×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Luckiest Girl
     

The Luckiest Girl

4.4 63
by Beverly Cleary, Eileen McKeating (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Falling in Love . . .

Shelly fells as if she's living in a fantasyland. She's spending the school year in southern California, where flowers bloom in November, oranges grow on trees, and lawns are mowed in winter. When the star of the basketball team smiles at her, Shelly feels as if she's been touch by magic. Now she's about to discover the magic of falling in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Luckiest Girl 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 63 reviews.
dolphin_sharks More than 1 year ago
A REVIEW OF THE BOOK THE LUCKIEST GIRL WRITTEN BY BEVERLY CLEARY The Luckiest Girl is a book of love, learing, romance and more. Find out what happens as a girl finds her way out of boy troubles and just life troubles. This book is recommended to teenage girls. Shelly is a shy, funny, smart girl. She moved to visit her mom's friend in California. She finds new friends and faces new problems. Shelly has straight As. She is not the prettiest girl a guy would want to go out with but she has a GREAT personality. A guy named Philip, star of the basket ball team and her biology partner asks her out. But a problem breaks. Her biology grades are falling because she doesn't pay any attention in class because of Philip. But that's not he only thing Philip's grades fall a lot to. But there is a basket ball game coming up Philip needs to play for his team but his grades are to low for him to qualify. Find out what happens when Shelly and Philip's problems get solved. It's the hard way but it's for the better of both of them. I recommend this book to kids over 12 because it has a lot of love and romance in it that has to do with teenage girl problems. But it can relate to many teenage girl problems.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I read it in seventh grade and I fell in love with it. I am a HUGE romantic so it was perfect for me. I loved it because it has a sweetness and a simpleness to it. I recomend it to anyone who likes teenage love stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love romance books and this is the best that i have read so far i am definitely going to buy all of beverly clear's
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book would be rated for everyone 10+. But honestly anyone could fall in love with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love it
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Luckiest Girl Is a very good book. The reason I feel it¿s a good book is because I can to relate to it in some ways. I would recommend this book to teenage girls.Teenagers would understand it and relate to it better than younger girls.This book showed me that there is other girls who also get humiliated by there parents. Also that life can offer us great opportunities and if we don¿t go with it something great might come out of it. The Luckiest Girl is about a girl named, Shelley Latham, from Oregon. Her life is so perfect, but this year, she wants to start her jr year in high school different.This year she didn¿t want a pink coat with a velvet button. She wanted a yellow slicker with a hat to match. One day, Shelley¿s mother got a letter from her old roommate form California. In the letter it asked, if she could send Shelley down for the winter. Shelley¿s mother thought Mavis, her friend was nuts, to send her a letter with just a few days notice. Shelley¿s mother ends up changing her mind, and Shelley is able to go to California. Shelley will be staying with Mavis and her family while she is there.The new guy on the basketball team smiles at her and she feel so lucky. All the other girls are so mad. Shelley ends up findings out what it¿s like to fall in love. To find out more you¿ll have to read the book yourself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a great book i love it and i would rcommend it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it i thought it was great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is probably my favorite Beverly Cleary book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hihly recomend it is a freaken good book
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Luckiest Girl is a fantastic addition to Beverly Cleary's many masterpieces! It is a wonderful trip back in time!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved it. I could not put it down. My mom kept telling me to go to bed but I could not put the fasinating book down
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although Beverly Cleary is mostly known for younger books, a teenage girl can read this one. I've read this book a couple times, and I'm still not tired of it. It tells the story of a teen girl going to live to CA for the school year. While there,she falls in love. Thw whole time I was reading it, I wanted to be Shelley. Teen girls should read it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book can really grow on to you. Iloved all of Cleary's books but this one just koks me off my feet.I would love to be Shelly. She was so calm about Katie. If Icould be Shelly I would LOVE to live her life!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
im a 12 year old girl and this relates so much to how life really is.....a girl named shelley goes to cali and falls deeply in love will goin threw the ups and downs of life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
i used to hate cleary books they are so childish, but this was such a good book. The setting so so cool and the way that the author discribes everything. I should be requered to all teenage girls . It tells you what is really impoirtant how someone is not who. i could not put this book down it was so good. this is one of my favorite books of the year.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book was so awesome i loved it iwish that could happen to me there is romance and a great mother-daughter book This is my most favorie book ever!!!!!!! mothers should by this for their daughters i loved it you should read it
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book when I was 14 and I loved it. The characters are so vivid that you feel like you are in the story. I think that every young girl should read this book. Now that I am a mother, i got this book for my daughters to read. Mothers buy this book for your daughters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loving this as I read. Everyone that loves this book needs to read Fifteen!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate boys they are soooooooooooooooo mean and discusting like they are gross. Some are nice but MOST are stupid. I am not saying this is a bad book but they are! That is my opinion. When they are ages 2-5 they are adorable!!!!!! Dont get me wrong i love Beverly Cleary but BOYS ARE GROSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:(:(:(:( BARF IN MY MOUTH hahaha
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So.................. i am the luckirst girl. Not the point int his book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome so far