×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Line
     

The Line

4.0 40
by Teri Hall
 

See All Formats & Editions

An invisible, uncrossable physical barrier encloses the Unified States. The Line is the part of the border that lopped off part of the country, dooming the inhabitants to an unknown fate when the enemy used a banned weapon. It’s said that bizarre creatures and superhumans live on the other side, in Away. Nobody except tough old Ms. Moore would ever live next to

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Line 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
EllzReadz More than 1 year ago
My thoughts...WOW, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. This is the first dystopian story I have ever read and I really enjoyed it. The best part of the book is the suspense. From the very first chapter, you are immediately drawn into this world divided by an invisible barrier. My imagine ran wild as I thought about what could be on the other side and how life would be, if such a barrier split our world. The mystery continues, even as we learn more about The Line. Through a mother's history lessons, some of the questions are answered. Still we are left to wonder who is good and who will betray as morals are tested. The plot was very original, face-paced, and very exciting. From the beginning, my mind sorted the characters into two categories...those who supported the government, and those who opposed it. The heroine, young Rachel is heavily influenced by her mother to believe the government is wrong. Her mother is a very strong character in the story, very determined and loving. Several chapters told in her point-of-view reveal just how much she loves and daughter and how desperately she wants to keep her safe. We also get a peek into the mind of their employer, the stern Ms. Moore. Her stone personality gives the story some extra edge. All of the characters were memorable. I enjoyed the shifting POV, it helped the story flow smoothly. The cons...The next book, titled Away, doesn't come out until early 2011. I don't know if I can wait that long.
DanO01 More than 1 year ago
Hard to believe she is a new author. Reads like she's been writing for years. Catagorized as a Young Adult book, it's also thought provoking for all readers, young and old (even us golden ager's :) ) Provides a perspective on what was, what is, and what might be. And what each citizen's responsibility and obligations are in a world society. Leaves you with questions with the promise of answers. We've all wanted to cross The Line at some time or another. This is an inspiration to stand up, to overcome fears, to not make excuses, to take action, and to be free. Look out, Harry! -Dan O.
acornucopiaoflove More than 1 year ago
The Line was an intriguing, and suspenseful book focusing on the dystopian society that was once the U.S. (the Unified States). After winning a nuclear war, borders aren't to be crossed, and the government bears down on citizens by enforcing harsh laws. They also track down individuals who may be, or have been, involved in revolutionary groups. Rachel has been living on The Property, owned by Ms. Moore, since she was very young. The Property lies along the border to Away, and is the perfect spot to hide away from the government. People tend to avoid this area of the border, because of the belief that horrible creatures now populate Away. While on The Property, Rachel's mother, Vivian, teachers her the truth behind the war, the government's actions, and what really happened to her father. This book had a cast of really strong, female characters, which was an aspect I loved.I think I may be in the minority, but my favorite character in the book was Ms. Moore. I knew immediately after her character was introduced that she was more than a mean old woman who loved her orchids. She was a strong woman, who had lived a hard life, separated from her family, and supporting herself. Vivian was also a great character. She wasn't afraid to teach her daughter the truth about the government, and Rachel wasn't afraid of what lay beyond the border to Away. All three of these women took significant risks in helping others, which is another admirable quality in a character. There seemed to be a hint of romance as well, which I expect will be developed further in the second book in the series. The only issue I had with this book was that it took a while to get to the action. It was nice to have the time to develop the characters, but for the first third of the book, I was left wondering when the action/suspense would begin building. Otherwise, I thought this was a great dystopian book. It contained little violence, and a lot of insight into how power can distort good intentions, and completely change individuals and governments. I'm anxiously awaiting the sequel, since this one did end on a cliffhanger!
Nikkayme More than 1 year ago
Rachel has lived on The Property with her mother, Vivian, for as long as she can remember. Before her father's death, Rachel lived in a city, a city she cannot remember and a place she never wants to live again. Ms. Moore owns The Property and employs Vivian in the capacity of a housekeeper. The Property borders The Line, which was created years upon years ago to separate the Unified States from a possible attack. Those on the other side of The Line were trapped there and when bombs were dropped, the radiation ended all chances of a rescue. The stories and myths speak of evil creatures and crazy people who will kill you in an instant. Rachel and Vivian border this mysterious world, but have never experienced anything strange themselves. Their lives may not be the best on The Property, but they aren't bad. Rachel and Vivian are far from the government's interference and have been living a peaceful and dull life bordering The Line. All of that changes when Rachel's curiosity gets the best of her and she discovers more than she ever bargained for. Teri Hall has created a brilliant debut with The Line. This dystopian novel is one of the best I've ever read and I don't say that lightly. The Unified States could easily resemble our world if the government stepped in and changed everything we know. That's the thing about dystopian novels; in a way, the reader could actually imagine his or her world like the world presented in the book. I could picture the United States that I know as the Unified States. That, in itself, is terrifying. It's really difficult to get into too much about the book, without giving away key plot points, but I will say that The Line is definitely worth reading. The story begins in a typical dystopian fashion. The government has stepped in and begun to control everything. There are taxes and new laws and if you have something to hide, then the government has a reason to cart you away. Rachel understands it all and she agrees with her mother that the government cannot be trusted, but she soon realizes exactly why her mother doesn't trust the government. A simple event opens Rachel's eyes to her mother's flaws and also gives her some insight into who Ms. Moore really is. The Line is an invisible boundary separating everyone from Away, but what happens when someone from Away asks for help? Rachel soon discovers an entire world of secrets that changes her life forever. The Line is the opening book of a series and it certainly opens with a bang. It's not a non-stop action book, but I couldn't stop turning the pages. I read it in just a few hours and I so wish the next installment would come more quickly. Opening line: It seemed to Rachel that she had always lived on The Property, though this wasn't true. Favorite line(s): You can't be brave without being afraid. The brave ones are always afraid.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is getting amazing reviews from the industry and after reading it I see why! Compelling plot, layered characters, and great tension keep you glued to the pages.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Rachel has lived on The Property since before she can remember. Her mother works for Ms. Moore, the owner, as a housekeeper of the large house. Rachel enjoys living far from town and away from the strong governmental control most other people must suffer. People living in towns deal with unfair and random taxes and, when they can't pay, are taken to jail. Most people would hate living on The Property because it backs up to The Line, a small section of the National Border Defense System that separates the people of the Unified States from Away and the Others. The Line is an invisible barrier that can only be crossed if the government grants permission and deactivates The Line. Rachel doesn't feel fear when she thinks of Away. She even tried to cross it once, but simply bounced back from The Line and landed flat on her back. Rachel's quiet life is turned upside down when two things happen. First, she finds a battered digital voice recorder with a partial message requesting help. Then, during a trip to town with her mother for the weekly supplies, they witness the arrest of a woman her mother recognizes. Rachel discovers she doesn't know her mother as well as she thought she did, that Ms. Moore has some unbelievable secrets, and the Away and the Others are closer than she thinks. She must use her wits and bravery to get through a dangerous and exciting time in order to save an important historical document and people she doesn't even know. THE LINE by Teri Hall is a fascinating dystopian novel full of strong female characters and a dark, creepy plot. The end, while a bit abrupt, is satisfying. Readers will definitely want to read more about the adventures Rachel is sure to find. The author leaves the story completely open for a sequel, and I for one can't wait to read it. The synopsis isn't the only thing I found intriguing about THE LINE. Just take a look at the cover and tell me you don't want to read it! Fantastic art choice!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Starts out a bit slow, but once you get into it, you cant put it down! This series and the divergent series are definitely must-reads!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recently read The Line by Teri Hall and found that I was drawn in immediately. In this book, a young girl is fascinated by the National Border Security that runs pretty much right through her backyard. While learning more about The Line, she also gets a look into the past which has set the course for her life. A past that she never knew existed. You should read this book because it is an easy read, the portrayal of the U.S. as a dystopia is extremely intriguing, and the ending will make you want to pick up the sequel right away. At 219 pages, this book is not very difficult to finish within a few days, but there is no lack in the formation of a great plot. The characters were fully developed and the events were both interesting and plausible. In the story, the U.S. was portrayed as a dystopia. Totalitarian government had taken over and a National Border Security was put into place to keep other countries out. I enjoyed the constant state of wonder that I was put into while reading. Thinking about what countries in today’s society could take the place of the countries in the book. As for the ending, at first I was disappointed that I wouldn’t know what happened when all was said and done immediately, but then I realized that the ending was perfect. It gave me a strong desire to pick up the sequel. I can’t wait to see what becomes of Rachel and you won’t be able to wait either!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am just waiting for Teri Hall to write another book after The Line and Away. I love this series and will read it over and over again just for the thrill of reading it. This is officialy my favprite book/series in the history of books. I rate........ 1000000000000000000000000000000. Really, Read this book if you like to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Make me wonder what a streamer is!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was a little hard to follow some of the terms she made up for things (digim/photo streamer/tv?skype?computer?telephone? genid/genetic identification ) had to asume what they were and took away from the reading hoping you were assuming correctly. Other than that it was a quick fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this book waz sooooo good!!!! i waz kinda mad that it is a cliff hanger. i want 2 read the next book soo freaking bad!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was good. It mainly is about how The Line came into their world and why its there. It doesn't start to get REALLY good until the end. When it ended i was like UGH!!! I NEED TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! lol. i really liked this book. its kinda slow tho.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Christina80 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book the most the first time I read it but still not bad for a second read. I found the world Teri Hall created interesting. I enjoyed the second book even more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I luv it!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I heard this qas a great book just like the hunger games:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
It's an interesting book within many in the current trend of dystopian fiction. What I really enjoyed is the clever idea of the background on how the setting came to be in form of a history lesson from Rachel's mom. She poses it in a question and answer (Rachel gives the answers in good detail) format so the reader is informed on the background information needed to understand this novel. It does take a while to get started, despite the length of this novel (about 219 pages) I'm not sure why the pace was unbelievably slow for such a thin book. You do feel a lengthy lull and you wonder where this is all going to end up. Also, I am not sure what to think about Rachel. One the one hand, I liked her for her strength to do what was right, regardless of the consequences. Yet there was just something about her that I didn't like. Perhaps it was her personality? The book does take a turn for the more interesting as it progresses. Despite the fact that I am not really a fan of Rachel in the first place, she does develop into quite a character within the last third of the book. When she meets Pathik, things get even more interesting and you're left with a tremendous cliffhanger at literally, the very last pages of the book. That got me pulling my hair out. What irked me the most about the book is the name of other countries besides the US (Unified States). What was that all about? why were they named such strange names and how did it come to be? to be truthful, the names of these other countries sound like they should be different planets instead. Maybe they're inhabited by aliens? I don't know, it sure sounds like it though. Although the pace of the book was slower than usual, it changes towards the end and the pace suddenly becomes faster than the speed of light. It's inconsistent and uneven. I will look for the second book only because this one ended in such a huge cliffhanger I am curious to know what's going to happen next. Not sure if I could recommend this one, take it or leave it as there are much better novels featuring dystopias out there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago