×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Lydia's Charm
     

Lydia's Charm

4.7 56
by Wanda E. Brunstetter
 

See All Formats & Editions

Visit Amish Country during the fall as Lydia King attempts to make Charm, Ohio, feel like home after losing her husband. But is her heart ready to open back up to love when gifts appear on her porch from a mystery source? Could it be from the widowed father of four energetic boys, or is it from the man who has rejected romance to be his family’s caregiver?

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Lydia's Charm 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 54 reviews.
Taliasba More than 1 year ago
Wanda Brunstetter puts her readers in the Amish life with her books. In Lydia's Charm, the setting is Autumn and with her description of the area makes you feel like you are standing right there. This book has much sadness in it dealing with the loss of loved ones but it also has hope within God's love. If you enjoy reading books based in Amish country and the Amish people then you'll want to read this book as well as all her other books. you will never be disappointed. Taliasba
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wfnren More than 1 year ago
Lydia King decides to accept her mother's offer of moving to Charm, Ohio after losing her job because of a slow down at the restaurant where she was working. It was her only source of income as a widow with a young son, Josh. Lydia and Josh would live with Mae, her mother, and her grandfather. Mae was a widow also and had moved in with her father to care for him since her two brothers had moved. Growing up Lydia always felt as if she couldn't do anything right, her mother always corrected everything she did, she hoped things would be different now that she was a mother herself. Lydia was never told that when Mae was growing up, her dad treated her the same way, she thinks it's because he lost Mae's mother when she was giving birth to Mae. Mae and her father still do not get along, and things between Lydia and Mae don't seem to have changed either. Josh brings joy to his great-grandfather's life, the few times Josh is able to sneak into his room anyway. Mae is constantly nagging four year old Josh to be quiet, to stay away from his great-grandfather and is jealous of their relationship. Lydia finds a job at the local restaurant and Mae babysits Josh. Mae has plans of Lydia maybe marrying Menno, a widow with four boys, but Lydia doesn't seem attracted to him in that way. Levi appeals more to Lydia but Mae hates the idea of her marrying him because, although Levi is normal height, the rest of his family are 'little people'. Mae won't even talk to Levi's family or shop in their store. As Lydia's grandfather is passing away, he finally makes peace with Mae. A short time later Josh is killed when he runs into the road and a car coming over a hill cannot get stopped in time and hits him. Now they have medical bills and two funerals so Lydia goes back to work after burying Josh, but they also have a guardian angel who mysteriously leaves them food and money. Mae gets her hopes up regarding Lydia and Menno as they are spending more and more time together. Shy Levi finally gets up enough nerve to ask Lydia out, but it seems every time he tries Menno comes and interrupts the conversation and asks Lydia out first. I guess you'll have to read this book to find out if Lydia marries Menno or Levi and if she stays in Illinois when she goes to be with a friend who loses her father in an accident. What happens to Mae after her father dies, does she move on with her life or continue to live in her fathers house by herself, or with Lydia? Does Mae convince Lydia to marry Menno? I really enjoyed this book, Wanda did not disappoint. I will say this is a good investment for anyone that reads Amish stories or Wanda Brunstetter books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MelissaMollasses More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the book and am a huge fan of Amish Fiction and of Wanda Brunstetter. I loved how she draws you into the story and makes you feel as you are actually there, I could almost taste that silly stew (recipe included!). My only negative is there were alot of tragedies- but some of us simply live more tragic lives than others. I would definately recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MSantorum More than 1 year ago
very good book could not lay it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mrsred49 More than 1 year ago
I love the way Wanda Brunstetter writes about the Amish, and this book will not fail to please. Lydia King is a young woman that has a four year old son but has lost her husband, then she looses her job in Arthur, Illinois with no way to make a living for herself and little boy, she moves to Charm and into the house with her Mother and grandfather. Lydia is a young independent woman and she and her mother does not see eye to eye, but the grandfather was disabled after having suffered a stroke so her mother was really taxed and then she was keeping her little 4 year old grandson while Lydia worked at the local diner. This book is so different that Wanda's other books that it seemed as though another author had wrote it. Instead of all the Amish way of life this one brought in a family of "little people", they ran a local store and their oldest son was a man the size of all others. He felt like he always needed to help his parents and his siblings and planned never to marry. Then there was a young man that had four small boys and had lost his wife to cancer, he just could not handle working his business, doing the housework, cooking and taking care of a farm and his sons. You can imagine that when Lynda came to Charm what he was thinking. Lynda had quite a bit of heartache in her young life as she lost others close to her but with God's help she tried her best to get through. If you love to read Wanda Brunstetter's books and want a little change then this book will fit right in. I have all of Wanda's older books but since I have started doing reviews I have not acquired many of her new ones, so this was a treat for me. This book was sent to me for review form Barbour Publishing for my honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mamawof4 More than 1 year ago
This was one of those can't put down kind of books. I read it in 2 days. All of Wanda Brunstetter's books are great. She pulls you into the characters and stories right from the start and keeps you there until the end. This is a book I would recommend to anyone.
sml25dc More than 1 year ago
This book is another great example of God's faithfulness and love. It captivated me from the beginning and I could hardly put it down. Although it was really sad to know that Lydia lost her husband and then her son, Wanda Brunstetter does a great job of showing how God can take a tragic circumstance and use it for his glory and for his good. This book is a definite must read.