×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Low Town
     

Low Town

4.3 26
by Daniel Polansky
 

See All Formats & Editions

Drug dealers, hustlers, brothels, dirty politics, corrupt cops . . . and sorcery. Welcome to Low Town.

In the forgotten back alleys and flophouses that lie in the shadows of Rigus, the finest city of the Thirteen Lands, you will find Low Town. It is an ugly place, and its cham­pion is an ugly man. Disgraced intelligence agent. Forgotten war hero.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Low Town 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Adaptoid More than 1 year ago
I'd read positive reviews before purchasing this novel but was certain I'd made an error when learning the author's history. I was pleasantly surprised as the story unfolded with a darker edge of fantasy and fascinating characters, never leaving me questioning the general premise. The language was far more sophisticated than I expected and humor helped to offset the sometimes violent, gothic subject matter. I would definitely recommend Low Town and personally look forward to Polansky's future work.
Laurie-Lou More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book! If you're looking for a gritty, different kind of fantasy novel, than this book is for you!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Well written and unique.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Synthstatic More than 1 year ago
Fantasy for fantasy haters. Fantasy writers have basically been ripping of Tolkien (and now Rowling) for years, but Polansky gives us something completely different. Instead of the same old epic quest for some silly object or to unite the kingdoms, Low Town keeps its focus on a handful of characters in one slum. This allows us to really know the warden and his domain. I also like that the Warden is not entirely likeable. I'm sick of fantasy characters that read like they were rolled up by a 14 year old and written onto a DnD character sheet. This is almost a new sub-genre. Let's call it Low Fantasy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dark without needless gore Most of the violence is "Off stage"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SvenNomadsson More than 1 year ago
Fantasy as a genre is being mixed with all sorts of other elements these days, so it was inevitable that noir would have its chance as well. Remember noir has already been mixed with steampunk, sci-fi and even comic books. Luckily, my first encounter with fantasy noir or noir fantasy (whichever way you think it’s best described) is Low Town by Daniel Polanksy. This book alone epitomizes what makes each genre great. Low Town, published by Doubleday, is the first book by Daniel Polansky and an excellent first outing – one that will draw you back for more. And why? Because Polansky has created an awesome world full of compelling history and elements that leaves you wanting to see more, after all it’s called Low Town and thus takes place in the aforementioned Low Town. Polansky has done so simply by combining those aspects, tropes if you will, which define noir and placing them in a secondary world. But he does so masterfully by including all those elements and aspects you want in both your noir and fantasy. Angry, nasty, drug addled protagonist with a violent past and an even more violent day to day life – check. Snobbish but dangerous and hedonistic high society – check. Cheap pimps, two-timing whores and crime bosses – check. Don’t forget unforgiving violence, crime and the chance at redemption, all of which just covers the noir. For fantasy you have magic, sorcerers, foreign dangerous beings, talking statues and swords. It makes for a heady mix of action, mystery and violence through which the protagonist, a man only known as the Warden, must navigate. And it’s one where the body count mounts as a result of both Daniel Polansky’s willingness to employ what he smartly calls “the straight razor cure” and the actions of all the characters. Everything has an consequence and as such the story of Low Town and the Warden leaves everything changed at the end of the book. Yet, never to such a degree as to imply that the order of the universe has been changed – for better or worse the world continues. Part of what makes the world of Low Town so compelling, aside from a surly protagonist with a drug problem who goes about the world in a practical manner, is the fact that it’s set in a time period reminiscent of the industrial revolution. Meaning there is artillery, not just magical, but explosives resulting in explosions, though no guns resulting in battles that involve swords and knives. The balance of technology, between the old and the new, the mechanical and the mundane makes for an excellent world that is both compelling and intriguing. That’s not even mentioning the other parts of the world that Polansky has so delicately placed without spoiling their possisbilities – hell there’s not even a map so everything is truly left to your imagination. No review would be complete without an in-depth look at the Warden. He is a man with a past, one that in the best of noir’s wisdom haunts him but also provides him with ample opportunity to go about his way. The best feature I found, of the Warden’s, is that he is more than capable. He’s a man that can do much but is always cognizant of his weaknesses and inabilities particularly in comparison to others and when it comes to fights. It’s his vast library of skills which has enabled him to survive and at times thrive in Low Town and ultimately his knowledge that is the deciding factor in any event.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to read other books by this author. Hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the hero is not a nice guy...but his line he will not cross means he is stuck playing detective (his old job) one last time. very dark - but fun
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sandy5 More than 1 year ago
This was a very action packed, page turning book from the very first pages until the very end and it kept me engaged in the sinister actions that were plaguing Low Town. I love a good detailed mystery and I did not know what to expect from Low Town and I was pleasantly surprised in this book. Polansky did an excellent job in the imaginery of the characters and the mixture of the elements added lots of drama. An ex-cop turned drug dealer, sorcerers, monsters, children, murders and lords all clashed in the 341 pages of Polansky's first novel and tried to make their mark in Low Town. Polansky choices for words at times was over the top for me but I felt a part of the action and could feel the drama unfolding at my feet. Polansky didn't forget anything as he describes the events but he did not overdo the details and bore me. The ending left me wondering if there could be a series in the making. What will happen in Low Town, this can't be the end. I think Polansky has a gift for writing and look forward to other books to follow. I won this book as a free giveaway on Goodreads for a honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BrassMonkey More than 1 year ago
For the last couple of years Warden has made a life for himself among the criminals and whores of Low Town. Everything changes for him when he srumbles upon the body of a murdered young woman. Unable to shake the dead girl from his thoughts, Warden decides to solve her murder. A Former detective, Warden puts his old yet familiar skills to the test once more despite thinking he never would. Although clearly an anti-hero and sarcastic, you know Warden is still a god guy at heart. This is a dark and gritty mystery with a splash of humor. The twist? Add magic into the equation. The characters are not flat and the pacing is just right. Give it a shot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Of the Thirteen Cities, Rigus is by far the grandest. However, while that magnificent city shines, a suburb Low Town is the diametrically opposite with violent crime and rampant drug addiction and prostitution on every block corner of the rundown precinct. Low Town is run with an iron fist by the distrusting Warden. He was once a hero during the Great War only a few years ago and was a member of the Black House police before he was disgraced and sent into exile. An addict Warden has even nastier rivals that he keeps at bay because he expects the worst in people. The Warden has one ally of sorts in Crane the magician. When kids in his precinct disappear, the Warden wants to ignore them. However, the first corpse he discovers alarms him and forces him to ally with his former law enforcement compatriots the Black House to insure a proper investigation occurs. Although somewhat difficult to delineate the recent past with the present, Low Town is a gritty postapocalyptic investigative noir starring a vicious antihero. The dystopian story line is at it best during the inquiry that besides providing a good murder mystery enables readers to picture the slummy precinct and understand the helplessness of the impoverished. This is an engaging first tale as Daniel Polansky paints a draconian future. Harriet Klausner
JerseyAngel More than 1 year ago
When I first started reading Low Town, I was taken by surprise when I realized fantasy was mixed in to the story. The only way I can describe the beginning was that I felt sort of disoriented. I had trouble finding a connection to the story. This was probably because I didn't go into the book with a totally open mind. I kept reading & once I opened my mind, I fell completely into Low Town. No time or place really, your imagination is allowed to create whatever you want it to be. Every reader will have a different picture of when & where this took place. Low Town is a gritty, crime ridden town that was once hit with the plague. Mix that with sorcerer's and law enforcement that runs like an underworld military team and you have a base for an incredible story. There are few slow spots and the author does a great job of keeping you wanting more. I did, however, see the ending coming. I had the mystery part of the story guessed early on but that didn't ruin anything at all for me. I wasn't disappointed at all, great book! As a side note, I discovered from the author's Facebook page that this will be a series. Can't wait to read more!
Katya_Sozaeva More than 1 year ago
In "Low Town," Daniel Polansky has done something few authors have done - taken a noir mystery thriller and placed it in a fantasy world. I've only seen one other author make use of this type of story-telling idea, and have no idea why, because it is really a fabulous idea that allows a much broader range of ideas to be expressed. Low Town has it all - drugs, vice, violence - and sorcery. Known as The Warden, the main character (a true anti-hero if I ever met one) has run Low Town's drug trade by himself for the five years since he was pushed out of Black House (the secret police), where he had worked since after the Dren wars. However, his established routine is shaken up by the disappearance and then murder of a young girl - ending up in the limelight after finding her body, he is forced to ally himself with Black House in order to try to stop further murders. This was an amazing book and there is a twist at the end that I never once saw coming - it was very well done and I have to congratulate the author on so successfully fooling me. The characters are all well-done with developed personalities and separate natures, even if they are minor characters - this is always a trait I much admire in a writer. Overall, this is a must-read for fantasy, mystery, thriller, suspense AND noir fans - definitely pick this one up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
N/A