×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Long Goodbye
     

The Long Goodbye

4.5 34
by Raymond Chandler
 

See All Formats & Editions

Raymond Chandler's ingenious novel finds Philip Marlowe constantly on the move with a case involving a war scarred drunk and his nymphomaniac wife. A psychotic gangster's on his trail; he's in trouble with the cops, and an unequaled number of corpses turns up.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Long Goodbye 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 35 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Raymond Chandler is a great and unique American writer. 'The Long Goodbye' is his finest work. He is most brilliant in his wonderful use of creative metaphor. Just singular! This book hooks you within the first few pages, then takes you on a winding, devious path through a mysterious episode in private eye Phillip Marlowe's life. Just when you think the story is ending, and you've figured it out, the author takes another twist, and off you go again, toward another dramatic, fascinating turn of the story. I read five fine books over my summer vacation, but this one takes the cake. What a hoot!
SmithDoug More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Chandler, Hammett, and Jim Thompson, most of Ross MacDonald and Spillane, and a great deal of the noir hackery of the 30s - 50s (Gault, Woolrich, Cain, Willeford, Goodis, et al), and I can, without a doubt, say that The Long Goodbye is the finest novel of the Romans Noir genre ever created. In fact, this novel should be among the top 50 or so greatest novels ever written regardless of genre. MacDonald's The Underground Man is the only other novel among this era/genre that comes close.
Cadillac_66 More than 1 year ago
Okay, he did write a book after this. sort of. but this is his true final farewell. And it's one of the greatest books of the 20th century. the real 'mystery' that Chandler exposes is the brutal and barren nature of the human condition. A fierce blunt humorous and honest look at the fragile terrain of daily existence and moral absolutism.
MareCT More than 1 year ago
Raymond Chandler is such an talented story teller that one can spend days in his writing and not notice the passage of time. His descriptions are vivid, his settings realistic, and his characters all too human. The range of emotions that reach out to the reader are breathtaking and well worth revisiting on a regular basis.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What can you say of Raymond Chandler? His dialog is still hip, his stories still taught, and his insight into human nature as profound, if not more so, than it was fifty years ago. I love this book.
Shilshole More than 1 year ago
Raymond Chandler sets the bar for all crime novelists to come. As an avid reader of Michael Connelly, John Sanford, Lee Child, Robert Dugoni and the like, I believe none would be where they are without the trailblazing of Raymond Chandler. Although at times sounding melodramatic in today's perspective, Chandler's character sketches are the best in the business. Private Detetective Philip Marlowe's hard-boiled POV creates unforgettable images and insight. And THE LONG GOODBYE is Chandler's best novel, in my opinion.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MysteryLoverMC More than 1 year ago
I needed some reading material for vacation and decided to take along some recognized classics. I thoroughly enjoyed The Long Goodbye! Raymond Chandler always provides a good read no matter how many times you go back.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mr_Ah_Clem More than 1 year ago
A masterpiece of the genre. The hard-boiled PI archetype.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago