×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Like Water for Chocolate
     

Like Water for Chocolate

4.6 16
by Common
 

See All Formats & Editions

Not many hip-hop records have the ability to turn an entire industry on its ear. Just as Lauryn Hill's THE MISEDUCATION OF LAURYN HILL and De La Soul's 3 FEET HIGH AND RISING ambitiously pushed the sound of hip-hop into new realms, LIKE WATER FOR CHOCOLATE will force listeners to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Like Water for Chocolate 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Common has managed to raise the standards on this his fourth album, Like Water For Chocolate. Like Water has a more of a different sound than his previous recordings, but is definitey fresh. This is one of the best hip hop albums of the year, surely to bang in high tech systems to walk mans from Chicago to Japan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Common has managed to step it up another level on his fourth album, Like Water for Chocolate. He has shown tremendous growth and he deals with subjects ranging from alcoholism, robbery, and revolutionary Assata Shakur. Common tackles these subjects with intensity. The cameos are excellent also. Common also changes his production on this album. He works with the Roots, Ummah, and DJ Premier, all blessing Common with hot beats. Do your self a favor and cop this album. Common definitely deserves to go platinum. PEACE!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Incredible! If you are a lover of good music, this album more than reaches it's expectations. Common is the obvious talent here but there are so many beautifully talented artists contributing to this album. The end result is an album rich in sound consisting of jazz(Roy Hargrove), hip hop(Mos Def and Slum Village), awareness(a tribute to Assata Shakur) and soul(D'Angelo). The production is handled mainly by the Soulquarians which features ?uestlove from the Roots, pianist James Poysner and Jay Dee of Slum Village and their influence is perfect for Common's message. Common has reached monumental status even though record sales won't reflect it(that will change if we start supporting real talented artists!) Common's message rings true: despite a world infested with platinum iced out fantasies and paper chases worldwide, true freedom and peace is only achieved through loving life, self and god. Thank you Common. You are not afraid of growth, challange or experimenting and I identify with you so much. I hope that the industry as well as the hip hop world appreciates your efforts.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Well i think common is going to be a big music star because he is just so good.I love that song call 'the light' when i hear it, it just makes me feel so great.I give him four stars and two thumbs up!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love his work, rhymes that are so complex and not simple. My favorite track on here is Sixth Sense. I played this song plenty of times. I recommend you buy this CD; you won't regret it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Of course, Common is amazing! Thank god there are some artists like him!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This album is truly one of the most anticipated releases of the year. I look forward to hearing each and every track as soon as it is released. Peace
Guest More than 1 year ago
if you need a cd to relax too, hang out, clean, chill, think, anything!!!!this cd is it..one of the best i've heard for awhile!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Common is just the next stage in music and the future of hiphop. Do not underestimate this mans creativity. One day itll all make sense was the third step but now it is time for every body to hear what he has to say.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Don't need to skip through any track. A complete masterpiece. Common seems to get better everytime. One of the most slept on MC's of all time. Common got Soul-Soul by the Pound-Pound. Watch out for the new artist Bilal!
Guest More than 1 year ago
''This album is as complete as the number 7. I especially enjoyed the track entitled ''The Light''. Whenever I feel a little down and depressed, this song really lifts me up on a natural high.''
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really think that this was a very good album. The only thing that I thought was needed was a real party battle rap beat. He could have had one at least, but I still like the album, I like half of the album. I like the political and real rap that he protrays, the more I listen to him the more I like him. I wish I could rock some t's with his name on it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been following ever since ''Breaker 1/9'' and what can I say he just keeps stepping up.LWFC is one of the best hip-hop records I've heard period. Can't wait for the new he has dropping next year. I hear it's going gonna something the hip-hop in general ain't ready for. If you don't have this album go out and get it ASAP. LONG LIVE THE COM!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
One thing I admire about this cat is his consistency of keeping his music authenic HIP HOP he's strong enough not to the be lured into the shallow depth of exhausted commercial materialism.His new album is more musically creative than his prevous works, its sounds our relaxing and melodic it's a good investment.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In a day and age where hip-hop has become a definite force in the mainstream of society, so-called hip-hop acts come a dime a dozen. Not to often comes an artist that has a full understanding of hip-hop, society, and life in general. Common Sense however is one of the few, the proud. Common has once again defied the mainstream odds and released an album that has more feeling and emotion than most albums have in the last year combined. Like Water For Chocolate is truly a hip-hop masterpiece as was the overlooked One Day It Will All Make Sense. Hip-hop, needing a guiding light to navigate it's way back to it's true essence and art form, Common should definetly be the commander of the vessel. Like Water For Chocolate is one of the best albums in recent memory.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago