×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Magic Burns (Kate Daniels Series #2)
     

Magic Burns (Kate Daniels Series #2)

4.6 487
by Ilona Andrews
 

See All Formats & Editions

As a mercenary who cleans up after magic gone wrong, Kate Daniels knows how waves of paranormal energy ebb and flow across Atlanta like a tide. But once every seven years, a flare comes, a time when magic runs rampant. When Kate sets out to retrieve a set of stolen maps for the Pack, Atlanta's paramilitary clan of shape shifters, she quickly realizes much more is at

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Magic Burns (Kate Daniels Series #2) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 487 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In this second installment, Kate reluctantly agrees to do a favor for the local Pack and investigate the disappearance of some valuable maps. While hunting down the culprit, Kate gets called in on another favor. This time she winds up shackled with a teenage street urchin whose mother recently joined an amateur witch coven and went missing shortly after. Kate promises to find the girl's mother and, in the process, is caught in the crossfire between two ancient deities vying for power. So pretty much an average day for Kate and the city of Atlanta. The highlights of MAGIC BURNS are definitely the increased personal interactions between Kate and the various people and creatures who've come into her life. The growing attachment between Kate and Julie (the young girl in her care) develops quickly and the protective stance Kate takes throughout the course of the book is quite touching . Equally compelling is the more slowly developing connection between Curran, the Pack alpha, and Kate. Despite their mutual attempts to avoid each other. The reader gains several insights into these two almost painfully private people and the ending promises more good things to come. In fact, these quiet character-driven scenes were so interesting that I wished there were just a few more. The plentiful action and fighting sequences seem to always take center stage and, though we do get a little more information on Kate's background, it is a very little, and I am (of course) anxious for more. A solid second book, I'm looking forward to the third one.
AnkhetCM More than 1 year ago
In Magic Burns, the sequel to Andrews' Magic Bites, the magic in Kate Daniels' world is going crazy. More specifically, it is leading up to a flare, a period of time where the magic overtakes tech and holds steady and strong. During a flare all kinds of things can happen - including the manifestation of deities into the mortal world, bringing all their squabbles and wars with them.

I'm really liking this series, and cannot wait for the next installment! There are still a few issues in this book which I mentioned in my review of the previous book: namely, twists of storytelling which go too fast for me to follow (I could have used a turning signal, or at least a few more paragraphs) and a few editing and proofreading errors. Nonetheless, this is definitely an entertaining world which Ilona Andrews has crafted, and I enjoy reading Kate's viewpoint of her world.

I am glad that more of Kate's background is coming to light in this book. I have my guesses as to some of her secrets, and am sure that in the next book (or two or three) they will be confirmed. I am also loving the subtle, slowly growing romance between Kate and Curran, the Beast Lord.

