×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick's Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption
     

The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick's Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption

4.3 145
by Jim Gorant
 

See All Formats & Editions

The bestselling story of survival and our powerful bond with man's best friend, in the aftermath of the nation's most notorious animal cruelty case. Featuring a new Afterword with updates on the Vick dogs.

Animal lovers and sports fans were shocked when the story broke about NFL player Michael Vick's brutal dog-fighting operation. But what became of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick's Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 145 reviews.
joelle818 More than 1 year ago
When I found out that this book was coming out, I couldn't wait to go buy it. I knew it would be a very hard book to read though. I also wanted to know what happened to the poor, defenseless, sweet, innocent dogs that were abused for absolutely no reason. I also want to read this book so I can educate others on what this monster, and his cohorts did to these doggies. So many people are quick to defend this piece of garbage, and don't even think about these innocent dogs who didn't deserve this. I want to tell everyone I see, or anyone I hear talking about him what disgusting, heartless, make you want to throw up, torture him, and do the things that he did to these poor dogs. I have only read up to page 20 so far. I cant believe what i am reading that was done to these dogs. My stomach turned. I thought I was going to throw up. I had to read it over again, because I couldn't believe what I just read. I thought I read it wrong. I wish I could have gone there and rescued all of them. This never should of happened. I know in the coming pages I am only going to read much worse. This is a perfect title for this book. These dogs do become lost. Once the media stops covering it everyone forgets about them. What about the dogs that lost their lives as a result of this? They lost their lives in such a terrible, unthinkable way. Now the surviving dogs have to live with the constant memories of this horrific experience. This book is a wonderful book that I think everyone should read. Dog fighting needs to stop. Animal fighting needs to stop. Animal abuse needs to stop. This book will definitely educate people on how horrible dog fighting is, and can help put an end to it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I picked up this book I didn't think the contents were going to be as graphic as they were! This was a very hard read if you are an animal lover, especially dogs. The things that these men did are horrendous. It is sad that people can just say "he paid his debt to society". I do not think that any amount of time that he spent in jail is enough much less that he is able to still make millions playing football. I don't think that any of these men should EVER be allowed to own another animal in their lifetime. This story was heartbreaking!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For a long time I was hesitant to read this book out of fear to learn of the horrors these poor animals went through, but I am so glad I finally relented. Their story and that of the people who helped them is a study in courage and perseverance in the face of terrible odds against them. Rather than being a gruesome accounting of all the atrocities that were visited on these dogs, although there was enough information relayed to paint a truly ugly picture of pathetic Vick and his cronies, this book turned out to be a touching account of the courage these dogs showed despite their circumstances. I was moved to tears many times, but also touched to know that these dogs received a chance at new lives where, even for a short time for some, they could flourish and exist in peace with people who gave them love. Thank you, Jim Gorant, for sharing their story. I highly recommend this to anyone, dog-owner or not.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first chapters are extremely difficult but needed to show the torture and inhumane treatment these dogs were subjected too. wish there had more on the dogs at Best Friends. There is no exucse for what Vick did and no redemption for this monster in my eyes. God bless those who stepped up and showed these wonderful dogs that the world is really not such a bad place.
MaryONY More than 1 year ago
I almost stopped reading this early on because Jim Gorant gave a "voice" to one of the dogs involved and it was sad. I continued on and am very glad that I did. The book is more about the dogs than Michael Vick, but still provides all the background information. It is very well researched and flows in easy to follow chronological order that held my interest throughout. It was nice to see that most of these poor innocent creatures were able to be saved. I admire the dedicated people, law enforcement and civilian, who worked so hard to rescue and socialize the dogs. I am a dog lover and the book helped me to understand their nature even more. This breed appears to be extremely loyal and has been the victim of bad treatment and alarmists. Right now I feel inspired to volunteer at a shelter to walk & socialize the pits. They seem to be the largest population of dogs at shelters. I am just afraid that I might walk them all home with me.
