×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mafia Summer: A Novel
     

Mafia Summer: A Novel

4.3 6
by E. Duke Vincent
 

See All Formats & Editions

One a Sicilian Hell's Kitchen gang leader, the other a sickly but brilliant Orthodox Jewish boy who lives next door, Vinny Vesta and Sidney Butcher meet on a fire escape during the blistering New York City summer of 1950. Their friendship develops over the course of a summer that will change Vinny's fortunes forever, at a cost he could never have imagined. Based on a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mafia Summer: A Novel 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this genre and read just about any mafia books I can find. This is by FAR the worst of any I have read. So stereotypical that it becomes a characature of the Italian mafia in every way. It is so Hokie that at times it's embarrassing. I wouldn't even recommend this to people I don't like. My advice, stick with Mario Puzo and Lorenzo Carcaterra. This is junk.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I WAS A FLY ON THE FIRE ESCAPE W/ THE 2 BOYS - VERY REALISTIC WRITING! MADE YOU STOP AND THINK HOW IMPORTANT FRIENDSHIPS ARE - HOW THEY CAN MAKE A PERSON REALIZE WHO THEY REALLY ARE! OPPOSITES ATTRACT - THAT'S A DEFINITE!
MikeLush78 More than 1 year ago
I found it to be a quick read and I didn't want to put the book down... That should say it all...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not a book only about hard and heartless boys and men. It's also about friendships. If you enjoy the mob, mixed in with obvious fiction, this will be an enjoyable book. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I'll probably read it again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
jewelz2232 More than 1 year ago
I just grab this book out of the blue never did I imagine i would get so sucked into it. From the time i opened it and started to read it I was unable to put it back down. Not to many books hold my attention the way this one did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
E. Duke Vincent has written one of the top notch books of Mafia fiction! His accuracy of actual events blended in with fictional characters and the over all plot of the story flow like a river! It's a page turner that once you start, you'll be unable to stop reading, it grips you that strongly. Not many authors can pull off what Vincent has, so take a chance you will not regret it, this book is a keeper!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Excellent read, that will keep you at the edge of you seat.Story has it all,mob power,revenge,loyalty,love,friendship and deadly consequences
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book kept me interested from cover to cover. By mixing in fiction and factual characters Mr. Duke managed to write one of the most intriguing novels I have read in a long, long time. Similar stories may have been told before but Mr. Duke manged to tell it like no one else has.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this is one of the books so far this year that was hard for me to put down. i didnt think that i would like it that much nor what to expect next---this is how outstanding it is. i couldnt wait to find out what was going to happen next. it also has some history in it about the mafia that one would find quite interesting ---you just have to know fact from fiction.