×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lisey's Story: A Novel
     

Lisey's Story: A Novel

3.7 269
by Stephen King
 

See All Formats & Editions

The “haunting…tender, intimate book that makes an epic interior journey” (The New York Times), Lisey’s Story is a literary masterpiece—an extraordinarily moving and haunting portrait of a marriage and its aftermath.

Lisey lost her husband Scott after a twenty-five-year marriage of profound and sometimes frightening

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lisey's Story 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 269 reviews.
kat_bran More than 1 year ago
This book definitely starts out slow, but other than The Talisman and Dolores Claiborne no other King book has grabbed me and held me so captivated. It was almost like he combined the best of both worlds in this one. I felt a great connection to the characters and couldn't wait to keep reading it. It left me wanting more, which King is really good at anyway, but with this book I felt Lisey's pain and her love so deeply I would love it if he wrote another with her as the main character. I am so shocked by the negative feedback. For a man to create such a wonderful female cast of characters - not just Lisey but her sisters. I think he did it brilliantly. Great Job Mr. King!!!
bb328 More than 1 year ago
I was browsing around in the bargain section at Barnes & Noble and I was surprised to see a Stephen King novel on the shelves. I thought the cover was really pretty and from what the jacket said...it looked interesting. I go home and look up Lisey's Story and see all these awful reviews saying it's SKing's worst novel. I am no fan of King but from what i've read i've really enjoyed. I read the book and finished it in 3 days, the beginning is pretty slow (like most King books) but slowly picks up the pace. When I finished I was shocked, I thought the book was excellent. These have to be some of the best characters he's ever written. Scott is so unstable and complex and Lisey is simpler to balance out the relationship. Maybe some hardcore fans were expecting something terrifying, if that's what your looking for then do not but this book. Stephen King is has definitely changed a lot from his early days, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing is it, Lisey's Story really does prove that. If your a patient reader and want a rewarding read go spend the 5 bucks on this great book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
2006 has been a great year for masters of the supernatural horror genre, but until now the master of them all hasn't put in a worthwhile appearance. Well that's all changed and how! After a mildly disappointing recent effort by his own standards with this years earlier novel 'The Cell' King was being overshadowed by the likes of Scott Smith, James Herbert, Cormac McCarthy and the anonymous author of The Book With No Name. But now he's back to show everyone who exactly who does it best. Lisey's Story has a great many of the attributes a true fan of SK would associate with his work. There's the character Scott Landon who just happens to be an author for starters! Anyway the story follows Lisey who was the great love of Scott Landon's life before his passing two years before the book begins. Well with Scott six feet under and Lisey all alone and mourning, along comes one of King's truly evil characters in the shape of Jimmy Dooley. Anxious to get his hands on Scott's unpublished works, this man will stop at nothing. King has brought wonderful dialogue, tension, suspense and all of the trademarks from his best work to the table in Lisey's Story. Essentially a fairly uncomplex storyline, the book's strength lies as always in the immense investment the author puts into his characters. Lisey's sister Amanda talking to her in the voice of her dead husband is a delightful intricacy for example. Every single one of the characters (no matter how minor they may seem at first) is multi-layered. Every line of dialogue is carefully fashioned, and every narrative paints a picture the reader can't fail to visualise in their minds eye. There have been many of Stephen King's books of late that have been referred to as a return to form. Personally I don't think he ever really lost it. If every book is a return to form then surely the form was never lost in the first place? The competition might be getting stronger, but no one is quite ready to knock the master from his rightful place atop the mountain of horror and suspense. At 528 pages there is enough here to keep a reader occupied and enthralled for a fair few hours, days or weeks depending on whether you want to rush it or savour it. One thing's for sure though. No matter how long it takes to read, it's worth every penny.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have read most of King's works and really love much of them. I enjoy the stories and also the style in which he writes them. To me, Lisey's Story is one of his best works to date. It disturbed me quite a bit, made me laugh and also made me tear up. I'm still not even sure I understand the story completely. But I have never before read a book that delves so deeply into the intimacies of a relationship between a couple, and intertwined this relationship around an amazing story Wow! Mr. King, you're the man! Write on!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stephen King's Novel, Lisey's Story, is his most intimate, gorgeous, enveloping story whose words are deployed as only a master craftsman and artist can practice, whose characters are multidimensional beyond the norm, whose seemingly effortless storytelling show no machinery or showmanship as it transcends defintion of what makes a good story. This story breathes, allows one to daydream within the story, grips you in its moments and situations that King makes so relatable, yet so profoundly magical, both in its storytelling, which is not a "telling" but really an "experiencing" or at least a sharing in the space of the heart. It isn't a horrorfest, though there are moments of terror where the passage of time, as told, is palpable. Yes, heartbreaking as well, and not for the faint of heart when it comes to reading, the story, the pace, and the depths it reaches into. It is said and often quoted of a saint, Francis of Assisi, that a man who works with his hands is a laborer, a man who works with hands and mind is a craftsman, and a man who works with his hands, mind, and heart is an artist. This nove is a work of literary art. It stays with you. A unique and almost unexpected novel that is highly praised fittingly by luminaries as bestselling The Notebook author Nicholas Sparks, Pulitzer Prize author Michael Chabon, and Nora Roberts. Also, King's supremely human humor is very much intact. Not for the average nook reader with short attention spans that like to fed fed stories rather than engaged. I think one has to have the paperback for it to truly make it tangibly their own. If reading by Nook, one can readily access different parts of the story, if only to relive without having to sift through pages and to retrieve character moments. Its flow is superb, mind you. And you'll be thinking about it and few things that make up life as we know it, how reading influences our ideas and imaginations, and this is also early on, so hang on, have a tea,enjoy the journey.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a poet and i prefer Shakespeare to Edgar Allen Poe but this book is amazing. Stephen King's books are the only horror stories I treasure. I also have his book Insomnia and I'm trying to find Cell. I started calling my girlfriend babyluv when I read this (that was before we broke up).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of Kings best as far as I am concerned....i said one...he has a lot....what can i say about this character? A pretty brave woman when confronted by lifes disappiintments...she finds herself widowed....and having to sort back through her life before she can move foeward... I read this book in the summer...and much of her story takes place in summer...the descriptives of this book made me feel the temps and smell the smells of summer.. I am not sure why this book has stuck with me 2 yrs after reading it...i like the character development...and found i needed that early information throughout the book...maybe age wise i identified with the character, Lisey,...someone actually allowed a 50ish woman take a leading role.... I am not sure if you haven' t lived that long or had a long term relationship if you can get the love/relationship part.....so maybe this book is not for a younger reader...that part of the book is key... Its summer...and i find myself wanting to read this book again....strange thing for me that i have not passed this book on to other people...because that is what i do normally...read and let go...but for some reason...i can't let this book go...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I agree with the review below stating the fact that this is not in the norm of S.K. writing style, but it was a good story none the less. It was almost more of a twisted love tale, something original and never thought of before. Lisey¿s Story was slow to get into but soon enough it had me holding onto it tightly around midnight, yet the following evening I didn't even want to pick it up but I had to. I loved this story, it twisted, it scared, and it prodded at your curiosity until the end. For any type of reading, this is the way to go.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story is an intimate look at a marriage and love and the darker parts of ourselves we usually keep hidden. I'm no writer so i'll spare you my poetic waxing--suffice to say it was creepy and vibrant and touching. Fantastic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been reading Stephen King since I was in high school always amazed at his character development and ability to make the bizarre seem real. Lisey's Story grabbed me from the start. The love story at its core makes it my personal favorite. We all want a love that transends worlds, time and even death.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first S.K. book I have ever read, I will always have a place in my heart for this book. It sucked me in and wouldn't let me go
November-Owl More than 1 year ago
It takes a little while to really get going (apprx. 1/3 of novel's length), but once it gets going, the friction doesn't let up. Some themes within the storyline really pull on the heartstrings; a lot of those themes are fused with supernatural themes. The book is a little fewer than 500 pages. "Lisey's Story" is a phenomenal story, and very much worth the time  spent to read it. I liked it so much that I rank it amongst the best novels I've ever read--period.
Taarna More than 1 year ago
I've been a Stephen King fan for many years and enjoy his more non-straightforward-horror-yarns more than the traditional monster and beastie tales. (Although I enjoy those, as well) I enjoyed the psychological character development of this book, although, it was a bit slow to start. Once I got into the rhythm of the back and forth mental storyline, the story itself took off. It wouldn't be a Stephen King story without SOME kind of supernatural element, however, and once that was revealed, the book really flew along. I would recommend this book to any Stephen King fan.
Suspense_fan More than 1 year ago
I love Stephen King and have read quite a few of his books. And usually they're very hard to put down once started. But this one....I only finished it out of a sense that I should finish what I start. Otherwise, I lost interest early on, the smuckers usage was very annoying and it didn't hold my interest like so many other books have. Personally, I don't recommend it.
TysonSugi More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be a little "softer" than the typical King books, but a good read nonetheless.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
So many others have given an outline of Stephen King's newest release, but I just wanted to leave a few comments.

