×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Literacy and Longing in L. A.
     

Literacy and Longing in L. A.

3.9 13
by Jennifer Kaufman, Karen Mack
 

See All Formats & Editions

Some women shop. Some eat. Dora cures the blues by bingeing on books—reading one after another, from Flaubert to bodice rippers, for hours and days on end. In this wickedly funny and sexy literary debut, we meet the beguiling, beautiful Dora, whose unique voice combines a wry wit and vulnerability as she navigates the road between reality and fiction.

Dora,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Literacy and Longing in L. A. 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Barbara45 More than 1 year ago
Exactly !!! Reading Literacy and Longing in L.A. is like looking in a mirror. Oh yes, Dora, I understand. There's nothing wrong with you. You, Dora, are just like so many of us. We need - absolutely need - our books! All kinds of books. We need to hold them, touch them, smell them, know they are ours, and even read most of them. Husbands come and go. Children grow up, and through it all, wherever life takes us, our books must follow, and even sometimes lead us. We are addicted, and what a wonderful addiction it is. We don't want help! No anonymous group meetings for us. Just books. Glorious books !!
PipME More than 1 year ago
I read everything by these authors. Never disappointed.
AmyD65 More than 1 year ago
Took this to the beach for the weekend. Just the right length - fininshed it just before we left. Good plot but not hard to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A book about someone who is really into books, sounds like something that I could sink my teeth into. Howwever, despite the constant referrals to great authors and great books, I found the main characters and the whole story to be rather shallow. A woman who goes on weekend long bookbenders needs to have botox? Maybe I just don't get it since I don't live in LA.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book for what it is- a carefree romp. I felt like I knew the characters and laughed at a lot of the mishaps and events. No it's not deep reading, but it is a lot of fun.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Not only does this book go into great detail as to how the mind of a reader works but also defines life in Los Angeles. Most books dealing with living in Los Angeles concentrate on the negative and lost dreams of those who hoped to become stars but failed. Living in LA is more than just Hollywood and the industry it's about the whole county. The book takes us with Dora on her different experiences from the northern county to down to Torrance, Hermosa Beach, Downtown and farther. It does make the reader feel self conscience about not having read all those wonderful books mentioned but it does make you want to pick them up. I recommend this book to anyone who has trouble finding who they are and where they are going next.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really wanted to like this book, as I can relate to Dora losing herself in books and going on binges, but she just wasn't sympathetic. I mean really...she didn't have to worry about money, was skinny and beautiful, and shopped like there was no tomorrow! How can you relate to a woman like that? Plus, I got the impression that if you didn't agree with Dora's choice of titles, you weren't a 'real' bibliophile. I can't stand book snobs, and Dora started to annoy me after awhile. So while I liked the premise, I didn't like Dora or the author's attitude. Borrow it from your library if you must, or wait for the paperback. Not worth the price of a hardcover.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are a book lover like me, you'll love this fresh debut. A lot of references to books are footnoted though and it can be a little bit distracting. I fell in love with Dora (named after Eudora Welty of course), and how she would go on book binges for 3 days after a crisis and then jump right back into life again.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Dora grew up in a Philadelphia household with her sister Virginia in which her mom was a drunk who destroyed two cars in less than a year with one landing in the Schuylkill River mud. Dad, knowing his clubs were ruined, began his odyssey to stay away from home until finally he never returned. When things were bad, which seemed the normal, Dora and Virginia leaped into the world of literature, binging on the written word.------------- Years later, both siblings remain extremely close to one another, but Virginia has her feet solidly planted in reality while Dora still runs away to literature when the going gets rough. She has been married twice and at one time after Columbia was a rising journalistic star in Los Angeles, but that was a decade ago. Her second husband Palmer supports her financially especially her book binges, but he always wondered whether she cared as he is no longer wastes his emotions on depressing Dora the non-explorer. Dora meets comparative literature professor Fred at a bookstore and soon afterward his mother, Bea, who is raising her granddaughter six years old (Fred's niece) yet ¿adopts¿ Dora.--------------- Though the ending seems off kilter from the deep look at a person in mental trouble, fans will appreciate this strong character study. Dora is a great person who faces problems by hiding in books. The cast is fully developed to bring out Dora¿s only means of coping book binging. Fans will relate to the thirtyish protagonist as she struggles in life but receives a boost from Bea, who acts like a surrogate mother as she not the two men in Dora¿s life help her. This terrific tale has the audience rooting for Dora.------------- Harriet Klausner