×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Love Locked Down
     

Love Locked Down

4.1 9
by R. Satiafa
 

See All Formats & Editions

Why would a woman choose to date a man behind bars? R. Satiafa explores this phenomena in her thrilling novel, LOVE LOCKED DOWN. With the shortage of available men, can women successfully cross the barbed wire fence and find Mr. Right?

LOVE LOCKED DOWN is a thought-provoking look at the number of women who have chosen to pursue relationships with men

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Love Locked Down 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent and easy book to read. The writer knew how to draw the reader into the characters. I enjoy reading a book that keep you on the edge of your seat and this book did exactly that; kept me anticipating the next move and plot. The writer has an excellent writing style. Keep up the excellent work. I'm waiting for the next book already.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love Locked Down by R. Satiafa is a must read and a must have to add to your book collection. Once I started reading Love Locked Down I could not put it down. I was drawn into pages. R. Satiafa did a wonderful job educating us about women in relations with incarcerated men. I can't wait to see what R. Satiafa will come out with next.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Satiafa had me glued to the pages. I fell for Rayboy "the Playboy" immediately yet understood Regina's dilemma. Sometimes it is hard to do the right thing when the WRONG THING feels so good. I also learned a lot about how society treats people who have been incarcerated and just how badly their families suffer. This book is a wake-up call for this generation. The characters are engaging and lovable. I loved Righteous - she reminds me of my own West Indian mother. However, the major villain, Shaka, will make you want to kill him because he is so diabolical!! Dennis seems typical but surprises us; he is the voice of so many men searching for answers. Yes, Regina has a difficult decision to make. I can't wait for the sequel!
GG7 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this novel set in the Nations Capital, Washington, D.C. which sheds light on the prison system and women who develop relationships with incarcerated men. It is an intriguing read as you become attached to the main characters in the story, Regina, Dennis and Ray Boy. You cheer that the best man wins! But wait... you have to catch the sequel to find that out! R. Satiafa did a great job of drawing the reader into the lives of the main characters in this love triangle. The suspense of how their lives are each affected by one another will keep you turning the pages. As well, the whole subject of why women who choose men who are incarcerated begs the question who is really locked down..the Men?, the Women? the families? Society? or all of the above. Check it out to find out!
black_diamondJC More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the characters and the role each played. The story line was incredible. I advised any one to pick up this book and read it. Not only will you enjoy it, but you will find yourself caught up in their world of passion, luxury and intrigue. As the story unfolds, I begin to see hidden traits of myself unfolding. Great Book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and found it to be quite different from what I originally expected. The multiple story lines and cast of characters hit home, most readers will identify with at least one or more of them. The old adage truth is stranger than fiction...I sent e-mails to all my girlfriends suggesting they buy it, read it, and talk about it! Thoroughly enjoyed it, I especially loved the section on the "Prison Ministry."..found myself laughing out loud. Nice story line with the twists & turns, kept me interested throughout stayed up late to finish the book. It was quite steamy...but I pressed my way through because I had to know how the story ended Very insightful (makes you go hmm),well done!! told my girlfriends I am not loaning out my signed copy... they have to buy their own. Now who do I need to give a shout, to, just let me know! (Hometown Girl)
Ms_ApplePie More than 1 year ago
The characters are well developed, I fell in love with Ray-boy at once he's at the heart of the mystery. You think he's the fly in the milk, creating all sort of emotional unrest and bam you get thrown off the mark. Only to discover the jaw dropping reality. Yes it's about women having relationships with guys in prison but you would never think this prison's reach would extend into the refined galleries of Washington D.C.'s finest museums. The women in this book are you, me and your sister; some intentionally in locked down relationships and some unintended. All have there story to tell. The mysteries don't stop until the very end. Its so much fun, clever, smart and sexy. Take this one to bed, I promise it's worth it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The novel is actually about punitive incarceration and how it effects women. How does a woman deal her man being LOCKED UP? How to you maintain that relationship? And what is up with women who go to prisons to START romantic relationships?!?! Satiafa takes us all through that in an exciting and enlightening way. Awesome! I even light the tag line - Millionaire art dealers and hard-time prison playas knock heads in a world where everybody is trying to get paid big. And Regina soon discovers that worse than losing her heart to the wrong man, she may lose her life. It's a compelling read. AND she offers a FREE study guide for book club, university and community use. Just request it from the author; her email address is on the inside of the front cover. LOVE LOCKED DOWN is a sensitive, humorous and thought-provoking look at the number of women who have chosen to pursue relationships with men behind bars. It is a fact based docu-novel that contains the stories of several women from all walks of life - from a cafeteria worker to a Big Tobacco Executive - all who have crossed the barbed wire fence in search of Mr. Right. The story is told through the voice of Regina Jackson, a museum curator for a fine arts foundation in Washington, DC. She answers a random phone call from a prison inmate one night (Rayboy) that turns into a sordid sexy love affair via the telephone. Excited, embarrassed and afraid, Regina is thrust into a world of secrecy and intrigue as she meets other women who have chosen the same path of loving a man on the inside. As the relationship escalates, Regina is pulled into a mysterious, seedy and sensual world of powerful and dangerous men who live by their own rules, and unscrupulous women willing to play the game. To further complicate things, Regina has a man - Dr. Dennis Dickerson, a successful art curator, museum patron and prize catch of the DC social sect. Dennis is wealthy, 'emotionally available' and willing to be a father to Regina's children. Still, Rayboy sparks a passion in Regina that Dennis cannot touch. Regina thinks she has lost her mind continuing on this nowhere path with an incarcerated man. Is she prepared to deal with the pros and cons of dating a con? On this journey, Regina's sense of right and wrong gets twisted as Dennis becomes a prime suspect in to unspeakable crime that Rayboy may take the fall for. She soon learns that prison walls may not always draw the line between the good guys and the bad. Who can she trust? This story was not about being incarcerated. It is about the woman on the outside being locked down emotionally, sometimes by choice. That was hard to deal with. I would like to recommend it to teens but there are several sexual references that might not be appropriate. Good book. Can't wait for the sequel. The way it ends, I am sure there will be one.