×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lover, Husband, Father, Monster: Book 1, Her Story
     

Lover, Husband, Father, Monster: Book 1, Her Story

3.6 34
by Elsie Johnstone
 

Elsie and Graeme Johnstone’s powerful two-part story traces the fragmentation of a well-intentioned marriage through to its irretrievable breakdown and a chilling finale that stays with the reader long after the final page is turned.
Set in Ireland and told in two voices – Her Story and His Story – it tells of Stuart and Jennifer, meeting at a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lover, Husband, Father, Monster - Book 1, Her Story 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hard to put down. Immediately bought the follow-up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The second part is under Graeme Johnstone's name.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book sucked me right in! I couldn' t put it down. It was even better after reading book 2! Loved reading both sidees to the story!
mfw741 More than 1 year ago
the book kept my interest throughout. am looking forward to reading his story now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Once I started reading it, I could not put it down. Looking forward to the next addition.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But then it gets so good you can hardly put it down !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wordy, wordy, wordy. Don't bother with second book as the ending is the same. Could have been good but wasn't!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Trixie3 More than 1 year ago
One I started this book I just couldnt put it down. The characters were real and easy ro follow. A cliffhanger
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story started out so rich in detail, and you couldn't help but be drawn to "Jobby" and her unique character. When she marries Stu, she is washed out. I understand that this is done to showcase the way in which Stu surpresses her individuality, but her voice is washed out as well. As her obsession with her cyber relationship grows, all intelligence goes out the window. Again, this is probably done on purpose to demonstrate how obsessive she becomes but the author's writing is irritating during this section of the story. The text itself turned choppy and convoluted all at once - almost as if there was so much information to give but there was a page limit or something. The story ends on a huge cliff hanger, but I'm not sure if I will be purchasing the next installment, even though I really want to know what happens, because of the abrupt transformation of the writing. On the other hand, it would be nice to get some of the details fleshed out that were skipped over in Jen's story. The author's choice to split the story into two short stories, one for Jen and one for Stu, is interesting though, as it emphasizes the idea of two sides to every story. Stu is painted as a monster, but I assume the next installment would shed some light on his behavior, and deconstruct the idea of Jen as a victim.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stupid ending. Forces you to buy and read the next book. Also very slow. I also would have liked more dialouge.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookchewingbunny More than 1 year ago
Good book.  Her ending didn't seem finished.  Left me hanging
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book until I reached the end...What wife brings her lover to her home when letting her violent husband know she is leaving him- and also does it all in the presencce of her children??? There were a few other unbelievable moments in this book, but that ending took the cake! I enjoyed reading it up to that point, but won't bother reading book 2. Disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago