×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #2)
     

Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #2)

4.4 2296
by Charlaine Harris
 

See All Formats & Editions

Visit our Sookie Stackhouse series feature page.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #2) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2296 reviews.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It has a story that will keep you entertained for hours.
jpress1206 More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed this series. I mostly read crime scene, murder mystery, court room drama books and, in between, I like to break it up with light hearted, funny reading like Janet Evanovich and Gemma Halliday books. This series fits right in! I have been entertained. And for me, that's what counts :)
ZIMGIRL83 More than 1 year ago
What do I have to say about the author Charlain Harris and one of her many Sookie Stackhouse books Living Dead In Dallas? I only have one word that comes to mind. Phenomenal. Let me tell you if you're not really a big reader and you're looking for something to spark you interest this is the book to pick up for sure. It sure rekindled my love of reading and many times I found it extremely hard to put the book down. I was so hooked that I went out to buy the whole Sookie Stackhouse series. The genre is Fantasy/Mystery but I found it to be so much more than that. This book has everything you could possibly want in a book. It's got of course fantasy, mystery, adventure, light comody or humor, detective, drama, a bit of gothic, and you can't forget the romance with a splash of the supernatural. I mean really, what more could you ask for in a single book? The story starts off in a little town called Bon Temps in Louisiana where the main character Sookie Stackhouse lives, a beautiful mind reading outcast. Working in a local tavern and shunned by all "normal" men she is ecstatic when a tall dark and ever so handsome vampire strolls in to have a drink and forever change her life. Bill Compton. Little did she know exactly what their entanglement would get her? Soon after finding her friend and co-worker murdered she is summoned to Dallas Texas to do some investigating work for the Area 5 sheriff, Eric Northerman, whom she owes so is duty bound to do what he asks of her. Her assignment was to find out what happened to a missing vampire that has been kidnapped through her mind reading abilities. Going around Dallas reading other human's minds sounds easy enough right? Wrong. She finds herself in a whole lot of trouble many times over with many, many close calls of near death, fights, beating and even kidnapping. Through this whole worldwind of trouble and mayhem with her loving vampire by her side she somehow pulls it all off. Sookie and Bill find out what had happened to the missing vampire and some things she wished she didn't know (or rather hear). She then returns home to do some investigating of her own. She closes the murder case of her co-worker/friend. All seems well for the moment and she's turned into quit a survivor. I don't know what else to say about this book, except, you just have to read it. It's got something for everyone. You'll fall head over heels for the characters and the crazy things that happen. I employ you to read this book and tell me otherwise but chances are you'll find it as hard to put down and I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is fun! It's a great story told in an interesting way. This book made me want to read others in the series. Much better than the show on HBO.
1984 More than 1 year ago
I am pleasantly surprised with the Sookie Stackhouse series thus far. I have not seen the show. Book one was a little slow, but I have been thoroughly entertained with both Books 2 & 3. I recommend it to anyone who wants a fun, light read. Definitely not for kids.
Haitianking More than 1 year ago
I started to read this series after some co-workers were talking about the True Blood series on HBO based on the books. I got the first one for Christmas and have read the entire series to date. This book picks up where Dead Until Dark leaves off and the characters develop even more. The story keeps you hooked and moving to the last page. If you are looking for a good series to read this is it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have really enjoyed the series so far can't wait to get the next book. I really loved the show but the book have blown it out of the water. I would suggest it to anyone who loves vampires or love stories.
cloggiedownunder More than 1 year ago
Living Dead in Dallas is the second book in the Sookie Stackhouse series by popular American author, Charlaine Harris. It effectively consists of two separate stories: one introduced and then put on hold while the other is played out. When she finds the body of the flamboyant gay cook at Sam Merlotte’s bar, Lafayette Reynold, in the bar car park in Andy Bellefleur’s car, Sookie is understandably upset. Andy’s sister, Portia, asks Sookie to “listen in” on bar patrons’ thoughts to learn who is responsible, but before she gets a chance to do much, an encounter with a vicious maenad leaves her almost fatally injured. Saved by the local vampire nest, she is then directed, with her vampire boyfriend, Bill, to use her special talents for a vampire nest in Dallas. It seems that the Fellowship of the Sun, a group which is vehemently against any tolerance of vampires, may have something to do with the disappearance of a certain gay vampire in the nest. Infiltrating the group puts her in grave danger, but Sookie is ever resourceful, and is aided by certain shapeshifters. In this book, Harris does a bit more world-building, but the details are seamlessly incorporated. She has Sookie acting as a sort of vampire security video, attending a sex party, encountering another telepath, attending a self-immolation and enjoying being kissed by three different males. There are plenty of laughs and quite a bit of sex, along with some development of the main characters. Lots of fun!
cjstone427 More than 1 year ago
This series is great so far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dont bother unless you like a REALLY short read. 199 pages.
ally_cat_kitty More than 1 year ago
It only took me 3 days to read this book! I'm addicted,i will be setting more very soon!!!!
amiss More than 1 year ago
The second book in the Sookie Stackhouse series was not as good as the first. Although the book has its high points, this book did not live up to the first in the series. I have noted that the author's Sookie Stackhouse series are easier reads, a reader can get through them quite quickly. The books keep you interested, but lack supporting character development. I will continue to read through the series because the interest is there on what happens to Ms. Sookie Stackhouse.
