×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Long Lost
     

Long Lost

3.7 11
by David Morrell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Brad Denning is a successful architect living a perfect life in Denver with his loving wife and son. Or so it would be, if not for the haunting memory of his brother Petey who disappeared while under Brad's supervision when they were kids. Now, a man claiming to be his sibling has mysteriously appeared and Brad is eager to take him in, despite the man's haggard

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Long Lost 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
This book begins with a quick tale of the disappearance of Brad Denning's brother, Petey when they were children. Fast forward to the future and Brad is a successful architect, happily married and a father to his only son. Out of the blue, after an appearance on national television, Brad is approached by someone claiming to be Petey. With details that only his brother would know, Brad accepts Petey into his life. Then Petey disappears with Brad's wife and son, and after the FBI exhausts all avenues, Brad takes it upon himself to track down Petey. Or is it Peter or a con artist? On his quest, Brad learns more and more about the abductor. Each page kept me so involved in this story that I couldn't put the book down. I finished reading it in one afternoon. I really enjoyed this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great quick read A bit predictable but there were still many surprises and enough ambiguity to keep you guesding. Wjj
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a dark and depressing story. Morrell seemed to have a personality conflict in this book. He tried to mix in his usual high octane action, but the story, at least on the surface was pretty deep. I have mixed emotions on whether I'd recommend this book to others. On one hand, it is a clever concept with big thrills at the end. On the other, it left me, the reader, with a sad and empty feeling. Make sure to follow this one up quickly with one of his traditionally thrilling titles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The story does have some twists if you patiently read through two thirds of it. The beginning and the last few chapters are quite exciting, but it's quite boring in the middle part.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Neil Patrick Harris, probably best known for his leading role on TV's 'Doogie Howser, MD,' gives authentic voice to the beleagured narrator and protagonist in David Morrell's latest thriller. Brad Denning, it would seem, has it all - a terrific wife, Kate, a young son, Jason, and a top-of-the-heap career as an architect. Nonetheless, he is haunted. Years ago his younger brother, Petey, was lost. Petey had been 11-years-old, and Brad blames himself for the boy's disappearance. Then from out of nowhere a man presents himself at Brad's Colorado office with an astounding claim - he is Petey, the lost brother. At first it seems too incredible to be true, but then Brad puts aside his disbelief and accepts the man as Petey. A poor decision. Kate, Jason, and the presumed Petey disappear. The police and FBI are stumped. It's up to Brad to find his family and discover why they have disappeared. Is that really Petey? The story is in the hunt.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have been a FAN of David Morrell since I read 'First Blood'(and I read it years before the movie). However this latest book was a disappointment. The story lacked continuity. It skipped around, instead of just enjoying the story, I had to constantly remember where within the story the characters were. As an example, following the abduction of his family, the next six months of the story are compressed down to 10-20 pages. The main Character's 'mythical' journey to retrace his brother's escape put the book almost in the realm of Fantasy. All in all, if I hadn't paid 25.00 bucks for the book, I wouldn't have bothered to finish it. If Mr Morrell reads this. please answer this question. In the book 'The League Of The Night and Fog' the attack on Saul at the Kibbutz was never really explained. At the end of the book the four main characters return to the Kibbitz to defend it, but against who? and why?
harstan More than 1 year ago
As the older sibling thirteen-year-old Brad Denning knew he was responsible for his kid brother nine-year-old tag along Petey. However, his friends encouraged Brad to send Petey home. So Brad told Petey to leave. The sobbing preadolescent biked away. However, when Brad returned home for supper he learns that Petey did not come home. Frantically their parents called friends and the police, but the skinny little kid never came home. Nearing forty, Brad is married, has a son, and has a successful architect career, but remains guilt stricken by the sobbing of a LONG LOST nine year old. Desperate for closure he appeals on TV for Petey to come home. In Denver, a mangy looking construction worker calls Brad by name insisting he is Petey. Though initially skeptical, Brad begins to believe him because this guy knows insider things about Brad and their parents. Brad takes Petey home, where his wife and son warmly welcome him.

While camping, Petey shoves Brad off the edge of a cliff before abducting his sister-in-law and nephew. Brad survives and begins an odyssey to rescue his family from the avenging serpent.

LONG LOST is a taut suspense thriller that hooks readers from the very first line until the one sitting tale is finished. Though Petey's revenge seems extreme, especially the events he committed after he left his brother for dead, the suspenseful plot thoroughly retains its grip on the reader. David Morrell has furnished a powerful haunting thriller with a frightening ending that just adds to the depth of a hard to forget novel

Harriet Klausner