×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Los Gatos Black on Halloween
     

Los Gatos Black on Halloween

4.5 8
by Marisa Montes, Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Follow los monstruos and los esqueletos to the Halloween party in this bilingual poem written by Marisa Montes, with illustrations by award-winning author and illustrator Yuyi Morales

Under October's luna, full and bright, the monsters are throwing a ball in the Haunted Hall. Las brujas come on their broomsticks. Los muertos rise from

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Los Gatos Black on Halloween 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
pinkystar06 More than 1 year ago
Fun read for Halloween!! I enjoyed the way this book had Spanish and English words. When Spanish was spoken it even had the English word in the next line or couple of words to help you translate. It's a great book for Halloween and it isn't to scary for kids!
HMatthew More than 1 year ago
Los Gatos Black on Halloween is wonderful picture book with a storyline that incorporates spanish words into the rhyming text. Even for non-spanish speaking children reading this book it is not hard understanding the spanish words because they are so perfectly placed into the english text, and if you are still guessing at a word there is a glossary in the back of the book. The use of spanish words can only enhance and enlighten the minds of the children who read this picture book. In the book we see all these monsters, ghosts, witches, and vampires coming together on Halloween night to." throw a monstrous ball." When there is a knock at the door and we see that it is just a couple of children trick-or-treating, we learn that it is not the children that should be scared of monsters on Halloween because it is in fact the monsters who are scared of the little children! The dark ominous illustrations give the book the right eerie "Halloween" feel and only enhance the text even further bringing the reader into this spine-chilling world. I can not wait for Halloween to come around this year because I know this book will be read in my house to get everyone, even the adults into the holiday spirit.
JMIKELABS More than 1 year ago
Los Gatos Black on Halloween definitely deserved the Pura Bulpre Award. The dark color scheme brings the story to life and gives it that Halloween edge. The way that they imerse the spanish words into the story is awesome. I love the fact that both english speaking children and spanish speaking children get the chance to read and understand the story. English speakers get that bonus of having the definitions of the spanish words at the end of the story. The story has a great flow to it and you don't even realize that you are reading a spanish word. The detail in the illustrations are so beautiful. It's almost as if you are really there. On Halloween night, black cats, witches, skeletons, ghosts, vampires, werewolves and corpses all come out and gather at the haunted mansion. There's dancing, socializing, music and they are just literally having a ball. In the midst of all this fun, there's a knock at the door. It's the one thing that they are truly afraid of, human children! Isn't that a weird twist. Who would have ever thought that these ghosts and goblins would actually be afraid of humans. That's why sometimes things aren't what they seem.
ElsVermeersch More than 1 year ago
This book is a jewel... the text,the drawings, layout... It is even inspiring for a Halloween play !!!! We've had it for two years and even out of the Halloween season my daughters still want to read it !! My oldest of 8 memorized part of the text and used it to go and tell the neighbors instead of the classical "trick or treat" rhyme on Halloween eve!! They loved it!!! This book should be on the top list for Halloween!!
Shannett More than 1 year ago
This is definitely a great for children of any age who arent easily scared. Not only is the the authors writting style awesome! the illustrations just take it to a whole new level. Now back to the writting style. The author incorporates spanish in a way that introduces non-spanish speaking children to a whole new language, its easy to understand because the spanish compliments the english. I would reccommend this anyone who wants to have the halloween experience all year round. However i would reccomend it to any child who is easily frightned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This picture book has a wonderful rhyming storyline about the different monsters that come out on Halloween night including little ninos (children). "Los Gatos Black on Halloween" Author Marisa Montes incorporates Spanish words into the book not only for end rhyme purposes but also to introduce a second language to children. This book could be used for enhancement or for a familiarity basis. Montes adds in Spanish words and then follows them with the English word in the next sentence to help non-Spanish speaking readers understand the story. Not only does the book provide these sentences to help the reader but it also includes a glossary at the end of the book to facilitate pronunciation and meaning of the Spanish words.
ashleyutsa More than 1 year ago
Oh my goodness, this book is absolutely great! I loved reading every page and pronouncing the spanish words. The spanish words are not hard to guess as to what they mean because there are context clues to help you understand them. There is also a glossary in the back of the book for you look up the spanish words if you cannot figure them out or need a reference. The story is about different kinds of monsters (i.e. witches, zombies, werewolves) who all make their way together into a mansion when someone knocks on the door. The trick or treating children are the ones knocking on the door and the monsters are scared of them! It was a cute little twist because children are supposed to afraid of monsters. Also, the illustrations are fantastic and although dark and somber in the spirt of Halloween, they sure do light up the text. One thing I did not expect was for it to be a rhyming book. I love rhyming books and this book would be great for a teacher or parent who is teaching their students ro children how to rhyme. All in all this book is great for children and adults of any age to get into that Halloween spirit.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Montes, Marisa, Los Gatos Black on Halloween New York: Henry Holt and Company, LLC, 2006 Illus. by Yuyi Morales. ISBN-13: 978-0-8050-7429-1 In her latest award-winning book, Montes (Juan Bobo goes to Work) tells the rhyming story about Halloween that incorporates Spanish words with English. Each page describes the different creatures that come out of hiding to attend the monster ball. The vivid descriptions and rhyming words allow the reader to really dive into this book. The surprise ending offers a twist to the story that puts at ease children who might have been scared by this tale. It allows them to see that monsters really aren¿t that scary. The illustrations by Morales (Just a Minute: A Trickster Tale and Counting Book) are incredible and show her childhood in Mexico. In fact, they are the best part of the book. The rich colors and great attention to detail grab children¿s attention and give them a lot to look at. They add fun to the story and let the readers use their imagination as well. Though this story is great for older children, it is one to be careful about with the younger ones, as it might cause their imaginations to run a little too wild. But what is a Halloween book for if not to scare us! Trick or Treat? Definitely a treat. Mallory Texas Tech University