AP6 More than 1 year ago
I am a total animal lover and I recommend this book to people that are not animal lovers because you WILL convert! I am in love with the pit bull breed and will continue to only own that particular breed. This book will shine light on what this breed is truly about. I am honored that I get to experience this on a daily basis with my pit bull. What this book does is gives a fighting chance for the pit bull to once again be accepted in the public's eyes. These are the most misunderstood dogs and this book just proves it. This book does strike every emotion in the human body--so be prepared to stock up on some kleenex. This book is very well written and I love that a journalist wrote this book because it is very well researched. This was a great investment and I finished the book in three days. I could not put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like the headline says, at some point during this book, you will end up all teary eyed. My breakdown moment was at the start of the book when Gorant discusses what the "unlucky" dogs went through. Fair warning - Gorant does not hide what happened to the dogs and there were times when I was only able to go 2 or 3 pages and then have to put the book down and walk away (and go play with my dog to make me feel better). However, once you progress past the first part of the book, he goes on to tell how each dog was evaluated and the therapy that the dogs underwent. I was surprised that the evaluation team was hoping to save around 5 dogs from the 51 rescued from Bad Newz. 5 was considered successful! Luckily, WAY more than 5 found themselves being saved. I especially liked that at the end of the book, Gorant has added a paragraph or two on nearly every dog saved and what they are up to nowadays. All in all, I highly recommend this book - tough to read at first but so very rewarding at the end. It demonstrates just what a dog from some of the worst conditions is able to overcome and become the dog they were meant to be. Sidenote: I recently read an article about a couple who adopted one of the dogs now are parents and have an active toddler in the house. The best part? When the child goes down for a nap, the dog lays down outside the crib and will not leave until the nap is over. Now THAT is what a Pitt (and Pitt mixes!) really is. These dogs were once the "nanny dogs" and it isn't difficult to understand why!
Lori Nanan More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 2 sittings. I simply could not put it down. Jim Gorant perfectly captured all aspects if this story. I cried...hard at times...but expected to. Every tear was worth it. The hard work that was put into rehabilitating these dogs touched me beyond belief.
ValFL More than 1 year ago
In the 1980s it was the German Shepherds, the 1990s Dobermans and Rottweilers - now with the turn of the century America has turned on itself by vilifying the dog that represented her values during two world wars... The American Pit Bull Terrier. I read the article Mr. Gorant wrote in 2008 and when I saw this book was coming out I knew I had to read it. I need to find out what had happeneded since his article, since the Dogtown episodes and since the Silent Witness episode telling the story of those who didn't make it. I expected it to be tough reading, the graphic injuries are telling and prepare to feel sick when you read about how fighting dogs die - either from the jaws of other abused dogs to the long torturous and sadistic killings of their owners. This book shows the truth about the breed - that over 80% of the dogs bred from within these fighting lines can not be forced to be competitive in the ring. Guess what happens to those that fail to make the grade... And even after they have spent years being prodded and groomed and fought and wounded these dogs are still able to turn around and love their new friends and families. Sweet Jasmine on the cover, shows the story to perfection. Her scars are plain to see, but she's still hopeful and just wants to please. That is the only crime these dogs are guilty of - wanting to make their owners happy.
BeccaN More than 1 year ago
Jim Gorant's follow-up to his article in Sports Illustrated is a heartbreaking yet hopeful, hard-hitting, relentlessly researched story of what happened to the dogs rescued from Bad Newz Kennels, owned by Michael Vick. Divided into three sections, Rescue, Reclamation, and Redemption, the story takes you first into the woods of Virginia, then all over the country as it follows the survivors. The book simultaneously will have you crying over the suffering, then cheering (or crying) as the dogs rise above their past and move forward into promising futures (or not). Gorant does not spare the reader the cruelties suffered by these dogs but is not sensationalistic in the storytelling. Be sure to have a box of tissues with you- especially if you love dogs and other animals.
