×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lucky You
     

Lucky You

3.6 32
by Carl Hiaasen
 

See All Formats & Editions

Grange, Florida, is, famous for its miracles-the weeping fiberglass Madonna, the Road-Stain Jesus, the stigmata man. And now it has JoLayne Lucks, unlikely winner of the state lottery. Unfortunately, JoLayne's winning ticket isn't the only one. The other belongs to Bodean Gazzer and his raunchy sidekick, Chub, who want the whole $28 million jackpot to start their own

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lucky You 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book however it had many slow sections for me. I feel it had too many other characters with information concerning them that I really didn't care about. Extra fluff that I just wanted to skip over and get back to the real plot.
Maximillian More than 1 year ago
Carl Hiaasen writes about screwball characters and unbelievable situations. His humor makes you laugh out loud as you read. I love to read one of his books (this was the third title by him for me) when I need a break from more serious tomes. However, there certainly is an undercurrent of keen observation and commentary about human nature and morality in his stories. I do love it that the bad guys get what's coming to them and the good guys get their due.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Complete opposite of these deeply developed novels that you need to take notes to follow. Don't get me wrong, Mr. Hiasson has a great plot, albeit a little corny, but it's ENTERTAINING! If you want to escape from the seriousness of everyday life and laugh, then this book is a must read! Great characters, hysterical plot, fast, funny read.
SusyBeast More than 1 year ago
The usually fun ride from Hiaasen! Read and enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun book! The characters are all original and well thought out. I will definitely read more if his books!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PennedQuinn More than 1 year ago
My mother lent me this book (which led to it living on my "to read" bookshelf for almost a year), but I was shocked to enjoy it! The whole book abounds with humor, humanity, and a certain amount of suspense. Worthwhile pool read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dysphoric_Angel More than 1 year ago
Lucky You is a comic-crime story about a veterinarian assistant named JoLayne Lucks who one day stumbles upon fortune by winning the Florida state lottery, a prize of 28 million dollars. In another part of Florida, two redneck morons, Chub and Bode, stumble upon this same fortune and once they realize that the 28 million would have to be split between the two winning tickets, the rednecks steal JoLayne's ticket by force with the intention of cashing both to get the 28 million together. JoLayne enlists the help of a newspaper reporter, Tom Krome, to get hunt down the rednecks and get her ticket back. I am a big Carl Hiaasen fan. I have not read all of his novels, but this is the fifth one I've read, and the first one that I couldn't bring myself to finsih. Lucky You goes at a much slower pace than his other novels do, with characters that are not as well developed. Normally his bad guys, or most interesting characters, have some kind of psychological issue which makes them fiendishly lovable. In Tourist Season, the four men of the guerrilla faction were each psychotic in their own way, taking orders from a raging sociopath reporter, in Skinny Dip, Chaz descended into deeper and deeper psychosis as the story went on, in Skin Tight, Chemo and Mick Stranahan were equally psychotic, just on different realms of the good-guy/bad-guy spectrum, and the doctor was delightfully sleazy and greedy, and in Nature Girl, Honey Santana was an excitable manic-depressive who went to extreme lengths to exact revenge on those who had done her wrong. These psychologically unstable characters are enjoyable because, although they are psychotic, they are smart and clever. Chub and Bode, the bad guys of this story, are not so smart, nor are they clever. They're just a couple of desperate, racist redneck morons who stumble upon fortune. This makes the story predictable, as JoLayne and Tom are the clever team, vs. the dumb redneck team. It's cat and mouse. The segments of the story with JoLayne, Tom and the White Clarion Aryans are the most gripping segments of the story though. Much of it is filled with side stories about other characters that really don't matter much to the overall chase, and the side stories move very slowly. The quirky antics of the other characters really does not matter much in comparison to the main chase of the novel. Unfortunately, it often feels that there is too much fluff in the novel and it weighs on the pace of the novel. Overall, not worth a second read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first book by this author and I will read more. This book was cute, it wasn't 'jump-up-and-down' fantastic but it was interesting. I found it easy to put down but on the other hand I couldn't wait to see what happened next. --K--
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago