×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath Series #1)
     

The Lions of Lucerne (Scot Harvath Series #1)

4.1 399
by Brad Thor
 

See All Formats & Editions

In a daring and chilling debut, Brad Thor draws us into a sinister labyrinth of political intrigue and international terrorism, serving up an explosive cocktail of unrelenting action -- and a shattering climax -- as one man is pushed to the edge.
On the snow-covered slopes of Utah, the unthinkable has just become a nightmarish reality: thirty Secret Service

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lions of Lucerne 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 399 reviews.
Silas_Dogood More than 1 year ago
I have to start this review by saying that I absolutely love Brad Thor's books. That being said, this was obviously his first effort and it is certainly not his best work. The story is slower than most of the rest of the Scot Harvath series and the, while the plot is interesting, it is also predictable and the ending is a bit anti-climatic. However, this book really develops Scot Harvath's character for the rest of the books and character development is one thing that Thor does and excellent job of executing. This really should be read in order to fully appreciate the other books.
Shamrocks More than 1 year ago
Brad Thor has just become my new "gotta read" author--I picked this up knowing I was going to be needing something to read while waiting for appointments.Well- it did not stay in my purse when I made it home- I ended up staying awake till I finished it. I am also so excited to see there are quite a few more books in this series to enjoy. This is a keeper and I know I will be re-reading it--a few times. This is not a book JUST for women or men- it is for those who like adventure and a bit of humor in their stories.
M_Kass More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The characters were enjoyable and the plot was interesting. There could have been a little more character development, but then again, this was the abridged version so perhaps that was a part that was skimmed down. I found myself being able to get into the action as the main character continues to search for clues as to who kidnapped the President and how to get him back alive. While aspects of the plot might have seemed a little farfetched at times, it was still believable enough in the world of conspiracies and spies. If you are someone who likes action and adventure, this book makes a good "read", especially while commuting to work!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read a few of Brad's books (Scot Harvath Series) until I decided to read all his Scot Harvath stories in date written order, which #1 is "The Lions of Lucerne". What a rollercoaster ride--excitement, thrills, adventure, and an amazing journey through the eyes of a special ops warrior as he experiences danger and threats. I'd say this is my No. 1 favorite, although all his books are amazing. Great story!
Aurorabynight More than 1 year ago
This series is action packed and will keep you guessing. If you love spy novels, then this series is for you! Excellent read, a real page turner!
Mystic_Dragon More than 1 year ago
This was a good book to start using my Nook. It was a fast and exciting read. Liked most of the plot, but thought that the author wrote Scot to be a really super hero type character, yet he sure made some stupid mistakes. Still liked the idea. I have travelled in Europe and it was fun to recognize places I have seen. Good overall book. Enjoy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What happens in the book is totally possible. Mr. Thor has checked his facts
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great Great book Scott Harvath is bad to the bone. Good Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed each and every one of the Scott Harvath thrillers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As always, excellent ensemble of characters, complex but understandable story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put it down until I had finished reading it. Topok a few hours but well worth it. One of the best Brad Thor books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed meeting Scot Harvath in this 1st of the series. Brad Thor goes into a bit more detail on his characters actions, which is refreshing. Sometimes I've wanted to imagine things in more detail from the author's viewpoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well crafted suspense, for the most part moves along fairly well...does get a little wordy in sections (giving background information on main character).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once you get into this book, (past the first couple of chapters) you can't put it down. The mystery spins in many directions and now has me interested in reading the other books in the Scot Harvath series. It's a good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started with the last book in the Scot Harvath Series. So good that I have started reading entire series. The Lions of Lucerne was so good I could not put it down. Kept me up late at night reading when I should have been sleeping. Outstanding book
Ocilla More than 1 year ago
While it is a fiction book, it is a little too fictitious. The main character is okay but the story line of trusting everyone and getting stabbed in the back is a little too old. Also how he kept avoiding being killed by two of the best assassin teams in the world is simply unconceivable. I did enjoy the book enough to give his second novel a try. If it is like this one I will be through with Mr. Thor.
GreenAcres10 More than 1 year ago
I have to agree with several of the reviews here stating that this was not Thor's best work. I good read and springboard into the series, which gets better with each book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a suspense filled, thriller of a ride. Hard to put down, enjoyable from start to finish! Get this book, and read Thor's other books too!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast paced action with twists and turns you don't see coming. I'm reading the whole series now and have been disappointed!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you love Vince Flynn like I do, this author is well worth the read! The lead character, Scott Harvath, is growing on me. Not quite the bad ass Mitch Rapp is, but since I'm just starting book two, he has time to grow on me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read Black List first and loved it, wanted to read more so I started at the beginning ~ now on to book 2
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had never heard of this author before for some reason, but I am glad I found him. The book has non-stop action and suspense. Not too gory, though, which I appreciate. And this is the first book in the series, so I think his writing skills will probably even improve with later iterations. Quite a page-turner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorites! It's a must read and clearly a keeper! It will keep you up all night. In short, you will find this one addictive! Enjoy the ride!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this spy thriller it was fast moving and had enough twists to keep it going.