This isn't a typical King book. I'm not saying it's bad, just different. It also takes awhile to get into the action, but once there the story is quite satisfying. As many have said, this is as much (if not more) a love story than a horror novel. The similarities between King's fictional characters and real life are remarkable (I'm guessing he planned it that way.) Overall, this is a book for the ultimate King fan.

If you've never read Stephen King, though, I wouldn't recommend LISEY'S STORY as a place to start, since it's so divergent from what he normally writes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a very Un-king book. It eases you into the weirdness so slowly that you don't even feel the supernatural in the plot until the charecter herself comes to grips with it. Touching, emotionally relevnt work. By anyonther autheor this would be up for literary awards, but there is still an anti king bias in some circles
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely enjoyed this book. I think many who gave low ratings read the book with the wrong expectations. This is not a horror novel, though it can be horrifying in some parts. This IS a love story, and one of the best I've read. I am a big Stephen King fan, and instantly recognized the difference in writing. I would have loved this story even if it was written by an unknown author, and the fact that it was written by Stephen King simply confirms my belief that he is a literary genius. His use of language in this novel, while somewhat irritating at the fairly slow beginning, completely ties the book together in the end. I have never read a book that was simultaneously beautiful and horrifying, as this one was. He eloquently meshes the most beautiful aspects of love and the world with the most ugly aspects of hate and terror. It's almost hard for me to review this novel properly, because the concepts examined in it are so complex and different, only King was able to present them through this story. You really need to read Lisey's Story, it was a very enjoyable read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Fresh, different and beautifully bizarre! Recommended to those with an imagination who appreciate a creative story and demand a break from the mundane same-old-same-old formulas of many other novels. I don't think King a particularly good writer but this book was strangely touching and very impressive... not to be missed!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Yes, it took me a while to pick this one up after I bought it. Like 9 months because the reviews say it was a love story but it talks of one and isn't one really except for in the past. But as with SK there is always more to it. I wonder how much his wife helped him with this story because it starts out, in my opinion, as if someone else actually wrote it and starts to sound more like him later. The story sounds like a slow Dean Koontz novel and seems to take some ideas from the movie 'Fraility' I think. The ending is great and twisted. I just hope more come out like the Cell.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Honestly..............it was horrible
Anonymous 8 months ago
Anonymous 9 months ago
First king book i did not like,
Anonymous 11 months ago
Slow, inefective and lazy writing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was good just different for king