×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #5)
     

Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #5)

4.5 1922
by J. R. Ward
 

See All Formats & Editions

The ruthless and brilliant brother Vishous possesses a destructive curse and a frightening ability to see the future. As a member of the Brotherhood, he has no interest in love or emotion, only the battle with the Lessening Society. But when a mortal injury puts him in the care of a human surgeon, Dr. Jane Whitcomb compels him to reveal his inner pain and taste

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #5) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1922 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If your like me, and reading the reviews before you read the book and are a little worried about the "bad ending"...well let me help clear it up without giving any spoilers... i was very much looking forward to this book and after reading some reviews, i was a little worried i wasn't going to like it...It was wonderful! you truly get into V's head, his background, his parents. you get more of an understanding about the Scribe Virgin and her Chosen. i feel V truly does get his happy ending, (witch some say was wrong) but if was the only way for him and Jane to truly be together forever. you can't always have your cake and eat it too. there are many surprises in this book which get you ready for Phury's book. so don't let other reviews turn you away for V's story. it really is one of the best (next to Z's) and i recommend every BDB book! these brother's have stolen my heart!
Emmy84Girl More than 1 year ago
After reading all the other bad reviews of this book I seriously thought of skipping over this book. Im glad I didn't. So far it is the worst of the series BUT BUT BUT the others were so great (especially book three with Zadist) and this one good. Im glad I read it and personally I loved the relationship bw Butch and V. Also, read it bc you get to find out what happens to John. Give it a chance!!
ILuvMyNook More than 1 year ago
What can I say about this book other than... Oh. My. God.! This was such an emotional ride. Touching, Romantic & Thrilling all get 5 stars from me! So touching and so sad in so many ways. I actually cried reading this book. The life that V started out with, having the Bloodletter for a father. The guy lived up to his name that's for sure. And finding out who his mother is (I'll not say here, so you'll be surprised) and finding that after all his years with his father, dreaming of a loving and caring mother, then to be sooo let down. He goes through so many emotions with his best friend, Butch, then finding the love of his life. This book has so many twists and turns. Some of them will make you want to cry for him, cheer for him, and hope for him... and at some points you'll hold your breath for him. This is my favorite book so far in the BDB series, but then again, V has been my favorite character from the beginning. Don't worry about some of the other reviews that are upset with the ending to this book. It's about love and sacrifice and that life isn't always fair and it's all how you interpret "Happily Ever After". I can't wait to read the next chapter which is Phury's story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
V has always been one of my favs. This book is the true meaning of love and sacrifice. I laughed and cried for v, was glad he got his happy ending. John is a big part in this book do not skip it due to some of the negative reviews, true? LOL!!! JR never disappoints.
I_Read_ALOT More than 1 year ago
I'm so glad I went with my gut instinct and picked this book up despite some of the bad reviews. This was a wonderful book and I fell more in love with the Vishous character than I was before. I didn't mind the ending in the least and in fact thought it was very, very clever. Ward truly does think outside the box, even if that box can sometimes make the reader a bit uncomfortable. Vishous was given a female as intelligent, as much of a warrior (in her way) as he is, and as fiercely loyal as he is. I was happy for the both of them in the end and started the book over almost immediately.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was the most emotional of the series so far. Loved it.. Heart wrenching!!!!
vamplover21 More than 1 year ago
Okay I have to be honest I too was skeptical about reading this book after all the bad reviews I read I'm so very very glad I didnt listen, yes this book did move kind of slower then the others but the dialogue,the expressions of love between man & man and man & woman where beautiful simply beautiful. the ending was soooo perfect I almost cried and I'm not a crier this is not a book to be passed over especially if you read the other books in this series
duchessbyday More than 1 year ago
Jane and Vishous were perfect. They deserved their perfect ending. They definitely didn't get it in this story. I found myself at a loss when I finished. This book almost makes me want to stop reading BDB. I'm not going to because I trust J.R. Ward's writing abilities. I just hope she has a plot twist to somehow undo that ending. Huge fan of the series... just not this particular book. Sorry :[
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was so excited to read this book and actually loved it up until the last couple of chapters. I thought that the ending was AWFUL! It seemed like the author was trying for a different twist and totally missed the mark. Let's hope the next is better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite of all the Blackdagger brotherhood books. Vishous is my favorite of the brothers, he is wicked sexy, dangerous, and intelligent. I highly recommend this and all the Blackdagger Brotherhood books!!
AshleyAmsbaugh More than 1 year ago
Abused as a child, cursed as an adult, Vishous has never fit in. Smart beyond measure, he's an integral part of The Brotherhood, but the only person he's remotely close to is the human-turned-vampire, Butch O'Neal. And that relationship isn't the most healtiest, V is jealous of Marissa, Butch's shellan because he's in love with the male.  Doctor Jane Whitcomb first had her life turned upside down on her 13th birthday when he beloved sister died unexpectedly. Moving on from the loss, she took solitude in the thought of becoming a doctor, hoping to help those not go through the same thing. Now, the head of the Trauma department at St. Francis, Jane's life is turned upside down again when a gunshot victim is put on her operating table. Vishous and Jane come together after she is taken against her will to the Brotherhood's compound to make sure Vishous is recuperating well after his gunshot wound and subsequent surgery. Bonding with the woman immediately, he cannot bare to have her leave. Needless to say, Jane didn't immediately warm up to the vampire. But once she did, their relationship went supernova.  During all of this, the Scribe Virgin came to Vishous to tell him that he's to be the new Primale of the Chosen. He's to mate and father new warriors for the race. Not wanting this responsibility, Vishous reluctantly agrees because there's no one else to do it. But when he meets Jane, he really cannot stand the thought of mating with someone other than her.  Phury has taken to lighting up nonstop to cope with his feelings towards Bella, his twin's shellan. When he comes to the conclusion that Vishous does not have to be the new Primale, he could take that role, it's with the hope of finally getting over Bella. When he meets Cormia, the first of the Chosen he is to mate with, brings her from the Other side to the compound. He doesn't know what to do with her, but she wants to please him no matter what. Like all the previous books, there's a scene or two or three where you just want to scream and cry with the characters. There were definitely many moments like that in this book, especially the last 30 pages or so. I really enjoyed Lover Unbound so much. It was better than the previous book which made me happy. I love Butch, don't get me wrong, but it has been the weakest book thus far. Learning more about Vishous was great. My heart broke for him in his life as a pretrans and what happens right after his transition. The character progression has been amazing thus far in the whole series, but I think V's has been the best. We always got bits and pieces in the previous books, but to actually learn about the male helped to make sense of everything we've read so far. Jane is a great character. She's strong, intelligent, and willful. She's the perfect match for Vishous in every way. My only real complaint is the insta-love aspect. It's just a huge pet peeve of mine that I cannot get behind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I want a Vishous of my own please!!
jwrbrBR More than 1 year ago
Are you kidding me!! Do not waste your time on this book. I have enjoyed every book in this series up until this one especially the story of Z. Which brings me to the point of why this was so bad; it was just a rip off of the plot from Z’s story. It also drags thru almost endless room descriptions and, unlike your previous story line endings this ending stunk. Bringing one of the main charters back as kind of touching type of ghost (???). Give me a break, you could have done better as your previous books show that you have the talent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She did it again !! V is my favorite brother, always misterious always edgie and a very akward romantic for he does not how to be romantic he is Vishous a dark intensive liver. You get the chance to know more of his past, who and what roll his parents played that left him with so many issues, you will cry ,laugh and keep reading until the end because of him. Cannot express the amount of emotions this book made me feel . You wont be dissapointed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think the author messed up the ending on this one. The majority of the book is well written, emotional, and sexy with the main couple of V and Jane heading to their happy ending, but no...the ending turns odd and seems uncomfortable, even to the characters involved. It might be somewhat creative, but it left me feeling sorry for V and Jane, when I wanted to be happy for them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never cried more reading a book . With the exception of the book "before i die" . Anyways wow ! I must say everytime i finish one of these books and say which brother i love the best it all comes crashing down with then next brother . but wow vishous is my kind if guy aha if ya know what i mean ;) great book . The ending pissed me off a bit but not allll of the stories can have a mushy ending . I must say tho the next book is of purry and i just dont want to read it ugh ! I will tho aha
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont go by the negative reviews, this was one of my favorites so far. I laughed and cried with Vs story. There is also Johns story as well, you do not want to skip this series.
Spartikus More than 1 year ago
I love Vishous BUT this book had me re-thinking about going forward with the series...the ending was flat out horrendous.
Sandra027 More than 1 year ago
OK so it totally won me over. Although the ending was a little iffy, I appreciate that J.R. is keeping the stories unique and different from one another. And for once there really wasn't too much inner turmoil in the relationship. Great development with the John story-line, and a good intro to Phury's book. P.S. I didn't even notice until starting the next book, but it was SO nice not to have all the lessers junk in this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This whole series has a fantastic story-line that keeps you enthralled and wanting more. BIG problems though: 1 - language, could you use the f-bomb a little more, not sure I caught it. 2 - Not everyone talks like a gangser who is never leaving the Hood, especially kings and heads of surgery....the dialogue leaves so much to be desired. 3 - EVERYTHING is accronymed or slanged! it is rediculous! The books, no matter how good the story line is should come with a warning lable for their language and sexually explicit nature. Was not expecting that.
TONI0327 More than 1 year ago
I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this series. This book started out very well,then last couple chapters really let me down. This is by far the worst book in the series so far. I have been non stop reading these books. J.R. Ward is an amazing writer but I think she got lost on this one. Its a must read if you are reading the entire series but be prepared you will have to drudge through it. It does reveal a lot of information regarding Vishous and his background. But the ending really let me down.
BookLoverVA More than 1 year ago
I have to say that these books are indeed romance novels, but the ending was very horribly done. I thought that V story would have been so great but it lacked something. Don't get me wrong it was still a very good read. But I hated the ending if the Vampire race is dying out why are some of these spouses not able to have children. Please still read this book the last ten pages you could skip.
Anonymous 4 days ago
Walks in and kisses Grimmy for no reason. (Btw if you want to have s.e.x go to this is where the world ends res 1)
Jasmyn9 6 months ago
I had a hard time buying some of this one. Vishous is quite a cold hearted vampire. His history was a rough one, and I did enjoy seeing how it shaped him and his personality. A lot more about him made sense after reading this book. I felt a little sorry for him to be honest. Although I still don't quite understand how this odd relationship with Butch fits into the whole thing. Vishous is feeling a little sorry for himself now that his bromance has found a mate of his own. He puts himself at risk needlessly and ends up in a human hospital - this is one of the worst things that can happen. Human doctors can quickly see the difference between vampire and human anatomy (and I found some of the differences to be fascinating). Enter Dr. Jane Whitcomb. We get a ton of history about her - some of it was a bit confusing. I kept waiting for her sister to pop up again in the story and she never did. Maybe she does later? There were some pretty heavy hints dropped that I kept waiting for her to appear. Jane quickly realizes Vishous is different than any patient she's ever seen before. And when she's kidnapped to keep watch over her patient after he's rescued the "I love her - but she's human - but I love her - but she's human" begins and never seems to end. Well, eventually it does, and I think JR Ward wrote herself into a corner again. There are a few times now that she's really broken the rules of her own world again. I think this was my biggest pet peeve of the series so far. She finds a way to sort of make it work, but it's not quite within the rules either. There are some pretty big reveals about some of the brotherhood, which I like. And I enjoy seeing all them in each story. Revisiting past favorites is always fun - but I wish the women had a stronger appearance as well.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Walks into a bar. Askes if she can a beer. Waits for her drink then gets it. Gulps it down