inter­views the author did with the famed and pri­vate gui­tarist. Mr. Tolin­ski is the edi­to­r­ial direc­tor of Gui­tar World, Revolver and Gui­tar Afi­cionado magazines. Light & Shade: Con­ver­sa­tions with Jimmy Page by Brad Tolin­ski shades some light (pun intended) on Jimmy Page, mostly known as Led Zeppelin’s gui­tarist, his career, life and pro­fes­sion. Through hours of inter­views we get a glimpse into Page’s life and aspects of his life which he has had much influ­ence (fash­ion, mag­ick and more). I’m sure that if I wanted to know more about Led Zep­pelin I could find an almost unlim­ited amount, all writ­ten by other peo­ple and maybe with a coöper­a­tion of the band. Even though the band is leg­endary, the mem­bers of the band rarely let the pub­lic into their pri­vate life which is why I chose to read this book. In the inter­views which com­pro­mise Light & Shade, Page talks about his early career, becom­ing one of England’s most admired ses­sion gui­tarist, to his work with The Who, Clap­ton, The Kinks, The Yard­birds and of course Led Zep­pelin. The inter­views con­tinue past the Led Zep­pelin era into other projects which Page was involved in. It was sur­pris­ing to learn from the book how pro­fes­sional the mem­bers of Led Zep­pelin were. Page & Bon­ham were at the top of their game before even start­ing the band, they didn't hang out socially (unless on tour) and enjoyed each other's com­pany as pro­fes­sion­als and musi­cians. I also never real­ized that Jimmy Page, Jeff Beck and Eric Clap­ton were long­time friends. The col­lec­tion of inter­views with Page is com­pre­hen­sive and gives the reader a glimpse into the genius of the fabled rocker. Some of the sub­jects (drugs for exam­ple) are glossed over by Page, but Tolin­ski turns to other inter­views so the reader can get the com­plete pic­ture and under­stand­ing of the artist. My favorite, as always, are the anec­dotes and insights which make rock his­tory and are the back­bone of such books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not the usual rock and roll biography. Instead focuses mainly on Page's guitar playing and how he developed as a musician and how each Zeppelin album evolved. Lots of interesting tidbits from Page's career. For instance, I learned Page was the session guitarist on Tom Jones' big hit "It's not unusual". Overall a good read.
mdg57 More than 1 year ago
This was a good and informative book on Jimmy Page. Told some things I've never heard before and I,ve read everything there is in print on Jimmy Page and Led Zeppelin. The down side to the book is that it's a quick read. I was hoping for more from Jimmy. That being said its a decent book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was expecting Page to reveal himself more than what the tale told in this read. He still keeps his cards close to him. Most of this book is written from interviews from others perspectives and in the end all is very redundant. Never the less I still enjoyed it very much. Jimmy Page is a true Genius of our time.
MikeMcCann More than 1 year ago
This is a satisfying and fairly easy read. A nice book about the music, without the shenanigans of orgy tours of the Zeppelin days. There is some richness in the story that centers on the creative process with interesting twists and turns. Parallel to the music of Led Zeppelin, this little book does stimulate the appetite for more but whci ofcourse never comes. Page is a private gem... but it is quite satisfying to hear him discuss music. Most compelling and surprising is the fact that I found the book helped me appreciate the music of Zeppelin even more... after 40 some years of listening! Yes, there is much to this mutlilayered music. I suggest that readers listen along to the music as each chapter unfolds. Recommended for music fans, highly recommended for those who like Zeppelin and Page.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Culled from interviews with Page and his contemporaries, interspersed with the author's narratives, this is an informative and insightful look at the man and his genius. No melodramatic gossipy prose, it serves as a good autobiographical account into Page's rise from session musician to one of the grestest rock legends in world history.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Zepman More than 1 year ago
Read the book, if you like Zeppelin, you'll know. If you don't know yet, you will.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great book for anyone who likes zepplin
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When the subject is Jimmy Page, boring is not a term to use. This is Jimmy Page's world........we are here because the Great One allows us to be. Seek forgiveness.........listen to all Zeppelin in a row, then listen to "Outrider" ten times. You should be ashamed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
boring.....nothing new or exciting