×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Live to Tell (Detective D. D. Warren Series #4)
     

Live to Tell (Detective D. D. Warren Series #4)

4.0 710
by Lisa Gardner
 

See All Formats & Editions

He knows everything about you—including the first place you’ll hide.
 
On a warm summer night in one of Boston’s working-class neighborhoods, an unthinkable crime has been committed: Four members of a family have been brutally murdered. The father—and possible suspect—now lies clinging to life in the ICU. Murder-suicide?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Live to Tell 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 710 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Live to Tell" is Lisa Gardner's latest installment in the Detective D.D. Warren series that takes place in Boston. Never having read any of the other books in the series, I wondered if I could pick up the back story of D.D. Warren and understand her character - not to worry, the author does a great job of providing a history without it taking pages of details. This was a great story! It is the perfect summer read with an interesting mystery, good characters that all tie together without stretching the imagination and a very interesting topic - psychologically damaged children. This isn't a story about kids damaged because of what was done to them by uncaring adults but kids born with psychological issues - the kids can't sit still, don't react to authority, destructive behavior - and all reared by loving, caring, involved parents. From the first chapter, the story gripped me and it continued through the end of the book. Gardner does a great job of bringing in different characters, tying them togher yet making you care about each of them. One of my biggest pet peeves is when an author spends the last chapter with the main characters explaining the story. That is not the case here - you are watching the story unfold as you read it and that is just one of the many good things about "Live to Tell." I found myself thinking of the parents in the story as real people and wondering if I know people who are going through this with their kids! I highly recommend this book. I am going back to look into Gardner's other books and bring myself up to speed on Detective Warren's history.
PattiM46 More than 1 year ago
I have been a fan of Lisa Gardner since she first published and I have to say that this book was by far the best she has written. The plot flowed, it was intense. I started the book on Wednesday and by Friday I was darn near done. If you want a good read this is it however you need to start with the 1st book in the series so you can understand all of the characters and why they are the way they are. And when you get to this book start it on Friday so you have the weekend to read as you wont want to put it down. Cant wait for her next book.
13RM13 More than 1 year ago
This story recounts the experiences of a number of children who were abused by their psychotic or alcoholic parents. This is a gripping, intense and unsettling read of grim humor, distinctive dialogue, meaningful characterizations, and a compelling plot. Danielle was the sole survivor; her father brutally murdered her mother, her sister, her brother, and then took his own life in front of her. She has been in therapy for many years and at thirty-four, fullfills her need to help as a pediatric nurse in an acute care psychiatric ward where children act out in self destructive ways such as injuring themselves, screaming or banging their heads against the walls or floor. Touching and heartfelt! A meaningful read!
CBH More than 1 year ago
Troubled children that are taken to and treated in a pediatric psych ward of a medical facility have reached that location after much anguish and mental and physical abuse of their parents and anyone that has attempted to work with them. The path is long, troubled, and many times caused by former abuse to those children by another person, usually a family member or close friend. It can be various kinds of abuse, not just sexual, but regardless they end up needing long professional treatment. Sometimes that treatment is successful and sometimes not. In some few situations the professional furthers the abuse creating a worse monster out of the child, but in most cases the child is helped with improvement, slight as it may be, occurring over time. Lisa Gardner had to have done much research to take the reader into this world to the point that you can feel the tension, the personal games played, the many ways attempted to help these children even though the professionals themselves are sometimes hurt physically by a child. Sergeant Detective D. D. Warren is a tough cop who has seen all types of crime but even she was awoken when she entered this world of children's mental problems. She was a 12-year member of the Boston Police Department who was a workaholic who seemed to prefer work to a meaningful date, or so it seemed lately. When several families were murdered seemingly by one of their own family members, D. D. got dragged into this world of child psychotic behavior. Many characters were a part of "Live to Tell" from the children themselves to the parents, to the nurses and workers in the psych wards, and of course the police. You will be Victoria, the mother of a broken family that has a problem son; Danielle, a pediatric psych ward nurse who doesn't remember exactly what occurred when her family was killed; Andrew Lightfoot, a believer in spiritual powers and "other" planes of being; and of course the children who could behave one minute and be hollering or attempting to hurt someone the next. There was some love interests in the book, most of which couldn't get off the ground because of the severe cases all of which they were a part. D. D. was working with Alex who was on temporary assignment with her and they did have interest in each other when time allowed. The depth that Lisa Gardner obtained in the entire book creates an inner feeling as one reads. How can families get in this situation with a child that can go so wrong and create such havoc to so many people? The work that the professionals perform in such hospitals, or sections of regular hospitals is so unnerving to their lives that they have to have burnout more often than other professions. I will not go into more about the book other than to tell you that this is a must read of one of Lisa Gardner's books. I have enjoyed her other books but this one took me to places I have not even imagined in my long life.
SHASTALOVE More than 1 year ago
