×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Lover's Knot (Someday Quilts Series #1)
     

The Lover's Knot (Someday Quilts Series #1)

4.0 31
by Clare O'Donohue
 

See All Formats & Editions

Book #1 of the Someday Quilts Mystery series

In the tradition of Jennifer Chiaverini and Emilie Richards, a debut quilting mystery

Nell Fitzgerald is thrilled when she receives a gorgeous handmade quilt in a lover?s knot pattern from her grandmother Eleanor as an engagement gift. Her joy is short-lived, however, when her fiancé announces he?s

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lover's Knot (Someday Quilts Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really don't read mystery books, and if Lovers Knot had not been recommended to my by a friend, I don't think I would have read it, and that would have been my lose.

There is more to this book than, the mystery part. It is also about a young woman coming into her own, and it is amazing how life "is" like making a quilt...

If you enjoyed the Ya Ya Sisterhood books, than you will love this book too. What are you waiting for...buy this book...Are you still reading...Buy the book already.

Ms. O'Donohue you have me hooked. When is the next one due to be released?
VikkiNYC More than 1 year ago
I adored this delightful book. These are character I wanted to meet who lived in a town I wanted to visit. The author gave me a clever mystery, a love story, and enticed me with the fascinating tradition and art of quilting. This author made me want to quilt and I don't even sew. It was both believable and whimsical. I really can't tell how much I enjoyed it - it's perfect for a day at the beach or when you are curled up on your couch.
twinkleSA More than 1 year ago
This was such a fun read. I loved not only the mystery but the quilt talk and creative designs ideas that one gets from the book. This one I had a hard time putting down but I am a quilter and love a good mystery.
Doodle_Buddy More than 1 year ago
Quilters and non-quilters will love the characters in The Lover's Knot. Eleanor owns the Someday Quilts quilt shop in Archer's Rest on the Hudson. Quaint but not sickeningly so, romantic but not dripping in it and a bit of a mystery for good measure. Clare O'Donahue's characters are people we have all met and liked and sometimes loved. Each one has potential to become friends with the reader as the series moves on. Our heroine, Nell, makes some mistakes but finally finds her way to lead us through the town with curiosity and courage. If you quilt or sew, the joy of the craft comes through. If you don't, you just might find yourself looking for a quilt group or class to get you started. Nell is right, you know. All your cares melt away as you handle the fabric and create a work of art. Clare, you must know this since you have more than likely melted yours in creating the fabric of this lovely book.
librarygirlCG More than 1 year ago
If you like mysteries and quilts you'll like this book. It takes you to a place you'd like to visit, Archers Rest, and introduces you to people you'd like to meet like Nell, Eleanor and Barney. I hope the author carries these characters into future books. There is the mystery of course but you also get a side story of relationships, not just romantic which there is, but also about a group of women and an old, deaf, lovable dog. What else does a book need except a mystery, quilts and a dog.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Twenty something Manhattan based publisher Nell Fitzgerald is stunned when her fiancé Ryan informs her he is not ready to marry. Upset, she decides to leave town to visit her grandma Eleanor Cassidy in Archer's Rest to help her elderly relative recover from a nasty fall and somewhat based on the lovely wedding quilt her grandmother and Friday Night Quilt Club made for her. Eleanor, who owns Someday Quilts, hires local handyman Marc Reed to expand her store. He outrageously flirts with the newcomer and Nell enjoys his attention. Ryan arrives and ends up brawling with Marc over Nell. Soon after their fight, someone scissors Marc to death at Someday Quilts. Local police chief widower Jesse Dewalt investigates knowing many of the townsfolk hared the womanizing Marc and is aware of the brawl with Ryan, who wants Nell back. Instead she tries to prove his innocence one stitch at a time. --- This is an engaging Hudson River Valley amateur sleuth that will remind cozy fans of authors like Maggie Sefton. Although Nell has no experience and no cause to investigate placing herself in danger, she makes for a fine detective. Lighthearted fun as the relationship triangle (to include Jesse not Marc) supersedes the mystery. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
In this first book of the series we are introduced to Nell Fitzgerald as she receives a beautiful quilt handmade by her grandmother and The Friday Night Quilting Circle to celebrate her engagement and her upcoming wedding. Her grandmother owns a quilting shop, Someday Quilts, in Archer's Rest on the Hudson River. Nell was overjoyed to receive the gorgeous quilt with the Lover's Knot pattern, but her joy quickly turned to despair as her fiancee, Ryan, told her he just wasn't ready to get married. It becomes a true Lovers NOT! A heartbroken Nell takes her belongings that were mostly already packed to move to her new apartment with Ryan and leaves New York behind and heads to her grandmother and Archer's Rest for comfort, time and space to figure out what to do now that her life has been turned upside down. She is welcomed with open arms by her grandmother and all the ladies in the quilting group. While Nell is trying to sort out her life, her grandmother takes a terrible fall and Nell decides to stay until she recuperates. She has also talked her grandmother into expanding Someday Quilts into a vacant building right next door and knows she must be her grandmother's eyes and ears on the project so it is completed quickly and to her grandmother's exact specifications. Things are going fine until the handyman hired to complete the project is found dead in the store. Guess who arrived in town just around the time of the murder? Nell's ex-fiancee and he becomes the prime suspect. Nell and the ladies of the quilting circle are drawn right into the investigation and try to piece together the clues to "help" the sheriff pin down the killer seamlessly. I LIKED IT!!!! I love reading series books one right after the other, the authors and characters grow and evolve right before your eyes. This author knows quilting, she worked on the HGTV show, Simply Quilts, for four seasons, eventually becoming the Supervising Producer. But after reading these books I have learned that she is also quite a storyteller. You can tell just by reading the author's words she is a true quilter that understands the tactile life of finding the perfect fabrics for the perfect quilt. She also knows how to piece together a good mystery. Stitch those things together, add a hint of romance and humor and you have a cozy mystery. Her words not only drew me into the mysteries but into the Someday Quilts shop. It was almost like I was going through the aisles, feeling, touching the fabrics. Stacking the fabrics, standing back viewing how they would compliment and contrast with each other. I used to spend hours searching for just the right fabric choice, calculating the yardage and choosing the right pattern. These books not only entertained me with their mysteries but brought back some truly wonderful memories. I think if I could change one thing in my life it would be to follow my bliss after high school and have worked on my crafts and maybe opened a craft store instead of studying and working in the accounting field, minus the murder, of course. I have to thank Mary at Plume for sending me this wonderful series for review and I hope there will be many more adventures forthcoming in the Someday Quilts Mystery Series!! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these books free from Plume Books, a Division of Penguin Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookeeBD More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the book. Made a rainy day go quickly. Look forward to more by the same author