×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lord Foulgrin's Letters
     

Lord Foulgrin's Letters

4.7 13
by Randy Alcorn, Randy Alcorn
 

See All Formats & Editions

This repack of Randy Alcorn's gripping bestseller delivers us from ignorance of the devil's schemes. Foulgrin, a high-ranking demon, instructs his subordinate on how to deceive and destroy Jordan Fletcher and his family. It's like placing a bugging device in hell's war room, where we overhear our enemies assessing our weaknesses and strategizing attack. Lord

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lord Foulgrin's Letters 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Smilingsally More than 1 year ago
I've heard about this book many times, but I've never had the opportunity to read it. When my pastor recently preached a series of messages about the work of Satan, he recommended everyone read this book. I checked this copy out from my local library. The novel is written much like C.S. Lewis's The Screwtape Letters, which I read many years ago. Lord Foulgrin writes to instruct, encourage, and threaten Squaltaint, his underling, a demon in charge of tempting, deceiving, and guiding the human, Jordan Fletcher into sin. Truths from the Bible permeate the pages which show the behind-the-scenes spiritual battle waging all around us. Interspersed between each letter is a story about the life of Jordan. The characters are quite believable--a family of four, struggling with their complex lives. The pace of the plot keeps the pages turning. It was hard to put down. It made this reader pause and think more deeply about the things of God. I am so glad that I finally got around to reading this awesome classic. I highly recommend this book to Christians or nonbelievers.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was phenomenal. It also gave some great insight into the bible....views that I had not considered before.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Author Randy Alcorn holds up the mirror for the church in this novel of spiritual warfare. Like C. S. Lewis's demon Screwtape, Lord Foulgrin writes a series of letters to his assistant as he mentors the lesser demons in how to prevent people from embracing the Christian faith. The book is noteworthy both for its creativity and its subtle convicting power. Again and again, Foulgrin's letters pierce the facade of our culture's comfortable Christianity, hitting every moral issue of our time. For example, on moral responsibility, Foulgrin writes, 'What they most fear and despise is moral accountability. They'll gradly embrace any theory removing this built-in sense they must answer for how they've lived.' It's a riveting read, with redemptive value.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If Mr. C.S. Lewis was still here in his clay earth suit, I believe he would say to Mr. Randy Alcorn, 'Very well done, little brother.' Randy Alcorn's latest work, Lord Foulgrin's Letters, is excellent. It's been a wake up call to me that the battlefield all around me is as active as ever. I feel it is a must for every Christian. I have gained so much from each of Randy Alcorn's books. Deadline was my first exposure to Mr. Alcorn's literary gift. Then, its sequel Dominion was my good fortune to read. Both were checkouts from the library, but now I am the proud owner of Deadline which I just finished reading for the second time. Would like to reread Dominion also. I am captivated by this wonderful author's descriptions of heaven. Even if they are not totally accurate as none of us will know till we've been there, he has expanded my imagination of heaven and in wonderful hope. God's Word says that eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor has it entered into the heart (or imagination) of man what He has prepared for those that love Him. In other words, in our wildest, most colorful and creative imagnations, what any of us imagines is just a dim picture compared to the actuality of it. Also, God's Word says we (believers) have the mind of Christ. If this be so (and it must be if He said it), then is it not likely that some inkling of what it is like has come into the mind of our brother, Randy Alcorn. I believe so. Mr. Alcorn, please keep your heart and imagination open to Christ so He can speak to us through your work and ministry. P.S. Edge of Eternity is just a sixstar book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Randy Alcorn has come up with another Christian book that falls clearly into the category of 'contemporary literature'. His modern day allegory Edge of Eternity combined the brilliance of Pilgrim's Progress with the readability of The Hobbit. Alcorn's newest offering, Lord Foulgrin's Letters is styled after C.S. Lewis' Screwtape Letters. Foulgrin's frustration in mentoring a minor demon named Squaltaint makes for some excellent humor while subtly revealing our earthly vulnerabilities. For a good read and an enlightening experience I recommend Lord Foulgrin's Letters to all my friends. I am sure I will read it again and again as I have Edge of Eternity.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a creative and thought-provoking book. I eagerly await every new book by Randy Alcorn. This one affected me deeply, changing the way I think and the way I live.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Randy Alcorn's book is similar to the CS Lewis classic yet takes the concept of letters between demons to another level. Alcorn incorporates the story of the tempted between the letters. The letters between the demons also seem more applicable to our times than Lewis' book. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for an engaging novel that will make them think about spiritual matters they may have never thought of before. This book is incredible!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the quintessential book for grasping the psychology of 'the real world'. We don't 'see' everything that's out there, but in these pages you will find a plethora of clues to what is really 'going on' !! Don't miss this one !!!