"Live to tell" is an intense psychological thriller. For instance, Victoria is the single parent of an eight-year old with unpredictable mood swings. He hugs his mom with love one minute and shortly after, threatens to stab her with a knife. The boo focuses on psychotic children, their treatment, caregivers and their impact on others, mostly family members. D.D. Warren is the detective assigned to a case of a murdered family in Boston. Danielle is a psychological mess after surviving while her mother and two siblings were murdered by her father who then killed himself. Horrifying, but you won't be able to put the book down!!
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Sergeant DD Warren has had some really bad cases before but she may have just been given the worst of her life. What looks like a whole family annihilation has just been doubled and now it looks as though it just might have been staged, but for who and why. Well DD will soon be looking for all the answers and isn't she lucky that a retired cop turned professor is tagging along with her team to keep his feet in field work and just maybe lend a helping hand. Lisa Gardner is one serious lady when it comes to crime dramas. She will wow her audience with her latest chilling thrilling tale of madness, mayhem and murder and she takes us deep into forbidden territories of the psyches of mentally ill children, their families and their caretakers, yet she does it with so much care and compassion that her audience will yet again celebrate her victory over some of the baddest dudes on the planet. Her quick paced dialogue is filled with tough cop speak and no nonsense narrative as she takes us on some of the most chilling and horrifying detective work ever to come out of someone's imagination and yet during it all we get introspection into the characters by reading their thoughts, their hopes and their fears. Now let's talk about her characters, they all really steal the show as they either inch their way into our hearts or our nightmares and not only her protagonist DD but her team of cops, the children, the care givers to the frazzled parents we get a realistic glimpse of a world most of us will never see or imagine as someone's everyday life and then we get to see the malevolence of her villain as we try with usually no success to pick him/her out of the line up. As with all Ms. Gardner's novels there is a love story of sorts, but this is definitely not a romance. So if you're up for being scared out of your mind, who else would you turn to but Lisa Gardner, if you want to read the results of a world class storyteller, that's right Lisa's your girl, if you want to kick some butt and take names go no farther that Live to Tell, your next must read, believe me you wont be sorry. Kudos to you Ms. Gardner.
gtutty1 More than 1 year ago
It seems that every summer I am looking for something good to read at Cape Cod and Lisa Gardner always comes to the rescue. This was my first summer with my Nook and she was just as good electronically. She lets a few of the characters speak for themselves which adds a special flavor to the book. She has you guessing right 'til the end as to the murderer. Much of the plot deals with disturbed children struggling with various mental issues. Gardner handles them with the expertise of someone who has done her homework. A great summer read--a great fall, winter and spring read, also. And those who have been afraid to give up their books for a Nook--it is okay. It is the future and the future is here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Live to Tell was a good read with plenty of twists to keep you interested. Nice writing on such an unusual topic!
BigTexasAJ More than 1 year ago
I always start my reviews off by saying how much I simply LOVE Lisa Gardner's books!! BUT... this one didn't do it for me. It was very interesting and suspenseful but the storyline just when in a direction that I didn't care for. It was part disturbing and part unrealistic. I know none of these books are "real" but I at least want to feel like they are as I'm reading them. I still enjoyed it and finished it but it wasn't what I was expecting. On to the next book!
Jennie MacKenzie More than 1 year ago
Surpise! Ive read most of her books and they are awsome this ine sucks ANNA
RAG69 More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! I have been fan of Lisa Gardner for many years and have read all of her books! I've gotten my 3 oldest children reading them as well. I can't get enough! When I start reading any of her books I have to read it almost nonstop because I literally can't put it down! Live to Tell was one of her best! Must read. But she hasn't come out with another one yet so I really need another good author's books to read. I love Lisa Gardner mysteries so does anyone have any suggestions?
Kayceedee More than 1 year ago
Typically love Lisa Gardner, but halfway through, I gave up...and I NEVER do that. The subject matter was too disturbing and I couldn't get past the details.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lisa Gardner does her research and brings lots to the table to chew on... In this book we get a look at mass murder... But not random people but entire families. Lisa also takes us into the inner sanctum of a pediatric psych ward which is terrifying. Since Lisa does her research, I have to believe this scenario has truth to it but it's truly terrifying to think kids can be this messed up. Chilling!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic mystery
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NewEnglanderJC More than 1 year ago
This book was dealing with disturbing material and I found it to be very tough to get thru. I have read her first three Dd Warren novels and loved them. I'm wondering why she dwelled so long within the confines of the children's mental hospital. I kept hoping the book would take a chapter or two outside the confines.  I have only about 100 pages left and struggle to get to the end. This book will really decide whether or not I move on to  her next novel.  If her subject matter is going to be like this,  I'm done. Certainly she proves herself an author who can deliver a great mystery and not have to drag us down with such dark topics, and not let us come up for air once in a while. This book is a huge disappointment. I don't recommend it unless you can cope with disturbing content. Even the character of DD seems to have changed.  I don't care for her demeanor at all.  No substance yo what found have been a great character. I feel I know nothing about her..or she isn't who I thought she was.