×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Maid to Match
     

Maid to Match

4.3 372
by Deeanne Gist
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the day she arrives at the Biltmore, Tillie Reese is dazzled--by the riches of the Vanderbilts and by Mack Danvers, a mountain man turned footman. When Tillie is enlisted to help tame Mack's rugged behavior by tutoring him in the ways of refined society, the resulting sparks threaten Tillie's efforts to be chosen as Edith Vanderbilt's lady's maid. But the stakes

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Maid to Match 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 372 reviews.
rspooner More than 1 year ago
Maid to Match is a historical romance novel written by Deeane Gist. Set in the late 1800's, Maid to Match is a story about Tillie Reese, a maid at the Biltmore mansion. Coming from a lower-class family, Tillie has been working her way up the ladder of success since childhood. She is on the verge of getting everything she ever dreamed of, a position of lady's maid to the lady of the house. A life of adventure, prestige, wearing fancy clothes, traveling, reading, a life that is everything she has ever wanted. Or so she thought. When Tillie is enlisted to help tame Mack Danvers, a mountain man turned footman, she finds that her heart has opened up to new dreams. Torn between the world she has always wanted and the world she has never known, Tillie must choose which path she will follow. As with all historical romance novels, competition is fierce and originality nearly impossible. Love is the universal language, and therefore will always carry a semblance of cliche. It has happened a million times before :) This book is no exception. However, despite it's general failings as a genre, I enjoyed reading this book. It was interesting, moving, and even inspiring. I liked the reality of Tillie's mother. Her human failings, her hopes and dreams she has placed in her daughter, and her attitude towards Tillie's end choice. They gave the book a ring of authenticity. Based on historical facts, Maid to Match was a great book for a rainy day. Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoy's this genre, or as a gift for any woman aged 14 and up. A message of following your heart, it promises to uplift you and leave you smiling at the end. **I received a free copy of this book through Graf-Martin Publishers
Arec More than 1 year ago
I was so completely enchanted by this novel that I was sad when I finished. In fact, I didn't even know that I was close to the end until I turned the page and there wasn't any more text. When I requested this novel from Goodread's book swap, I didn't expect to love it so much. I'm not a fan of Christian novels, but I didn't even know that it was such until I looked up more about the author. There were numerous references to the Christian god, and the character's relying on him for strength and guidance. However, the story was more about the characters and their relationships rather than their god. I immediately fell in love with the characters. Tillie was so simple in her ambitions that I couldn't help but envy her. All she wanted in the entire world was to be a lady's maid and help those less fortunate than her. Then there is Mack, whose only concern is getting his sister out of a horrible orphanage and returning to his home in the mountains. Both Mack and Tillie have their own agendas and they don't plan on letting anything ruin those plans. In fact, in the beginning when Tillie discovers she is up to lady's maid, she tells her own brother that not even someone in love with her is going to stop her from attaining the position. Things don't exactly happen that way. Through determination and some sacrifice both end up getting what they wish, but by then, they aren't sure it is what they really want. Gist delighted me in so many ways. The characters were simple in their aspirations yet had such much....well character. The world as we know it wasn't threaten by anything more than man's selfishness. The heroine wasn't some great hero who had amazing powers or was the only one who could save the world. I loved Gist's style. She really knew how to say something so perfectly to give it a certain feel or to come across a certain way. I was surprised I loved this book as much as I did, but it was a treasure I couldn't believe I found. An instant favorite.
Serene1313 More than 1 year ago
I am from the Asheville area & I really enjoyed reading this book based at Biltmore. Readers should enjoy the book for its ease of reading & very nice imagery. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was really good. I loved the story line and found it very difficult to put down after I started it.
-MetalHeart- More than 1 year ago
First off, I have been to the Biltmore...and I aboslutely love it!! It is any Hopless Romantic's dream, and when I saw that this novel took place in it I just could not resist it. Filled with pent up emotion you will find yourself talking to the two main characters and living in the beautiful mansion that they reside in. I didn't want it to end, and I thank the author for allowing me to visit the Biltmore even from states away!
Gertt More than 1 year ago
