×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Little House
  • Alternative view 1 of The Little House
  • Alternative view 2 of The Little House
     

The Little House

4.4 52
by Virginia Lee Burton
 

See All Formats & Editions


Virginia Lee Burton won the Caldecott Medal in 1943 for her memorable picture book The Little House, a poignant story of a cute country cottage that becomes engulfed by the city that grows up around it. The house has an expressive face of windows and doors, and even the feelings of a person, so she’s sad when she’s surrounded by the dirty, noisy

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Little House 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Jennifer Guzman More than 1 year ago
All of my children have loved this book. However, the nook version is abridged, which I didn't see indicated before I bought it. It does not greatly affect how it reads, but we do miss the additional details.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my favorite childhood book. I read it to all of my children, now I am ordering it for my granddaughter. In addition to being a great book to learn about seasons, it's great to open discussions about feelings. How did the little house feel? How would you feel? etc... I just love this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book is abridged. They cut out about half of the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have always loved this book. As a teacher, I use it to teach about rural, suburban and urban communities.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you're wanting the book in its entirety, the Nook version is not the one you want. It's been abridged.
sarkissian More than 1 year ago
Great pictures and heartwarming story.. good for ages 2 and up for bedtime.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book! I really like it :).  -Brandt Jensen (Memorial Middle School)
Lil_bookette More than 1 year ago
This book is so sweet. First, the illustrations are wonderful. There's so much going on in them. As time passed for the house, it was fun to point out the changes that occurred in the pictures. The story almost made my voice quiver at times. Did I feel sympathy for a house? Yes, I did. It also made me wish for simpler times. I'm not sure if children can grasp the warning that all progress isn't good progress, but they can't miss the smog cloud developing over the little house. We can use all the green lessons that our children can get.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KayME More than 1 year ago
I've loved this story since I was 4 or 5 yrs old. When I'm invited to a baby shower this is one of the books I give as a gift. Actually I give 4 of the Virginia Lee Burton stories as part of my shower gift. It's just a great book to have in a child's library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kate Fisher More than 1 year ago
love book sooooo much!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Melissa Lowe More than 1 year ago
As a child I read this book over and over. As an adult I have shared it with my children. I will always love the idea that a home loves to be lived in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Muffin-Korn-In-Denial More than 1 year ago
This book will put a smile on your face no matter what your age. You will just love this beautiful, well written, heart warming story that you can read whenever you're in a bad move and need a smile.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MacMom93 More than 1 year ago
A sweet story that brought me back to my childhood when my grandmother read me this story. A great reminder of how much life has changed.
savethePandas More than 1 year ago
My daughter and I discovered this book in the library. We both loved it so much, we had to buy it. It is a lovely story about a little house that sneaks in opportunites for parents to discuss change, tradition, values, etc. Wonderful book. A great gift for any child!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheWizidd More than 1 year ago
If your child currently lives in a house, this book will teach them about how advances in technology can severely interrupt, and suffocate a very peaceful environment (e.g. destruction of "rain forest" in the name of "advancement") - but it does have a very happy ending for them! If your child currently lives in a city dwelling, (not a house), they may not understand this book, unless they are "dreaming" about the future and saying to themselves, "Someday, my family is going to LIVE in house, away from all the noise of a city". This book would provide them with that hope.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago