×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #4)
     

Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #4)

4.6 1847
by J. R. Ward
 

See All Formats & Editions

Butch O'Neal is a fighter by nature. A hard-living ex-homicide cop, he's the only human ever to be allowed in the inner circle of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. And he wants to go even deeper into the vampire world-to engage in the turf war with the lessers. His heart belongs to a female vampire, Marissa, an aristocratic beauty who's way out of his league. And if he

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #4) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1847 reviews.
eReaderSS More than 1 year ago
I was frustrated with the constant ups and downs in Butch's and Marissa's relationship. But I was satisfied the way it turned out for them. Butch so belongs in the Brotherhood!!! I also recommend reading "The Mating" and "The Keeping" (in that order) by a wonderful author named Nicky Charles. I discovered her by accident and LOVED LOVED LOVED her books. They are similar to JR Ward's Brotherhood series. And guess what? They are both FREE ebooks through the B&N library.
TheLBD More than 1 year ago
i found this to be a REAL SNOOZER! But i'm optimistic that book #5 will be better because i know how sizzling the author can get, but this one, just didnt do it for me.... i really wouldnt even recommend it to anyone who is reading the series. I'd just tell them what happens and save them the trouble and time of reading this one.
BBandReveries More than 1 year ago
Lover Revealed is Butch and Marissa's story. Butch is taken by the lessers very early on in the book after saving a civilian vampire. He is tortured for information about the brotherhood, but never gives in (Go Butch!). However, something truly evil is done to Butch before he is left for dead in the middle of nowhere. After the brotherhood rescues him, they question his fate and allegiance. Butch is no longer the same "cop." After healing from his stay with the lessers, he starts to notice some changes: his body is letting off an odd spice scent around Marissa, he is much more aggressive, he can suck lessers into himself, and his blood turns black whenever he destroys the lessers his way. Marissa and Butch's relationship had so many "aw" moments but there was one thing that seriously annoyed me; when Butch called Marissa "baby," I cringed. I really don't know why that bothered me so much. Other than that, everything was fine. Butch wasn't my favorite character, even in the beginning, and this book didn't really change that for me. Although, there were some aspects that really stood out and made me love Ms. Ward's writing even more. The Black Dagger Brotherhood series is a romance book series (just look at the titles). The characters in the series have so much depth, not often seen in adult romance novels. With each book, Ms. Ward astounds me with the way she skillfully balances the passionate love scenes with actual plot. In Butch's story, just like Zsadist's, the central characters grow and change through the story. Butch starts out insecure in his place in life. Later in the book, when Butch is telling Marissa about his past he comments, "I've always been different from other people, not just in my family but when I was working here on the CPD force, too. I never fit in.until I met the Brotherhood.I've been living on the fringes all my life.(325)." As the story progresses, the Butch becomes a part of a family, a part of something he never had. Marissa also finds herself. Even though Butch and Marissa fought a lot in this book, I think it was appropriate. Neither were secure with themselves. After Havers forced independence on Marissa, she started to follow her "Rule Number One: Right or wrong, she made the choices in her life. No one else did (402)." Of course, Marissa doesn't become independent overnight. In fact, she moves in with the brotherhood. Slowly, she begins to become her own person. Her transition from flowing gowns and corsets to pants and turtle necks was very symbolic of her transformation from a push over, aristocrat to a fully independent woman, free of the cage her brother and the glymera had forced her in all her life. Lover Revealed was definitely a huge step forward in the war between the vampires and the lessers. What happens to Butch changes everything. The Black Dagger Brotherhood have a whole new deadly weapon in the war. As the Scribe Virgin said, "Now the new era in the war begins (399)." While this wasn't the greatest of the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, it definitely is worth the read. Fair Warning: like all the BDB books, there are quite a few graphic sex scenes, violence, profanity, and of course blood and gore. If you haven't picked these books up yet, then I suggest you buy them.yes, buy them. They are too amazing not to purchase because you will want to reread them over and over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
J.R. Ward has created a wonderful series with the stories of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. Each book goes in depth with one of the brothers. Each of whom are unique, sexy, and have endured their own special hell that seems to only be eased by that one special woman for them. This particular story is about the human Butch, how lives among the Brotherhood. After the first 3 books I always wondered exactly where butch fit in with the Brotherhood, now I know! Next I am now wondering what will happen with the pre-transitional John. While each book is wonderful they are best enjoyed in the order they are written. After reading the first you'll be hooked and they only get better!
BookReflections More than 1 year ago
Lover Revealed is Butch's story and I wasn't a fan.  The Lessors managed to kidnap Butch.  Not only was he tortured by the Omega gave him something special.  It was interesting and freaky at the same time.  I'll be interested to see how this turn of events plays out in future books.  What I didn't care to much for was Butch's romance.  I liked Butch just the way he was and I didn't like how he was "changed."  Since a huge part of the awesomeness of this series comes from my attachment to the brothers and their love lives, this one just didn't do it for me.  I'm not sure I would skip it though.  They all have so many storylines that go into the future that I don't think anyone should skip any one installment.
Liberty_Ann_Ireland More than 1 year ago
"Family, after all, was the staff of life. The very staff of life." That, in two sentences, sums up the overarching theme of Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 4), my most recent juicy read in JR Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series.(Yes, I know I am reading them out of order but I am okay with that right now.) Oh how I love her books! The Good: Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 4) focuses on Butch, his love for Marissa and their need for Family. As you may know, butch is an Irish white boy. A hu-man. Yep. And he is completely head-over-heals in love with beautiful, innocent Marissa (Havers sister) making her-yep, you guessed it-a vampire. Not just any vampire either, a member of the elite upper crust of the vampire bloodlines, the glymera. To say they have nothing in common would be an understatement... except their love for one another and their need for Family. Now I won't spill the beans on the details but sufficeth to say, they are apart, they are together, they are apart, they are together... You get the gist. As this goes on, HUGE changes occur in both of their personal lives. Are they good or bad? Only the book knows.;) As usual in Ms. Ward's books, the characters are all so real, so believable that you feel right along with them. When they hurt, you hurt. When they love, you love. Happily, some of your other favorite characters make appearances throughout the story: Rhevenge, Wrath, Vischous, Rhage, Beth, and more. This all comes together to tell Butch and Marissa's story as well as shed light on some important Vampire information, more on the Omega and Scribe Virgin as well as a smattering of other tales. Oh, and you get your HEA too in the end. The Bad: Ah the Bad. I could say that there was just not enough of Rhev in the story.;) Actually, there was more than I would have liked in that he is his amazing multifaceted self in this story but ends up getting hurt. But that is just my personal opinion.;) The real only negatives I can say are that there were a few time that I was unsure of what was really going on with V and that the Butch/Marissa on again/off again bit got kind of old. That and I didn't really like Marissa's character all of the time. Otherwise it was a well written book. The Snuggly: Being mated, whether physically or legally, is an intense and sensual thing in the BDB series. Ergo, there are some smokin' hot scenes between Butch and Marissa. Certainly for no one under 18. Final Thoughts: While I didn't enjoy Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 4) quite as much as Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 7), that may just be personal preference. The book was well written, exciting, intense and amazing. If you love Vampires, Paranormal Romance, Action and some Erotica, you don't want to miss this book! Enjoy!
-MetalHeart- More than 1 year ago
I greatly looked forward to Butch's book. Since he first glanced at Marissa in Dark Lover everybody had to know that this one was coming. Granted it didn't have the intensity of Wrath's book, or the total devotion of Rhage's, nor the gut-wrenching heartache of Zsadist's, but it was still very good. Ward delivers yet again, and I can't thank her enough...Though I hate her use of foul language, particularly the GD's. I hate that. They can cuss, but must they say that!! Overall, a wonderful addition! =D
Missy306 More than 1 year ago
J.R. Ward is an amazing writer. I just finished reading all of her books one by one. Her stories are great, they flow from book to book, the characters have depth, are well thought out and believable. Having said that, I really enjoyed reading her stories with the one exception of her dialogue. J.R. uses so many acronyms and inappropriate slang it just got worse and worse as she progressed through the series. It was so disappointing. If you are the type of reader that ignores things you don't understand - great. I am not that reader. I had to actually go online to an acronym sight to look up some them. HSIC? PTSD? BMOC? I lost count of how many she uses, it was ridiculous. In addition, she makes up her own slang. "sitch" for situation, "stitties" for stilettos, "B" for Bentley, "abso" for absolutely, "epi" for episode, "tourni" for touriquet, "'za" for pizza, "res" for residence, "packy" for package. It was downright irritating and lazy. One of the worse offenses was when King Wrath and one of the warriors said "I'm outtie"....really? That does not bring to mind a warrior or a leader of a race, rather Brittney Murphy in "Clueless". If you can get past it, her stories are great. I personally will not read another book of hers or recommend them to anyone. And I think her editor should be fired!(If anyone at Penguin reads these!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the most boring novel that I have ever read. I cannot finish it. I have tried to pick it back up multiple time in the past couple of months, but after reading a page or two, I put it right back down. Sadly this is not a series Iam willing to invest any more time into. I read Wrath through Zsadist, and enjoyed them, but I am ending it now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So disappointed in this book. Way too long, and very predictible. I was excited to read it because i loved butch and marissa, but grew to hate them in this book. I will continue series hopefully this was the only bad egg because all books previous from this one were awesome.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Series started out great, but now its just negative and dragged out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely loved it.
CrickettMA More than 1 year ago
This series gets better with each book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frustrating but great! Loved this book and cant wait to start the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another amazing brotherhood book i was not disapointed at all :)
nurse6030 More than 1 year ago
This was not my favorite but was still a good read. It came together nicely. I couldn't imagine not reading it, as it seems intrigal to the series.
Vorrianna More than 1 year ago
Butch's story was not my favorite one. I think it was because there were so many other characters whose story you got introduced to and were left too open-ended that I couldn't focus on Butch and Marissa. When I did get into the love story between the two, I never liked Marissa as much as I like the other females. So, even though the story behind the love story is awesome, the part about Butch and Marissa is less entertaining than the love stories in the first 3 books. (Spoiler: I would only read this one again for Butch's transition and addition to the Brotherhood ranks, not for the love story between him and Marissa.)
Cris_Thinks More than 1 year ago
I love Butch I really do and I think I love the way everything has worked out for him. Honestly what made this one not so hot for me was Marrisa. I just really dont like her charater that doesnt mean anything bad against the writer its just I didnt need a book about her. She is sooo nieve that it just took me away too many times to relate. I think even when I was a virgin I wasnt that bad. IDK love the series, but think someone like butch should of had a stronger, street wiser, nastier mate than her but thats an opinion.
want-me-a-vampire More than 1 year ago
This one I liked because I always like the character that it's about. But I did find myself drifting and just wanting to get to the end.
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
I wasn't a fan of this one. There were just so many things that didn't quite add up to me and it still bothers me. Butch seems to have been given part of the Omega - but the Omega can't find him? Thinks he's dead? Doesn't add up - especially as we find out more about how souls return and Lessers are created. I couldn't find a way to believe any of ti. The part I did like was Vishous and learning more about his character and abilities. He's really quite fascinating. A lot of this book was taken up with characters that weren't our main couple. I still struggle with John. I just don't see him as an adult, but more of a 13 year old boy. Learning more about Rehv was amazing. I hope he gets his own story down the line - I think he deserves it. All in all, this just wasn't the one for me. I'm going to move on and get started on the next because I think it's going to be much better, and I still want to see what happens in everyone's lives.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing as always
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Butch storyline was awesome !! Many of the other reviews said this was the worst book but I diagree!! I love each book in its own way, but the best romance will always be Wrath and Beth & Bella and Z I can't wait to start book 5!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago