×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lord of Darkness (Maiden Lane Series #5)
     

Lord of Darkness (Maiden Lane Series #5)

4.2 51
by Elizabeth Hoyt
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Elizabeth Hoyt has outdone herself." — Jennifer Ashley, New York Times bestselling author

WHEN STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT

He lives in the shadows. As the mysterious masked avenger known as the Ghost of St. Giles, Godric St. John's only goal is to protect the innocent of London. Until the night he confronts a fearless young lady

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lord of Darkness 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 51 reviews.
fishgirl182 More than 1 year ago
I am pretty new to the Maiden Lane series and became a fan of Elizabeth Hoyt after reading Thief of Shadows last year. Full of mystery, adventure, and passionate romance, this has quickly become one of my favorite historical romance series. As such, I was very excited to receive an e-galley of the newest book Lord of Darkness. Fans will recognize Megs and Godric from Thief of Shadows, where Meg's secret lover was killed - supposedly by the Ghost of St. Giles. In the wake of that tragedy, Godric marries Megs to save her from scandal. Megs has remained in the country for the past couple of years but now returns to London with two goals in mind. One, she must seduce her husband and get with child and second, she must get vengeance for her lover's death. While I enjoyed Lord of Darkness, it didn't grab me like the other books in the series. Megs and Godric were both admirable, if somewhat stubborn characters. Both have felt love before and have felt its terrible loss. And both are determined never to betray that love by feeling it again with each other. I wanted to shake both of them at times because they kept pushing each other away. I think Godric came around quicker than Megs though and I was somewhat annoyed at her for waiting until the last possible moment to tell her she loved him. Once they started coming around though, I really enjoyed their romance. Hoyt definitely knows how to write a steamy love scene and Megs and Godric are quite a passionate pair once they let down their guard. I also liked that this wasn't a conventional romance. It was hard watching Godric and Megs struggle with the  guilt over their new feelings. This book is about second chances and embracing life. I think Godric's wife and Megs's lover would have been happy that they found love again. Though this wasn't my favorite Maiden Lane book, Lord of Darkness is a solid entry in the series and is an engaging and entertaining read. I enjoyed getting to know Megs and Godric and was glad that these two found their happy ending. The book can be read as a standalone though you'll probably enjoy it a bit more if you have some back story on the series. Or you can be like me and start in the middle and then go back and read everything else (because you'll want to). Lord of Darkness also includes a brief excerpt from Duke of Midnight, the next book in the Maiden Lane series. It stars Artemis Greaves and the Duke of Wakefield and sounds fantastic. I am already looking forward to it. :) *I received this book free of charge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This, in no way, affected my opinion or review of this book.
Alyssa75 More than 1 year ago
***Review posted at The Eater of Books! blog*** Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt Book Five of the Maiden Lane series Publisher: Grand Central Publishing Publication Date: February 26, 2013 Rating: 4 stars Source: eARC from NetGalley ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers*** Summary (from Goodreads): When Strangers In The Night He lives in the shadows. As the mysterious masked avenger known as the Ghost of St. Giles, Godric St. John's only goal is to protect the innocent of London. Until the night he confronts a fearless young lady pointing a pistol at his head—and realizes she is his wife. Become Lovers... Lady Margaret Reading has vowed to kill the Ghost of St. Giles—the man who murdered her one true love. Returning to London, and to the man she hasn't seen since their wedding day, Margaret does not recognize the man behind the mask. Fierce, commanding, and dangerous, the notorious Ghost of St. Giles is everything she feared he would be—and so much more. Desire Is The Ultimate Danger When passion flares, these two intimate strangers can't keep from revealing more of themselves than they had ever planned. But when Margaret learns the truth—that the Ghost is her husband—the game is up and the players must surrender...to the temptation that could destroy them both. What I Liked: Let me start by saying that I had NO IDEA that this book was the fifth of a series. Therefore, when I found out that there were four novels before it, I was scared that I had requested a book, and I wouldn't be able to understand what was going on. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that when I began reading the book, I understand everything like this was a standalone novel! I searched the other books and realized that while this book is the fifth in the series, each of the books are companion novels, not novels that build on each other. So, you can read this book without reading the others! I love the two protagonists of this book. This book is written in third person limited, in which readers get to read from Margaret's side, and from Godric's side. I really like Godric, especially because of what he tries to do during the night - save children from "lassie snatchers", and other heroic deeds. Godric handles Margaret's intrusion very well, as well as all of her shenanigans (and trust me, she has very many of those). I think Godric is very noble, as he complies to Margaret's requests, even though they are not really the normal husband and wife. He isn't your typical historical romance male - he is tortured, bitter, and closed-off, and yet, he is stoic, understanding, and very courageous.  I liked Margaret less than I liked Godric, but by no means did I not like her. She is such a vibrant person, quite the contrast to Godric's aloofness. She never gives up, and even resorts to strange measures to try to convince Godric to do as she asks. I think that her past and her problems are just as hurtful as Godric's, and I really like how she handles her past, and moves on for Godric. This relationship, between Margaret and Godric, is not your typical historical romance relationship of lust, and then love. Godric does not show affection of lust towards Margaret for a good deal of the book. Margaret shows almost no sexual attraction to Godric for part of the book as well. The relationship between the two is so complex, because both of them have been through some much in terms of past love. I like how Hoyt allows these two characters to explore their feelings, but in a subtle, personal way. We don't really see the "romance" part of the book until deep into the book. But that did not make this book any less of a romance novel. I think I enjoyed this one so much because everything didn't go straight to lust and attraction and sex. The depth of emotions and feelings on Godric's part and on Margaret's part made their relationship very slowly built, but very strongly built. Have I said enough? I love historical fiction, and historical romance is pretty much the only adult genre that I like in the adult age level (right now?). This book did not let me down. What I Did Not Like: Umm, there really was not much that I did not like. I really did not like how Margaret would use Godric, but I completely understand why she did (it still bothered me though). I did not like the completely random times towards the end when the author would place a part of the book in Lady Artemis's point-of-view. I don't even know who Lady Artemis is! There were two times (there could have been a few more)when the story would take a random turn to her thoughts, and I would just ignore those parts. I believe they are hinting towards the next book, but I don't think that those passages and point-of-view switches are at all necessary. Would I Recommend It: YES! Calling all historical romance lovers! This book is definitely for you! And I didn't mention this, but believe me, the hot scenes are, well, just that: HOT. Rating: 4 stars. If you like historical romance, don't miss this one!
AustenStudent More than 1 year ago
Grief stricken widower and recluse, Godric St. John, married Megs—sister of Griffin from Notorious Pleasures— in order to legitimize her pregnancy after her lover, Roger, was murdered in St. Giles. Megs has always believed that the mysterious Ghost of St. Giles was Roger’s killer. The Ghost is sort of a Batman figure, who roams the dangerous streets of this violent and impoverished London neighborhood, protecting the innocent and killing those who mean to do them harm. So Megs has held a grudge against the Ghost for over two years and has vowed to avenge Roger’s death. That’s one of the reasons she has returned to London from Godric’s country estate. That and she also now desperately wants to have a child with the serious and distant husband she hasn’t seen since their hasty marriage. They strike a bargain: he’ll give her a baby if she’ll stop pursuing the dangerous search for Roger’s killer. There’s also a syndicate of “lassie snatchers” who steal homeless children and abuse them in workhouses. Poor Godric. He’s so heartbroken after his first wife’s very long and painful death. He hides in his old and unkempt London townhouse and has been a shell of a man since her death, his only activity being the Ghost of St. Giles.  When Megs discovers his secret, she and Godric work together to solve the mystery of Roger’s death. And Godric slowly heals with Megs’ vibrancy, light, beauty, and joyfulness. I love how Megs brings her silly Aunt Elvina as well as Godric’s estranged step-mother and sisters to London, filling his empty neglected Town house with love and laughter. This is a story about the healing power of love, human contact, and socialization. “Couldn’t they see that he was so broken nothing would fix him?” (p29) This story reminds me of the heartbroken souls of Colonel Brandon and Marianne Dashwood in Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility, when both doubted the authenticity of second attachments, only to be proven wrong in the end. As in all the Maiden Lane stories, there are hints of the next book to come. I recommend reading this series in order for character development as well as plot progression. Elizabeth Hoyt brings to vivid life the gritty and raw streets of London in the Georgian era, the great disparity between the very rich and the very poor, and the sensual pull of breathless romantic attraction. A wonderful story rich in history and romance.
