×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Love Letters from a Duke
     

Love Letters from a Duke

4.4 67
by Elizabeth Boyle
 

See All Formats & Editions

He's at her service . . .

Though she can't afford the coal to heat her drafty Mayfair mansion, Felicity Langley still clings to her dream of marrying a duke—one she's had since her very first curtsy. After all, she's been promised to the very lofty Duke of Hollindrake for the last four years. Now all she has to do is meet him. But what Felicity doesn't

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Love Letters From a Duke 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 67 reviews.
Daphsmomma More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. The story rolled on from This Rake of Mine. That book was pretty much the beginning of this series. This one is about Felicity. She has her heart set that she will be the Duchess of Hollindrake. But that may not be the case since she is falling in love with her new footman! O but this book is just amazing, Elizabeth Boyle knows how to keep you turning the pages. I could not put this book down. I love her writing and will continue to buy her books.
NannyW More than 1 year ago
This is a fun book to read. Felicity finds creative ways to get around obstructions placed in her path. No money to rent a house, just read the legal notices & find a house held up in estate settlement and borrow it for a while. She has determined that being married to a Duke will solve her finanical problems. The new footman seems to always arrive late for work, but she can't fire him since she does not have the funds to pay him any wages until she marries, and really, he is so handsome in father's old livery. She trys to not like him, but something about him keeps drawing her closer. She can not fall for him, in order to find good husbands for the rest of her family she must marry the Duke. Why does the Duke of Hollindrake not come by, they have been exchanging letters for years, or have they? The cook drinks, but since she makes REALLY good scones they overlook her little problem, they can't afford to pay her either. It is touching, funny, fast paced, rainy afternoon book. You will not want to put it down until you find out how it ends.
RomanceReaderForever More than 1 year ago
I loved this!! It was my first Elizabeth Boyle book and I quickly bought her other ones. This is the first mistaken identity book I've read where I thought the author totally pulled it off. From the second Felicity answers the door in her red woolen socks, I was sucked in. And I stayed there until THE END. I loved the characters. I could so see Felicity's vulnerability under her "I'm going to marry the duke and take care of everyone" facade. This was skillfully done. It's difficult to portray this in a character but Elizabeth Boyle did it splendidly. It wasn't a false bravado that Felicity sported but rather a dogged determination that had a touch of desperation to it. I loved the chemistry between Felicity and Thatcher and can't understand why a couple of people didn't feel that. I not only felt the physical chemistry, but I felt a genuine liking of each for the other, something that doesn't happen in a lot of romances. It was especially amusing that Felicity didn't want to like him and kept trying not to. I had not read any of Boyle's other books, yet I had no problem following this one, so for me I would have to say it definitely was a standalone book. Reading the earlier books later was quite a delight, really. I knew what was in store for Felicity and that made me smile. Yes, the supporting characters were sometimes a little whacky, but honestly, no more whacky than my family members (or yours, probably). And anyway, this is fiction. If I want to read something with no imagination, that doesn't demand any leap of faith, I'll read non-fiction. This story was fast-paced and I never knew what was going to happen next, yet as it happened, it was like, Of course! Why didn't I realize that was coming? I love it when an author surprises me and everything fits perfectly into the story. I laughed out loud several times during this book, and that's important to me. Even if a book has me crying during the dramatic parts, I expect to laugh somewhere along the way, or it's not for me. I loved it. What more can I say except I'll be looking forward to her forthcoming stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard read to get through . Most of time i was waiting for the good parts and they never came
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun read. Greatly enjoyed this well written and humorous, romantic book. The story is great, characters delightful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it in mere hours. Couldn't put the book down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
best story of mistaken identity in a long time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great writing - romance and wit. Such a great way for Felicity to meet her Duke. Can't wait to read Tally's story.
EdeeBook More than 1 year ago
I hesitate to give this 4 stars - but the story was so cute I couldn't help but read and read until it was done. Lovers of historical fiction should enjoy the intricacies of this amusing tale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LadyScarlet More than 1 year ago
A fun romantic romp! What's not to love about a Duke playing a Footman!
MerriW More than 1 year ago
I have read a number of Elizabeth Boyle's books and purchased this one after reading a free excerpt at the end of another one of her works. I enjoyed this as an addition to my collection of her works on my Nook Color. Better yet, it was also on sale. Give yourself a treat with some downtime reading a nice love story that has a twist.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. Just reading how the duchess and Thatcher interacted from the very beginning the reader just knew it was true love. To read their story and see how it developed it was great, Boyle knows how to write a good love story. You also read how stubborn people can be when they know its love but try to deny it. Great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago