×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John Grey Series)
     

Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John Grey Series)

3.6 177
by Diana Gabaldon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Adored bestselling author Diana Gabaldon brings us the first book in a new trilogy featuring many of the characters from her wildly popular Outlander series.
In her New York Times bestselling Outlander novels, Diana Gabaldon introduced millions of readers to a dazzling world of history and adventure -- a world of vibrant settings and utterly unforgettable

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lord John and the Private Matter (Lord John Grey Series) 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 177 reviews.
bookloverJS More than 1 year ago
This book took me about 16 pages to get into. I did have to re-read a few paragraphs, as my mind started to wander. After that, though, I really enjoyed the story. I enjoy Lord John as a character. He has a quick, dry wit. He is kind and considerate of others. He is intelligent and likable. I thought the story went along in true DG fashion, lot's of coincidences and character connexions (as it's spelled in this series). As for it being gay porn, I suppose if you consider the mildest love scene to be porn, then you shouldn't be reading DG AT ALL. The love scenes between her heterosexual couples are much more explicit than the single, short, fade to black scene in this book (I can't comment on subsequent books in this series; I haven't read them yet). Who cares about the fact that the sex in this book is "gay sex"? There is sex in DG's books. All her main characters have it. Lord John is a main character. He is gay. He has sex. Frankly, I had been feeling a bit sorry for him, as he had no love interest, just pining for Jamie Fraser all the time, poor guy. So I was actually happy for him to have got a little "action" so to speak. Moving on... As an aside, as a fan of the Outlander series I was pleased to meet Nessie for the first time with Lord John. She is introduced in the Outlander series in book 7. Dottie is also introduced here as a child. That was fun for me. In closing, I would not recommend this story to my 73-year-old mother (or any of DG's books, for that matter), but I do recommend it to most other historical fiction fans. It's relatively short, and easy to read. And I look forward to the next one!
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1757, Major John Grey, an aristocrat concludes he must end his cousin Olivia¿s engagement to John Trevelyn because he knows the man suffers from the pox. After consulting on the delicate matter with his military superior, Colonel Quarry also assigns John to investigate stolen ordnance requisitions, which unless recovered will force the English armies on the continent to make costly relocations to avoid massacres.

John begins his inquiries with the homicide of soldier Timothy O¿Connell who is the prime suspect. Evidence takes John to a whorehouse and subsequently to a gay gentleman¿s house, Lavender House that he knows intimately from five years ago. He continues to follow the trail that leads to a small specialty wine shop and from there to the murder of a wine maker wearing a dress. As he closes in on the military case, he makes major progress on the personal matter too, but does not realizing the two connect. John forces the end of Joseph¿s engagement to Olivia, but also is drugged by the man.

Though readers need to understand that this is not a romance and the likable hero has a gay encounter, the novel still is the typical Gabaldon book. The insightful Georgian espionage mystery is rich with a taste for the era, but not just the typical kind found in mid eighteenth century novels. John, who has appeared in previous novels such as THE FIERY CROSS, is a delightful hero and the support cast adds depth to the era and to the suspense including a rather surprising heterosexual love story.

