×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mademoiselle Boleyn
     

Mademoiselle Boleyn

4.3 22
by Robin Maxwell
 

See All Formats & Editions

When her father is assigned the task of spying on the French Court, the charming and sweetly innocent Anne Boleyn is delighted by the thought of a new adventure. And she is not to be disappointed, for her beautiful sister, Mary, has been handed a mission: to let herself be seduced by the King of France in order to uncover his secrets.

Mesmerized by the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mademoiselle Boleyn 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is by far the best novel about Anne Boleyn that I have read so far. Robin Maxwell has done a fantastic job to breathe new life into the Tudor novel genre. The novel begins when Anne is a nine year old girl being sent to the French Royal court by her scheming father. There she will come of age while wacthing her sister Mary become the royal mistress to the French king. This is a must read for anyone who is interested in the Tudors.
AnnaGD More than 1 year ago
Truley Enjoyed this book. If you enjoy historical non fiction and are in love with the Tudors.. you will enjoy this book. Second book I have read by Robin, will continue following her.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far the most exciting book I've ever read, and the best novel about Anne Boleyn, Im a tudor hitory buff and I LOVE Anne
This novel is the perfect convination of history, drama, romance
This story takes place in the Francis I french court, and the novel shows the sexual and social context of that times.

Certainly the best book ever! You must read it!
harstan More than 1 year ago
At eight years old Anne Boleyn accompanies her family to the Netherlands where she is deserted at the court of Archduchess Margaret of Burgundy. Feeling all alone she learns to cope as the foreigner in a strange place even teaching herself to understand French. A year later, after a brief respite back home, she is sent to live at the French King Louis XII¿s court as part of Princess Mary¿s retinue when she wed the French monarch. Unlike her previous regal stay, Anne learns to fit in even as her homeland is at war with her current country. The most valuable lesson a young female can have is to gain knowledge that can be used to counterbalance the power of men have over women to do that she learns the lesson of being in plain sight yet remain indistinguishable from the rest of the retinue. She observes how women are nothing except chattel as her father ¿sells¿ her then eleven year old sister Mary to serve as mistress to the French King and she is expected to spy on the French rulers who treat her with care and respect unlike her own family. Over the next eight years she stayed on the continent where Anne concludes that unless a woman marries into power as Princess Mary Tudor did when she wed her ancient French monarch, she is subject to abuse by all males not just her spouse, father, or brother. Anne learns her lessons well when King Henry comes for her.-------------- MADEMOISELLE BOLEYN is one of the best biographical fiction works of the year. The insight into how Anne learned survival techniques in a male dominant world will shock the audience as females are sexual pawns even when they are as young as eleven years old and expendable as eight years old. Robin Maxwell further supports her premise with a deep look at the royal support cast and the Bolyn family. Sub-genre readers especially those who appreciate the Henry the Eighth era will want to read this powerful look at the fifteenth century and know ¿we¿ve come a long way baby¿, but not far enough.---------------- Harriet Klausner
EugeneTX More than 1 year ago
I love the cover of this book. Actually, I love the book although I do not typically read novels. This book is written in an adult format and I very specifically would not recommend it for reading by anyone with a history of abuse, unless someone you love and trust to share your feelings, is nearby. It is a great book and it portrays what the Queen's early life, before getting involved with Henry VIII's machinations, might have been like as if seen through her eyes. It vovers a possible friendship with De Vinvi who we know was at the French Court at the time. It also covers her early attachment to Lord Henry Percy and the possibility that they had fallen in love. Unfortunately, Anne was never able to break free of the stranglehold of her father and then the English King. The tragedy of her relationship with Henry Percy could be the topic of a book alone. At the time of her trial, Lord Percy had been elevated to the Peerage and was thus forced to sit in judgement on her. This is a novel well worth reading and her coping strategies in rejecting the sexual advances of King Francis would be hilarious if the cause were not so sad. This book is another piece of illuminating material on a period that was deliberately erased. As you read the story, try to keep the perspective and context of a very young, innocent girl being thrust into an alien environment and having to learn all she was expected to learn. She was very fortunate to have developed an early relationship with Queen Claude and with Marguerite, King Francis' sister. These good people were her family during the period of her adolescent development. Remember as you read that she is human and what she says is that this is what I see and this is how I react with feelings and emotion. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was one of the most amazing books I've read. In other books I'd read about Anne, she was portrayed as being a greedy, restless woman whose quest for power would not be impaired by anything. But this book, which gives us a glimpse into her earlier years, shows her as a clever and often intimidated young woman who only wants love. I had a hard time putting this book down and I loved Anne's clever, observational narration. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to hear a realistic interpretation of Anne's side of the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I adored this book.
LeTempsViendra More than 1 year ago
I guess I am the only person who did not like this book.. The author portrays Anne Boleyn as this naive girl with only the best intentions in life.. It's a boring and pointless book. As a history buff ((especially Tudor history)) this book was a waste of time. Stick to Philippa Gregory if you're into Tudor history!