Maid to Match is a competely enjoyable book from the first page to the last. The history of the Vanderbilt's life style and home 'Biltmore' provides a excellent contrast to the hopelessness and struggles of the less fortunate. As always, Deeanne Gist creates strong characters that bring the story to life and make you want more. I'm hoping she writes a sequel to this book, since the end of this story is the beginning of another. I have read several of Ms. Gist's books and have loved them all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I truly loved this book. I would recommend it to all types of readers. The storyline was great. The research that went into this book, the imagination I didn't want to put it down. Can't wait to read more from this author. Great job.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Easy to visualize and stay engaged. Enjoyable read.
quibecca More than 1 year ago
4.5 STARS This is such a sweet story. I love sappy, sweet, love stories. They just make me happy. When I am in a foul mood I know I can pick up a "love" story and just be happy. This book did that for me. Of course it has it's frustrating parts, but that's what keeps me listening :). It's so aggravating listening too a book and knowing that the characters need to get together and they just don't see it. UGH...hehe. Tillie has dreamt about being a ladies maid for years. Her mother has dreamed of it even longer than that. Tillie's mother prepped her for being a ladies maid her whole life. Tillie is a very determined young woman, and does all she can to take over for Mrs. Vanderbilt's foreign maid when she leaves. What Tillie didn't expect is Mack. Mmmm....Mack. Handsome, yummy, sweet Mack. Tillie didn't expect Mack. She didn't expect to be drawn to him. She didn't expect Mack to be such a good man. She didn't expect Mack to watch out for her even without her asking. Mack is who all women wish for. hehe. Book boyfriends. HEHE. Mmmm.mmmm...Mack. This story is so sweet. I loved the setting, the writing, the narrator. Everything. It was just what I was looking for. I love the LOVE story. If you are looking for a sweet, historical romance this book is just the right thing for you. I loved reading about the house, the way things worked in the house. I love reading about it, but I know I never would have been able to live back then! Even if it gets a little aggravating at times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thought I would try something out of my normal genre and loved this book. Nice story, easy to follow.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shay14 More than 1 year ago
This book is set at one of my favorite places on earth: the Biltmore in Asheville, North Carolina. Having been there several times, I can attest to the accuracy of Mrs. Gist's description. She is not lying about the opulence and grandeur of the family's living quarters. She is not lying about the servants quarters either. Each room was furnished with a wrought iron framed bed. Their servants looked to be treated very well. The descriptions used throughout the book really make you feel like you're standing in the house or the mountains of Asheville. Tillie Reese is in the running for the coveted lady's maid position. She gives her all to her job. After all, she's been training for it her whole life. She is kind, compassionate, and a little (ok, a lot) stubborn. She is a Christian, as well, and believes she is following God's will for her life. That is, until Mack Danver shows up. Mack is a ruggedly handsome mountain of a man (hehe) who falls in love with Tillie the moment he sees her. He is a smart, well-educated, God fearing (and did I say handsome) man. So, of course, Tillie is also attracted to him. But does he jeopardize the very thing Tillie wants the most? The plot, along with the romance, is expertly written. Deeanne Gist knows how to build a story that sucks the reader in from the beginning and doesn't let them go until the end. In the midst of the romance (there are some "steamy" PG scenes), is a well-thought out and developed plot about the town orphanage. Her description of the orphanage makes you cringe along with Mack and Tillie. The Sloop's attitudes and actions make you angry, right along with Mack and Tillie. The story is not preachy; Mrs. Gist weaves in the spiritual element seamlessly and effortlessly. You root for Mack and Tillie in their struggles to do discern God's will for their lives and overcome their own desires and dreams. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this book! I absolutely loved it! FIVE out of FIVE stars! Go read it!!!
Luv2readMC More than 1 year ago
Having visited Biltmore 3 times and taken an "extra cost" tour the last time too, I LOVED reading about places in and around the home in this book.  I  could just "see" the settings as I read them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be well written, but there were many parts where I got bored with the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Deeanne Gist is an author worth reading. I have read other works of hers and have enjoyed them all. This is no exception. It is worth the read and compelling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good historical fiction/romance
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! The history is fascinating and the story compelling. Two thumbs, way up!