×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lucky Stiff (Mattie Winston Series #4)
     

Lucky Stiff (Mattie Winston Series #4)

4.0 22
by Annelise Ryan
 

See All Formats & Editions

It's Christmas Day in the sleepy town of Sorenson, Wisconsin, but instead of unwrapping presents, deputy coroner Mattie Winston is at the burnt remains of a house, where a charred body has been found. The victim is none other than Jack Allen--a paraplegic who recently won a huge casino jackpot. Upon closer inspection, Mattie and detective Steve Hurley are convinced

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lucky Stiff 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
MM727 More than 1 year ago
ALMOST FINISHED READING THIS ONE.. AND CAN'T WAIT FOR ANOTHER BOOK TO BE RELEASED FROM THIS AUTHOR. MATTIE WINSTON JUST SEEMS TO BE A REAL PERSON WITH LIFE CONFLICTS AND INSECURITES LIKE EVERYONE. EASY TO RELATE.. THE HUMOR MAKES THIS A VERY FUN READ AND THE MYSTERY KEEPS THE INTEREST
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have to agree with two previous reviewers.  This book wasn't as enjoyable as the earlier books in this series.  Towards the end, I was getting the sinking feeling that the book would end unhappily for Mattie.  Then, a pleasant surprise and I thought, "Oh good.  A happy  ending after all".  But then the author pulls the rug out from under the reader and it's just depressing again.  I also will try the next book in the series, but, if it's as depressing as this one, I will move on to other books.  I, too, read as an enjoyable escape and don't want to be de- pressed by a book.  I can turn on the news to be depressed. Here's hoping things look up for Mattie or I will be saying good-bye to her. 
HartmyPebbles More than 1 year ago
I loved the first books in this series. This one was a severe let down; and by down I mean depressing. It started with a disgustingly detailed autopsy (I might have expected it based on the other books but not as the opening gambit) and was filled with very sad  stories. It was like the author declared, "by gumm this story is going to be realistic to the sad state of the world where happy endings are unlikely and people consistently make poor choices!" That may be true but I read a book for escape of which there is very little in this book. There were humorous moments but it was missing a lot of the elements that made the other books so enjoyable; interaction with her pets, her crazy mom, and light hearted moments at her expense. And the whole section where they went out of town on  a trip should have just been left out; it was ridiculous. But at least you are left with a warm fuzzy feeling at the end...oh wait.. I guess I feel like the other reviewer, I will try the next but if it's like this one then I will be done. Which is too bad because this series was shaping up to be one of my all time favorites. 
1dachsmom More than 1 year ago
ANOTHER GREAT READ BY ANNELIESE RYAN. Don't miss this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Didnt enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed this series. Will search for other Annelise Ryan books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mattie deals with the stresses of life and dead bodies and a new "hunk" appears on the sidelines. Was a very enjoyable read and have been encouraging all my friends/family to "meet" Mattie also.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Murder on page one! Mattie must make some decisions. Emotions up and down. A great addition to the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read for pleasure and expect to have a happy resolution for the characters and the storyline. This was a complete downer. Very frustrating read. I don't need to be depressed by the ending of a book. Reality is bad enough.
FooJO More than 1 year ago
I love this series. Waiting for the next to be released. These stories are very enjoyable to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very intertaining. Enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Waiting for the next one and wishing it was sooner than later. 303 pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I knew i was on the last page, but I turn it anyway, hoping for more!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very depressing. Depressing from start to finish. Granted people have bad luck in thier lives, but Ms. Ryan piles it on Mattie by the boatload. I will try the next book in this series. If it is as depressing as this one I will dicontinue to buy Ms. Ryan's books. The previous books were good. This one does not hold up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ryan does a great job bringing these small town characters to life. For a fast and enjoyable read, this series goes far too quickly!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sissy