Harriet Klausner

Guest More than 1 year ago
First of all: this is NOT a romance novel, so don't buy it if that is what you are looking for. The book focuses on Lord John Grey, who has returned from his exile only to accidentaly discover that his cousin's fiancé suffers from syphilis. He decides to investigate the afair and, if necessary, prevent the marriage, only to discover that more is amiss... The book is well-written, the plot intriguing and most characters are complex - what's not to love about this book?
Victorianne More than 1 year ago
I am a fan of Diana Gabaldon. Lord John and the Private Matter is a spin off from her Outlander Series which was recommended to me by a friend. While she has major talent and was going somewhere with this book it fell short. It seems as though it wasn't thoughtfully put together. Seemingly, Lord John is not the character we'd hoped he'd be in this book. There was an expectation to his investigative ability as he is educated and an officer, however, he came off 2D in this book. He only followed clues and was assaulted in some form or another, rather than putting clues together and solving a mystery. The plot is revealed in a run-on sentence in the end and the anti-climax is muddled. I expected more, but won't give up, I will probably read the next in this series just to see if it gets better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ms. Gabaldon portrays Lord John in an engaging believable manner. She mixes realistic historical setting with balanced characterizations. Lord John is a well-rounded individual who, while he is gay, is a balanced, healthy protrayal of a man of his time and class.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I expected the same level of character development and plot twists and turns as are in the Outlander series. I kept on reading and finished it, but I never really "got into it". The story just plodded along and never really grabbed me. I don't plan to read the rest of the books in this series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
After devouring the Outlander series I never considered that Diana could bore me. I'm sorry but I couldn't finish this book. I'm eagerly waiting for the next installment of Claire and Jamie.
Guest More than 1 year ago
To be honest, I dislike time travel romances in general, and this author never changed my mind on the matter. However, the books about Lord John are spectacular. I cannot understand why Gabaldon's other fans are not jumping for joy over Lord John's adventures. The mystery is convoluted, yet exciting, and what the reader learns about being gay in the 18th century is thought-provoking. I would much rather read any of the Lord John trilogy than one of the Outlander series.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this to be a wonderful read and full of Ms. Gabaldon's signature style. Those who were looking for a romance like her other series could not have read the dust jacket or any of the numerous websites featuring Diana Gabaldon's latest book. This was another of her thoroughly researched stories and the descriptions made me lose myself in another place in time. Again, anyone looking for a rich, detailed story with well defined characters that doesn't fit into the cliches of any certain genre will enjoy this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first thing to know about this book is it is not a romance novel. Nor is it a time travel book. This is a great mystery novel, placed in a historical setting. Diana Gabaldon has done her home work [as always] and has provided a rousing good mystery. The ending was a complete surprise or I may just be out of practice. This book is of the same quality as the Outlander series, covers a great character and mentioned 'dear Jamie'. Just don't come looking for an installment in that series. This book stands on its own and is a very enjoyable read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is really a 'must-read' for all Outlander fans - and you can do it in about half the time as this 'short story' is only about 300 pages long!! Lord John has been one of my favorite minor characters throughout the Outlander Series and this book will give you more insight into his true character when he takes center stage in a murder-mystery. This is a nice change of pace and was an exciting shift from the main story line. But, in true Gabaldon style, the seemingly unrelated paths merge and twist into a very surprising ending. She introduces some very likeable characters and others that are of a little more questionable nature - but the ending will leave your mind reeling...
hillarity More than 1 year ago
but all comes together at the end. looking forward to the rest of the series
OutlanderfanWI More than 1 year ago
As thrilling as the Outlander series is, Diana dropped the ball with the Lord John series. The plots are endlessly wordy and boring. Its funny that the premise is a good idea but the writing is redundant. Luckily I love the Outlander characters and am reading the books a second time through as years have passed between books so they are like new again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved Gabaldon's outlander series. I couldn't wait to read this new book. I found it boring and had to force myself to finish it. I would have rather had Gabaldon spin off one of the more interesting characters in the Outlander series like Fergus or Ian
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book does not deserve the low ratings others have given it. Yes it is not along the lines of the Outlander Series, but guess what it's NOT suppose to be. This 'short' story for Gabaldon is a twisting mystery set in London and focuses on Lord John Gray. It doesn't go about redeeming the charater, just gives illumitation to him. It's a good short novel to breeze through when the chance is available.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Diana Gabaldon but did not at all enjoy this book. It was too full of musings and too devoid of emotion. It lacked the humor and delicious nuances that I have come to expect of this author, the book fell far short of my expectations. I feel it failed utterly as a mystery and quite failed to keep my attention at all. It was a chore to finish it, so unlike what I have come to expect from Diana Gabaldon. I found it very disappointing and would not purchase another book based on this character.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you are a Gabaldon fan and really are interested in reading this book. Get it from your local library don't waste your money on it. It is not at all as compelling at her Outlander series, (and yes I do know that it was not another Jamie and Claire book) nothing at all to sink your teeth into. I couldn't even finish the book, I kept waiting for it to get better, but it never did. I gave up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
True to form, such descriptive writing! (could 'feel' the disgusting slime on Johns' coat), but the content was difficult to follow as there seemed to be too many story lines, with too little time to follow each one. The book simply seemed to be a 'taste' of something to come and left me feeling empty and shortchanged. Lord John Grey is an important character in the 'Outlander' series, but without the time to expound on his own life and history in this book, other than his sexual preference, not much more is learned of him. Moved too fast, too many characters, not enough depth.
Varnerd More than 1 year ago
I liked this book, but did not love it like I have Claire and Jamie's story thus far (remember I am reading in chronological order!).  I thought this story was much better than the first novella regarding Lord Grey as this story answers all the questions, completes the purpose of the story and opens up the path for the next adventure of Lord Grey.  As always the writing is rich, complex and very descriptive.  I felt I knew the characters, could see the locations, outfits, etc.  I appreciated the realism given the scare and horror of having the pox and thought it was a genius way of showing medicine and science in the book through the malaria approach.  I enjoyed the introduction of more characters and hope to see more of Lord Grey's mom (she cracks me up).  Also the title entertains me immensely upon completing the story! So why did I like and not love the book..well it sounds silly, but I felt it was rushed.  There were so many descriptions and details and location and somehow it just was like fixed within a blink of the eye.  Also I, as I mentioned before, thought it was odd that so many of the men that so many people know, enjoy other men but it is all nudge nudge wink wink.  A more historical approach to addressing if this is factual, just fiction, etc. would be informative.  I do appreciate the information at the back of the book that describes where the information such as the lavender house, mollies, etc. comes, but it just seems in Lord Grey's stories that the majority of men like men and nothing else. My confusion could be that most of my reading from that era has been romance where it is the dashing lord, the strong debutante, etc., but who knows, it does add to the story line and tie Lord Grey back into the Fraser stories! Would I recommend this book?  Most certainly I think it is well written, richly detailed and creates a more descriptive environment for us to imagine Lord Grey and the Frasers!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of Diana Gabaldon, but this is Gabaldon light.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you loved the Outlander series, you will enjoy the Lord John series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love all the characters in the Outlander Series. Lord John is one of my favorites. Diana Gabaldon knows how to write an excellent story. I would read anything written by her!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
nutmegrose More than 1 year ago
This book is a must read for any Outlander follower. It gives you a great insight into the life of John Grey and helps you to understand his relationship with Jamie Fraser and his personal life and drives more. I recommend this book highly.