Crazybooknerd 12 months ago
Lord of Darkness by Elizabeth Hoyt (Audio Edition) Narrated by Emma Taylor Maiden Lane #5 3.5 Stars - This story while good enough to listen to, seems to almost be a repeat of the last book. Another Ghost of St.Giles who is still on the hunt for the Lassie Snatchers, etc. Which I think made me become a bit bored. Godric and Margaret had good chemistry, but when the last quarter of the book seemed to be just them having sex over and over, I found they lost some of it. However, I also think the narrator had a part in this too. Her voice was ok to listen too but I didn't seem to get the emotions out of her as I did with McNab who had narrated the previous books. Now while I felt Emma Taylor wasn’t as good as Ashford McNab.. I don't think she's as bad as other reviewers make her sound…I for one, have listened to worse. She does pause in odd spots during the sentence and pronounces words differently (ie Sin-Jun she says Saint John) but I got used to her and was able to finish the book. I am hesitant to read the next book as it, yet again, has another Ghost of St.Giles. If I am being honest here, the first man was the best ghost so far. And now that SO many people know about Godric being the ghost, I find it hard to believe that he is still a mystery. I will have to read up some reviews and see what people have to say about the next book.
Hfowler More than 1 year ago
Godric St. John is a character we met in book one; a dark, brooding, and sad man. Since meeting him, his true love has succumbed to the illness that she contrived 1 year after their marriage. He is also remarried. He has been blackmailed into marrying Lady Margaret, though she does not know this till later on in this book. She has come to London for two things since her marriage to Godric two years prior; she wants vengeance for her lover's death, and she wants her husband to get her with child. Their love story is at times tragic; here are two people who were in love with other people, yet find themselves married to each other. At other times, they seem to breath life and love back into each other. Together they search out her lover's murderer and she helps Godric to live again. The plot was steady and the villain was not obvious, which is always good. The ending was beautiful and I was very happy to see these two people find happiness and love a second time in their lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cool :D
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PrincessThuy1 More than 1 year ago
This is the first Maiden Lane Series book I have read. I've read other books by Elizabeth Hoyt but for some reason I haven't started the Maiden Lane series yet but after reading Lord of Darkness I will definitely go back and start the series from beginning to end. So this story starts out a bit confusing because I didn't know that there was more than one Ghost of St. Giles defending the streets of London. From reading excerpts from other Maiden Lane books I knew the heroes from previous books were also the Ghost of St. Giles but it gets explained as you continue reading. So once I got passed that and the fact that the story takes place during the late 1700's (for some reason I just don't like the whole men wearing powdered wigs during that time in England) I really liked the story. It was well written and story sucked me in because I was trying to figure out the mystery along with Godric and Megs. I also loved watching the love develop between these two people who were both hung up on their previous loves that they didn't think they were able to love again so deeply. It was great read. I totally recommend it. But if you're like me it would probably be better to start with the first book in the series then continue on. There are a lot of characters that are mentioned in this book that had previous books but I had no idea who they were. Of course I relied heavily on Ms. Hoyt's website and her family trees to keep track of who's related to whom. But that's just me. I like to know how everyone is connected.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book didn't want it to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MADreaderMD More than 1 year ago
I love the Maiden Lane series, and this is a great story in that line. At the end of Thief of Shadows, Megs had had to marry Godric St. John after her lover (and father of her child) Roger had been murdered. Megs retired to the country and hasn't seen Godric since. Now she's back, turning Godric's musty household upside down and inside out! She wants to find Roger's murderer, who she thinks is the Ghost of St. Giles. Godric, still grieving for his first wife, only agreed to the marriage because Megs' brother blackmailed him. He just wants to keep being the Ghost and helping the unfortunate citizens of St. Giles. Now they've got to learn to live together and to work together to find the truth. There are some heartwrenching scenes as each tries to deal with their own grief, but it is well worth it to see them work through their loss and learn to love each other.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love love love Elizabeth Hoyt and all her books. This is another great read in the Maiden Lane Series and I recommend all of them, 
acade More than 1 year ago
Oooo so, so, so many things I liked about this one. It was my first time reading Hoyt and, yeah, she's got a new fan. She had me right from the start with a bit of action and what turned out to be a marriage of connivence which, hello, one of my favorite set ups! The hitch in this one? Well, they're "married" but they haven't laid eyes on each other in the 2 years since their wedding day until one night on a dark road the chit holds him up at gun point. Talk about a dramatic reunion! lol I loved both Godric and Margaret. He's an older hero coming in at 37 which I thought was a nice change of pace. He's grouchy and curt compared to her lively and exuberant nature which was...entertaining as she invades his quiet life in London, starts renovating his home and sets out to have his baby. They're such a pair together and really fit even with all of their differences. There were a couple different things going on here that all sort of mesh together. Godric's hidden role as the Ghost of St Giles, who is a vigilante and goes about eliminating London's criminals and saving innocents, Margaret's determination to kill the Ghost of St Giles thinking him responsible for her fiance's death years earlier, a new dilemma of "lassie snatchers" stealing little girls and Godric investigating and then of course the coming together of Godric and Margaret. It's a packed storyline but it all moves so well together and keeps things exciting. Things are a little different between Godric and Margaret. Before their quickie marriage of convenience they both lost the loves of their lives and they both still deeply mourn their losses. They both struggle a good deal being around each other, dealing with the attraction and feeling of guilt that they're betraying their former loves. There were some very awkward and heart breaking moments between them and man I ached for them both. Their journey wasn't an easy one at all but it was wonderfully done and Hoyt really made me feel their inner battles. Heat-wise. Things were very uncomfortable at first due to their relationship and all the baggage. It wasn't hot or sexy but rather heart breaking and I think very fitting for them and who they were. Now, when Godric finally took control of things and forced them to deal and acknowledge what was between them, holy, it was GOOD! I really enjoyed almost everything about the book but there was one thing that kept it from hitting 5 starts for me and that was the set up for the next book.I loved the actual tidbits we got and am really excited about getting to read the story. I even popped online while reading to make sure the couple was who I hoped they'd be. My problem with it was that it wasn't a smooth inclusion in the overall storyline. The transition from the main story to the secondary was very abrupt with no lead in. It just felt awkward and pulled me out of the storyline. I'm not sure if that's Hoyt's typical style or if it had something to do with me not starting the series at the beginning or what. But it was something that stuck out for me. Regardless though I am really freaking excited to read the next book in the series because the characters sound excellent. A Duke and a Companion that is far below his status. Overall though this was an awesome story and one that has me eager to check out the rest of the series. I loved the characters and that their story really wasn't average or typical in any way. If you enjoy a good historical romance that'll get your emotions involved and have you cheering for the hero and heroine when they finally get it together this is one you should definitely pick up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is great! I've enjoyed each and every one :) In my experience, most authors of serials in the regency romance genre eventually peter out by the time they get to the fifth book. That's why I've always preferred stand-alone books to series. But not so with this author! She keeps producing top-notch stories. Highly recommend!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
emberbun13 More than 1 year ago
Godric does a really good imitation of Batman(Ghost of St.Giles) The story is moving and sexy.