×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Making of a Chef: Mastering Heat at the Culinary Institute of America
     

The Making of a Chef: Mastering Heat at the Culinary Institute of America

4.4 22
by Michael Ruhlman
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Well reported and heartfelt, Ruhlman communicates the passion that draws the acolyte to this precise and frantic profession."—The New York Times Book Review

Just over a decade ago, journalist Michael Ruhlman donned a chef's jacket and houndstooth-check pants to join the students at the Culinary Institute of America, the country's oldest and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Making of a Chef 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
At first, this author might seem a bit nutso, but you have to admire his determination, to uproot his family just to get the story. On further reading, it's the gourmet's ultimate dream, being able to "audit" the full Culinary Institute oif America's (CIA) course. The story as such is straightforward, coming-of-age, education-of-a-pro stuff, with professors with personality, students with personality, tasks with personality. This author then shows us his personality, his passion for pitch-perfect technique, and his own obsession(s) with stocks and sauces -- the basis for all classic cuisine. This is a wild, fun ride, interesting and wondrous.
slovich More than 1 year ago
A recommended read by the CIA, I found this book to be insightful and enjoyable. The author writes well and is the book is interesting to read. The book articulates the work ethic required to have a career and not just a job...and this extends beyond the culinary arts.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
scintron5 More than 1 year ago
I read this book after I graduated Culinary School. I absolutely loved the book. It reminded me of why I went to culinary school in the first place. Michael Ruhlman is an amazing author, and this book is a must-read for culinary hopefuls.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pennstater0315 More than 1 year ago
I'm starting at The Culinary Institute of America here in about 2.5 weeks and this book was on the recommeded reading list. After reading it I am now even more excited to be attending this prestigious institute. If you are thinking about attending the culinary make sure to give this book a read first. It goes very indepth into the program and gives you an idea of what you're getting into.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
emmajeanne16 More than 1 year ago
Nice book for anyone contemplating culinary school. Although a bit outdated at this point in time it still provides insight on the inner workings of the CIA. Enjoyable read for anyone who has a passion for food.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Making of a Chef: Mastering Heat at the Culinary Institute is a revelation to food-lovers and aspiring cooks of what goes on in a professional kitchen. Immersed in the Culinary Institute for six months, Michael Ruhlman effectively translates the cook's jargon of technique and skill into a language that everyone can understand. Ruhlman also touches upon the essential qualities beyond the cook's passion for food: consistency, curiosity and the capacity to evolve.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ruhlman's delightful account of his days at the CIA dismayed me only because I can't be there now! Reading this book I could smell the consomme as the 'raft' floated to the top and feel the refreshing coolness of the bake shop. The Making of a Chef was an easy and fun read for anyone interested in the Culinary Institute of America. It gave me a better idea of what the school is like than the information session that was held in my home town!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was utterly, totally fascinating. I was a cook at a seasonal conference center for 4 years, learning as I went along. I can totally relate to this book. As well as writing about the culinary school, Ruhlman also writes about the chefs and students, so the reader really gets involved in this wonderful book. If you have any interest in cooking, read this book. It is a book you will want to read again and again!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wrggds