JSCLARK2610 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book looking to learn about the dogs and what exactly happened. The beginning was slow, and I didn't like the narration from the dog's perspective, as if these dogs just sat down with the author and told their story. What really happened was incredibly cruel. I also felt like the author was trying to downplay Vick's role in this incident. If you are interested in more than just the dogs this is a good book. Any sappy dog lover should beware. Everytime a dog died or was injured I bawled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just read this book today. I had tears in my eyes from the first page on. I think it was more than just facts on a case, seeing how the dogs actually come into their own is amazing, and in fact it is a book that anyone who loves dogs.I also think that the NFL should have it on the list when they give out the MVP award this year! I watched the special they had on Animal Planet also, when the news broke, and the follow ups. The book is written with insight into the dogs and their experiences and takes you step by step through the process. I cannot recommend it enough!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When i waz reading some of the comments ,i found a few on here that arnet very nice like they are just dogs! I cant even type that without getting upset. How would anyone like it if they somehow were put in a cage,barley fed,covered in blood and scares? These poor animals suffered so much and just needed love, next time someone says "just dogs" i would tell them to see it from a dogs' point of view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
readeronthecoast More than 1 year ago
This book is a heart-breaker. I cried - hard. But it was also very interesting and educational. I've written more than one letter to Commissioner Goodell about Michael Vick. This book was vindication of my efforts. I was very interested to learn the details of the entire case - and to learn what happened to the dogs and how they were rehabilitated.
guls More than 1 year ago
I'm a dog owner and when I first started it I had to put it down. The story was, in a sense too brutal. I gave it a second try and couldn't put it down. It will give you a new view of the breed,how cruel AND how good people are as well as how blind some of our officials really are. If you are a sports fan or a pet owner iy is a must read.
sharon352 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I found myself wanting more. I think the book's only shortcoming is that it has a journalistic brevity, that left me wanting a deeper connection with the story. The author moves along at a brisk pace, which kept me turning the pages. The first third of the book, prior to rescue from Vick's property, is told partially from the viewpoint of the dogs. It puts the reader right into the experience of living in a dog-fighting ring. The story of recovery is the most rewarding part of this book. These dogs tread a tough road to trust and peace, and it is truly inspiring to read their stories. If you're an animal lover, read it. You will love it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The enormity of the vicious cruelty inflicted on these dogs by Vick and the likes of him, for the sake of entertinment; is only surpassed by the loving-kindness extended by the many who rose up to help, rescue, and rehabilitate these tortured victimized pit bulls. Super enlightening. A must read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book not to long ago. I loved it! It is amazing how this people helped these dogs! I think it is a great book for anyone! It can teach you a lot and make a difference in how you see things in life! I LOVE this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The facts speak for themselves. Focuses on the canine victims in the case and the redemption is theirs. Vicks cruelty and brutality are undeniable. Hard to read at times but a must read for dog lovers or anyone tempted to look the other way.
Ladeybugg More than 1 year ago
I knew this would be a very hard book to read through, but I am so glad I bought the book. Yes, it describes what the dogs went through while they lived a horrific life in Bad Newz Kennels, but it also gives their success stories in the book's second half. There has to be a storm in order to see the Rainbow, and their horrid beginning should be told in order to appreciate how awesome these dogs have become. Truth be told, the individuals who fought For these dogs to be spared euthanasia deserve major kudos for rescuing these dogs and giving them the chance to know life, and love, outside the fighting ring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book changed my life..a must read for animal livers!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was simply amazing. Very eye opening. Felt like puking a few times, felt like crying a few times. Not for the weak stomached. Great book for the Pitbull Breed! do not regret a penny i spent on this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing story of survival of innocent dogs. This book will let you see just how cruel mankind is at its lowest moments!
newmomofabully More than 1 year ago
I was scared to open this book after reading the reviews. But, because I just recently had a pitbull adopt us, I had to know. This book tore at my heart strings from the first few pages. It is well done on all sides of the story. You really feel as if you know these dogs and you can feel their pain and triumps along with them. This is a wonderful and I recommend anyone in doubt read this.
Kelly64 More than 1 year ago
just listened to the interview on NPR about this book...jumped right onto Barnes $ Nobles website to download it to my nook...but it isn't available as an ebook =(. Heading to the store tonight to buy the actual book...