LISAS2010 More than 1 year ago
After reading "Dead Until Dark" I couldn't wait to read Charlaine Harris's follow-up book "Living Dead in Dallas". And just like the first novel Ms. Harris' failed to disappoint. Even though these books are in the horror genre, the main characters have a great amount of sex appeal that keeps the reader wanting more....If anyone is a fan of the television series (Season 2 is loosely based on this novel)they will be most definitely satisfied with this book.
HBT More than 1 year ago
I did not think the book was horrible, but to me it was not spectacular either. It seems to me that it was written for teens (16+) rather than adults. I did not like how she brought in the maenad early in the book and then did not talk about her until the end of the book. I also think a better introduction of the vampire Godfrey would have helped the book be better. I know it says he enjoyed being with children and killed some, but he was turned into a vampire when he was 16, and to me he is a child himself. Really if you have not matured before you were turned it does not seem like you would want adults. At 16 people who are 30 are "old" and that should have been taken into consideration when writing about him. The plot of this book also seemed to be all over the place. There was the murder of Lafayette, the maenad and all the stuff she was doing in Dallas. I think if the ideas had been better organized I would have enjoyed the book more. I liked the mystery of who killed Lafayette, that is why I kept reading. I like how the vampires do not hate being vampires. I like how the main characters have not changed much (if at all) from the first book to the second book. I am going to read the next book. I am also watching the HBO series and like to see the differences.
BookCita More than 1 year ago
I am sooo addicted to the Sookie Stackhouse Series!!! I first heard of it when I started watching TrueBlood on HBO, which I am a HUUUGE fan of! I had NO idea that TrueBlood was based on these books! I LOVE movies/shows that are based on books!!! Of course, the books are usually better...I was so excited to read these books!! If you are an adult Twilight Fan and looking for something a bit for adult, this series is it!! They are so much fun!!!
Sandy2159 More than 1 year ago
So the book is written well, it keeps good pace and is interesting.. not exceptional but quite good.. now the annoying thing!! Pages 199-230 are missing from my edition! This is incredibly inconvienent and annoying once you're better than halfway through reading it!!
TALeader More than 1 year ago
For anyone who loves the HBO series, I urge you to read the books. The books are so much better than the series (although I love the series on it's own merit). Sookie and Bill have to travel to Dallas as a favor to help another vampire sheriff find a missing vampire. While there, Sookie gets involved with the Fellowship of Sun. Here she meets not only other vampires but werewolves and another telepath as well and starts to understand there's a bigger world of secrets out there than she thought. This was a great, fast-moving story and I read it in about three evenings. The book doesn't disappoint for anyone who loved the first book and left you wanting to start the third book as soon as you closed the book!
MistressofGod More than 1 year ago
I thought this book was okay, and I would reccomend it to other people. I am going to read the third book and see if it gets better...
jwheelzJW More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great continuation of this series. Eric orders Sookie to go to Dallas so that another vampire could use her "services." A vampire in the Dallas group has gone missing and Sookie soon finds out that a radical church/cult has taken him so that he can go into the light with another vampire. Sookie of course tries to save him and ends up in trouble. I love Charlaine Harris' world of vampires, weres, and shifters and how all of them fit together. I love Sookie and Bill and their relationship and it gets pretty steamy in this book. I didn't really like the whole Manaed plotline but the rest was great, I can't wait to read of the rest of the series!
AJ0408 More than 1 year ago
I read this book after reading the first Sookie novel and am really enjoying this series. I was happy that this book was less graphic than the first and had a better story line. The first book seemed to move too fast but this one was at a much better pace. In Living Dead in Dallas, you get to know the characters more indepth and begin to truly care about them and what may about to happen. It was a fun, quick read and I am really happy that I discovered this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The writing got better. A lot of sexual tension as in the first book. More supernatural creatures, more action, better story than the first book. Loved it!
JennGrrl More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire series for Charlaine Harris. It's probably one of the best sequels I've read in this type of genre. Bill and Sookie go to Dallas on official vampire business, and stay in a hotel that caters to vampires. That, in and of itself, was strange enough, but then they meet up with a group that hates vampires and wants them gone. The group is sort of like a church, but think more of the cult type. Some more shapeshifters also make an appearance, and a maened. There's a lot that goes on in Dallas, but even more is going on when they return home. There's been a murder, the law of the town has been accused of the murder, there's a group having sex/orgy parties that may have actually committed the murder and Sookie has to figure it all out while managing not to get hurt or killed herself by the maened or the crazy cult group. This is also the book where Tara makes her appearance for the first time, though she's not quite the same as the TV series, and Eric, the sexy vampire that lusts for Sookie, actually manages to get closer to Sookie. I really hope True Blood follows the books. This would most definitely be an exciting TV show!
Sookie_Fan More than 1 year ago
This book keep you interested in the life and troubles of our Sookie.. If you liked the first book, you will love this one!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved everything about this book. I love all the details, and it makes me want to keep reading and reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started reading this series back in December and I can't put it down.