I definitely recommend Magic Bites and Magic Burns to lovers of urban fantasy - especially dark urban fantasy, as this series is certainly not light, happy-go-lucky fare. It is real and gritty, with death and blood as much a part of Kate's world as (if not more than) love and happy endings.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Magic has returned to the world, but it comes in waves. When it flares, it is out of control when it flows it works. The world obviously has changed since the return with cities devastated as the magic hates tech and skyscrapers and either destroys them or changes them into something else.------------- In Atlanta Kate Daniels works for the Order and the Mercenary¿s Guild who helps people in need. She takes dowwn a killer in an underground garage but an unknown person does the actual kill using a special dart. A member of the shapeshifting Pack asks her to find maps stolen from them. The thief used the same dart that killed the man in the garage.. Kate returns to the scene where she got the dart. There she follows a clue to a child Julie, who is looking for her mom, a witch belonging to a nearby coven. Each vanished without a trace. Kate takes Julie home with her, but that proves no haven as sea demons attack. She next brings the child to the Order. She finally meets the dart thrower Bran who informs her that she, the witches and the shifters are caught in the middle of a war between two gods.----------------- This urban fantasy is a spellbinding compelling read. On this alternate earth, vampires, shifters and other paranormals co-exist with humans often not in harmony. Kate has a secret agenda and apparently has powers and a secret that are hinted at throughout the exciting story line. She makes the tale work as this alternate Atlanta seems genuine as a fascinating culture built around magic feels plausible. However it is Kate who will bring fans back for future tales. P Harriet Klausner
KikiD870 19 days ago
Magic Burns is the second book in the Kate Daniels series and I loved it just about as much as I did the first. Magic comes and goes unpredictably in the world of Kate Daniels, but every seven years there is a magic flare. During those times, the magic runs wild and brings with it even bigger magical issues. Because of the flare, the stakes are higher for Kate. The flare is the one time that ancient gods and goddesses can manifest on earth and they take advantage of that. Once on earth, it is a battle for power and Kate is stuck right in the middle of it. I love the characters in these books. Kate is smart and fierce and surprisingly funny. Her love-hate relationship with Curran, the Beast Lord, is equal parts hilarious and sexy as sin. We learn a bit more about Kate and her past in this book, although I still have more questions than answers. That just makes me even more ready for the next book. I think Curran might almost be my favorite part of this book. He has no idea what to think about Kate. She's stubborn and unyielding and he has no idea how to handle. As the Beast Lord, he is used to subservience, but he doesn't get that with Kate. She has zero problem mouthing off to him and as much as that frustrates him, he loves it, too. Overall This is a great series and I feel like it is just getting better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I always had the impression that while each of her three aspects had an individual name, "Morrigan" was the title rather than the name of the Celtic deity in question. In other words, she was called THE Morrigan. Just to be correct.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great ending. Can't wait to read the next one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Caroles_Random_Life More than 1 year ago
This is a really hard review to write. I have been putting off writing this review for a month now...like that is going to help me in any way. I absolutely LOVE this series and everything that the writing team of Ilona Andrews writes. I had some problems with the narration of this audiobook even though I have enjoyed this narrator on other works. I am rating this book based on the story and not the narration. This is one of those series that gets better with each book. This is a great book filled with some of the best characters in any story and set in an original and exciting world. The book has a lot of action which keeps things very exciting. Every single scene that involves His Furriness, Curran, makes me want to swoon and I seriously have no idea how Kate can keep it together. I would have loved to see more of Kate and Curran together but I think that every interaction between the pair is memorable because they are so perfectly timed. The writing is flawless. I love the humor that finds its way into the story and the fact that these characters are such good people. They pride themselves on protecting others and will sacrifice as need to achieve that goal. This book introduces more or the pack politics including the inner workings of the bouda clan. Since I had read the book a couple of years ago before listening to this audiobook, I found it really interesting to go back and see these characters in this book from early in the series. It is amazing how the groundwork for later events were laid so early. I did have trouble with the narration in some areas. I like the narrator just fine for a large part of the book but some of her voices were just wrong in my opinion. Julie is a 13 year old girl but in this audiobook she sounds like she might be all of 4 years old. The voice is not even close to representing a girl of 13. Raphael sounded like he was deranged or something instead of the suave bouda male that I know him to be. I thought that Curran sounded too growly (I know that is not a word but I am saying it anyway). I can deal with Curran's voice but the other two made me cringe every time I heard them and Julie's voice was in the book a lot. I do think that this narrator does a good job with Kate and most of the narration but the parts that were bad were really bad for me. I would recommend this book to everyone. I would also recommend that all readers start with the first book in the series, Magic Bites. This series really needs to be read in order. I will continue to read everything written by Ilona Andrews that I can get my hands on. I will probably continue with my re-read of this series on audio simply because I have already paid for the whole series but I would recommend to others to stick to the actual book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LynnieB1 More than 1 year ago
Such a well written book, I could clearly picture the characters in my mind. Love this author!
Book_Sniffers_Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this story a little more entertaining than the first book. In this story Kate finds herself the protector and guardian of a 13 year old girl with immense powers. She’s basically a walking, talking, living, M-scanner. She can see auras and can tell what exactly a person is. She’s highly sought and not for good reasons. Add on top of that a guy who can turn into mist and disappear, who’s reeking havoc with the Pack. Pretty soon, Kate finds herself asking Curran for help. I liked that this book had new characters thrown in. I really liked the addition of Julie since it showed Kate’s softer side, which we don’t seem to see much of. Plus there was the added bonus of Curran as well. In the first book the two of them just bantered back and forth, and even though they still do that, Curran seems to be staking his claim on Kate. Even though Kate isn’t overly aware of it. “I glanced at him and saw a lion. He didn’t change, his face still fully human, but there was something disturbingly lion-like in the way he sat, completely focused on me, as if ready to pounce. Stalking me without moving a muscle. The primordial urge to freeze shackled my limbs. I just sat there, unable to look away.” I think the primary focus was all the kick-assery that was taking place throughout the book though. We got to see some more of Kate’s awesome yet unknown skills in action. I still have no idea what she is but it seems like we may be getting closer to the truth. I will have to pick up the next book to see if we get any farther in knowing what Kate is. Plus, I’m kinda hoping to see what all the hype of Curran is about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series continues to get better. Kate is definitely all that!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Much excitement, many laughs and even a few tears. Can't wait for the next book in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Well, book you honestly something aren't you? I was going to rate this a 4 but you just had to be awesome. Looks this is 5 stars now. When I first heard about the series, I was thinking eh I'll read it. And after a while I hadn't read it. Until finally, freaking finally begun the first book and loved it. And this one, love even more. We got tension, we got different supernatural creatures, we got hilarious quotes, which I might add are awesome and uh quote worthy, we got quite the ending and we got, well a pretty good sequel. I do believe this is becoming my new favorite series that I won't be bored and want to actually read the next book until I'm caught up with the recent addition in the series. Oh and did I mention this has quite the tension moments between Curran and Kate? And Bran has his moments as well, which you can't help but like the guy in a way. Bad boy characters am I right? Anyway, what I'm saying is, give this series a read if you like urban fantasy and well, why haven't you read this series yet?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is fun to read. I like the world, the characters and the story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago