×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Little Friend
     

The Little Friend

3.2 98
by Donna Tartt
 

See All Formats & Editions

The second novel by Donna Tartt,  bestselling author of The Goldfinch (winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize),  The Little Friend  is a grandly ambitious and utterly riveting novel of childhood, innocence and evil.

The setting is Alexandria, Mississippi, where one Mother’s Day a little boy named Robin Cleve Dufresnes was found

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Little Friend 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
steamyfan More than 1 year ago
I sort of want to scream when I read lukewarm reviews of this book. Admittedly, people may get the wrong idea when they read the back jacket, or the first few pages, and anticipate some sort of murder mystery thrill. The death of Harriet's brother is merely background for her character. The skill with which Tartt explores the inner workings and thought processes of a virtually abandoned 12 year old girl whose older brother's murder has never been solved cannot be praised highly enough. Do you remember what your thought processes were like when you were 12? I sure as hell don't. But Tartt seems to have magically leaped over that crevasse that separates us from our youth, and from understanding the mysterious social workings of 12 year olds. I found this book, though lengthy, to be absolutely riveting. Donna Tartt uses her extensive knowledge of the South to create a book that isn't so much a story as a look into someone else's culture (me not being from the South). The book mainly focuses on a little girl growing up in the aftermath of her dear brother's unsolved murder, and the impact that level of tragedy can have on a family. It took me a little while to get into it, but once I did I really enjoyed this book. It took me about a month to read it, but overall I found it very satisfying. Tartt has a nice way with words, able to explain and detail things at length but in an easy-flowing kind of way. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a long comfortable summer read.
Lunahumming More than 1 year ago
I've read both of Tartt's books (and eagerly await the 3rd), and while both are beautifully written, I am surprised by the number of people who prefer The Secret History to The Little Friend. This one I want to read over and over and over. Tartt has the ability to make each page lush, vibrant and moving.
DearReader More than 1 year ago
With this book Donna Tartt simply throws down the gauntlet on character development. This, her second, book was a long time coming and you can see why...these characters have been simmered and cooked down to the kind of flavor meld of a spaghetti sauce that has been on the stove all day. As a voracious reader I am so happily suprised when a book like this falls into my hands. It's long, the story is compelling, I adore the characters, and I lose DAYS to reading. Harriet easily makes it to the top of my alltime favorite hot 100 characters. I highly recommend this book. Be forewarned if you have a small child that the first part of the book is definately a punch to the gut. But don't let it deter you -- it's fiction, and it's a fantastic book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
You feel you are in this book and don't want it to end. this is a book to lose yourself in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started with Tartt's The Goldfinch and was motivated to read her 2 earlier works. The middle one, The Little Friend, was tedious, a pseudo Southern Gothic and I found myself skipping pages just to see if it would improve by the end. Grotesque characters, contorted plotting and situations that strained credulity in a book that wasn't billed as science fiction. Skip it unless you are a masochist.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was extremely disappointed in this book. i can usually read a book in 2-4 days, this one took me 3 weeks because i was so not interested in finishing. The only reason i did complete it was because i had to work 2 hours to afford it. This book reminds me of a little kid with ADD. This book constantly goes off on tangents that have no relation to the story: girl trying to find brother's killer. THe above is the plot which is basically lost in the book. i would almost say this was a high school essay that required 600 pages and the content was only 300, so extra stuff was thrown in to meet the quota. I had a friend read it because she couldn't believe it was as bad as i said. she got as far as page 50 and quit.I DO NOT recommend this book to anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wow! From the first sentence I was hooked. I thought I would be reading to solve the mystery of the lynching, but I became so engrossed in the characters and the subplots that the mystery became secondary. This is a great Southern gothic novel -- a combination of To Kill a Mockingbird and Huckleberry Finn. I'm giving this to everyone on my Christmas list.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is in my top 10 list of all time best stories. Every character described is a whole, complex and complete individual. It is a fascinating character study and the prose is a pleasure to savor. Have no preconceived notions before you start. Don't try to rush through it. If this was a movie, it would deserve an Academy Award. Thank you Donna Tartt!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It seems many readers wanted the usual story line where all of the loose ends are neatly tied up with a big bow at the end and you are left with nothing to ponder. If that is what you are looking for you won't get it in this book. This story is told through twists and turns, flashbacks and real-time drama. It is layered with all of the crap life can throw at you all at once, told through the eyes of a child who is unprepared to handle it all. I must admit it took me a bit to get into this story but once I made that connection I was hooked. I loved all of the characters and how they were all woven into one big tapestry of life, each one having a small or large impact on the other, whether intentionally or unintentionally. Real life doesn't always give us all of the answers and neither does this story but I loved it all the same.
verysmart More than 1 year ago
I read "The Goldfinch" and "The Secret History" by Donna Tartt and I absolutely loved them. This was awful. I can't believe it's the same author.
WillMorgan More than 1 year ago
well i just finished this book , i really liked everything except the ending I thought maybe she would sujm it all up or something, it just ends is there another book to this. have so many questions. ugg but i did enjoy reading it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If John Irving, Charles Dickens, and Stephen King had together written about small town Mississippi from the point of view of a 12 year old girl, this is the book they would have written• There are odd characters, a longing to be finally happy, & a thread of real menace running through the story• It's A Prayer for Owen Meany meets David Copperfield, with a bit of Breaking Bad, in a southern Castle Rock•
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Longest, most boring book ever. Took me over a month. I was determined and didn't want to be a quitter. I am an avid reader, reading many off the wall books, best sellers, crime, romance....This is the second book Of Tartts I have read, in my opinion a waste
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ok, yeah, I am really ready to fight. Why did I spend all this effort forcing myself to read this book when the ENDING WAS JUST RANDOM??? If it had had a spectacular ending, I may have felt justified. I just wish I could get the 2 days I spent reading this blather back!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Readinng this book reminded me what a well written book is. Such a winderful way with lanuage and the story was goid and dark too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just don't bother, you'll bemoan the time you wasted.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago