×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Light in the Forest
     

The Light in the Forest

3.2 83
by Conrad Richter
 

See All Formats & Editions

Though reared as a Lenni Lenape Indian, fifteen-year-old True Son, once called John Camera Butler, was ordered back to the white man. It was impossible for True Son to believe that his people were white and not Indian. He had learned to hate the white man. And now he learned to hate his new father, his new house, his new family. He hated the name John Butler.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Light in the Forest 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book had alot of adventure. the only thing is was that it was sad. the indian boy got taken away from his tribe. this was sad because he had een with the indians for so long they were his family and no one was gong to take thatr away from him thats for sure.this book is good but i loved the adventure but nt so much the sadeness.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Some parts are interesting while other parts are very boring. My whole grade had to read this book...during class I found myself not paying attention. The ending is the most interesting part. The beginning for me was hard to understand until later in the book and I got most of it. Overall, it's an okay book. I wouldn't really reccomend it for someone, though.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am reading this in my GT class in school (6th Grade). I think this is an awesome book so far. I highly recommend this to everyone! This book has incredible literature and so far its has made a change in how I see life or in other words my perspective in life. Conrad Richter as many of you know is an INCREDIBLE author and probably gave the best classic read I have had in a long time so, thank you Conrad! This is a story for ALL ages... but, I would recommend to wait until 10-12 for the reason of some referments such as scalping and tomahawked and other killing words. Otherwise, totally worth buying!!!!! :) PLEASE READ!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is not for you if you like fast moving plots. This book takes it time and really explores the relationship between whites and indians from both prospectives. The writer really makes you think about human relationships between races and family ties on both sides, and proves family ties can be difficult no matter if the people are black, white, red hispanic .
cheese27 More than 1 year ago
Intresting, the beggining was hard to understand and had no plot what so ever. The middle to ABOUT the end the book wasn't hlf bad. At the ending the protagonist does the right thing and suffers for it . At the end he is kicked out of his indian tribe and disowned by his fake family and now he is in the wild somewhere probaly to get eaten by a bear very soon! This book is a DO NOT BUY. This could be a stocking stuffer for someone you dispise or a christmas grab bag gift. I would probaly have read a book about lamas taking a dump!
bulldog31 More than 1 year ago
This book was about a boy named John Cameron Butler.John is a white boy.His adopted father is a great Indian warrior.He named his adopted son,True Son.True son grew up to think,feel,and fight like a true indian.When True Son turned fifteen he had to go back to the white man.He loved to be an indian.He didnt wont to go back.This would be a great book to read to little kids about whites and Indians.
hunter19 More than 1 year ago
This book was a pretty good book ,but the middle seems like it goes on forever. The books ending was realy suprising. Overall this is a real good book for a person who like adventure such as my self. The book is a book any body that like a good imagination should read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to read this for an English assignment, and surprisingly I actually liked it! The book lets you into the feelings between the whites and the Indians. I would have never thought about reading this if it weren't for my project. This book is great if you want to know about what the realtionship was like between the Indians and whites.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a very good book with well devoloped characters. It is a good historical fiction book for almost all ages. The story is about a 15 year old Indian captive that is returned to his white family. The main character is well devoloped and you can really get a good idea on how he feels and reacts to different situations without becoming too predictible. Conrad Richter keeps a good plot line and setting. The only thing that I found to be a little bit confusing is the way some of the sentences are written. They sometimes seem to end before he is done actully explaining. He keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. The overall story is well written and devoloped. It is a good historical fiction book that shows how it must of felt for the true captives that were being taken away from their families.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My whole grade has to read this book. At first i thought it was interesting but, the middle gets a little too descriptive and boring. During the end it gets real good and emotional. Thats where the climax is... :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved the book. My whole class read it for a book report. My whole class loved I recommed this book to everybody! it is amazing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book it is so intesing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
[Okay. And me either so it's okay anyways.] She padded to her den. <p> OOC - I am grounded from my NOOK for a week! I'm sorry :( But I'll be back! Please advertise and keep Forestclan alive until I am back! Thank you all sooo much! <p> &hearts , Leafstar
JanieAslan More than 1 year ago
I read this book many years ago and, while in the process of doing some historical research, I was reminded of the family that was highlighted in this book. If you like early American history of much of Pennsylvania, this book is well worth reading again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago