×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat
     

Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat

4.2 169
by David Dosa
 

See All Formats & Editions

A remarkable cat. A life-changing story.

Making Rounds with Oscar: The Extraordinary Gift of an Ordinary Cat is the story of a doctor who, at first, doesn't always listen; of the patients he serves; of their caregivers; and, most importantly, of a cat who teaches by example, embracing moments of life that so many of us shy away

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Making Rounds With Oscar 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 169 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was fortunate enough to read an early copy of this book. This is a beautiful book that meant a great deal to me on a number of levels. Currently, I have a mother with Alzheimer's and this book really allowed me to think about this disease from a different perspective. Though the book tells Oscar's remarkable story, I found myself even more drawn to the stories of the caregivers. "Be present" is a reminder in the book on dealing with loved ones with Alzheimer's. At times, it is difficult for me to grasp the concept that I may be one those individuals with this disease. I think about my mom and grandmother both women who were diagnosed at a young age. I think about the future and my children...be present and live in the moment as Oscar reminds us to do everyday. I hope you will find this book as meaningful and inspiring as I have.
BookwormAM More than 1 year ago
I heard about Oscar the cat on the nightly news, so when I saw the title of the book, I just had to read it. It was everything that I expected and more. Dr Dosa was a skeptic at first and after many interactions with Oscar and his presence at the time of a patient's death he could no longer ignore that somethings cannot be explained. Dr. Dosa does bring scientific theory into why this cat chooses to spend time with the patients at the end of their lifes, but the reader will draw their own conclusions. I have recommended this book to many friends.
LRB87 More than 1 year ago
Making Rounds with Oscar was an easy read, very informative and inspirational. It is excellent for audiances young and old, who know someone with alzheimers or not. I personally have not had a friend or family member with alzheimers but through Dr Dosa's account of Oscar I feel enlightened about the disease. I strongly suggest making this book apart of your reperture and will read it over and over for years to come. Congratulations David!
KallieAnn More than 1 year ago
I read a brief review of this book and the title caught my eye because I'm a cat lover. The subject matter interested me, too, because our family is experiencing other members' memory loss of varying degrees and for different reasons. I feel the book was written very well, and as I read, I could tell Dr. Dosa was changing his opinion of Oscar. It was written with respect for the patients and their families, but also with a sense of humor. I will read it again.
goldlute More than 1 year ago
this book is wonderful. It is well written and touches everyone.
KCW More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful, sensitive, insightful and practical book about the emotions and intricacies of responding to the dementia of a loved one. Although the intuition of Oscar the cat is the apparent focal point of the story, it turns out that through the cat we may well learn what it means to be truly human in the face of the frightening prospect of Alzheimer's.
nannymissy More than 1 year ago
This book is simply amazing!!! It was so well written and you feel like you are right by the side of each patient while you read the book!!!
booksthatmakeadifference More than 1 year ago
I found Oscar (the book) at a friend's house who is caring for his elderly mother - she's in a nursing home - and though I am not a cat lover I found the story of this doctor at the nursing home who discovers a cat that comforts the terminally ill patients so moving. This is a terrific book - I recommend it to everyone.
beebee24 More than 1 year ago
If you picked up this book because you are a cat lover and were excited to learn more about this fasciniting cat, you will be sorely disappointed. This book is more accurately a memoir of a doctor specializing in geriatrics who shares with us his case notes on his elderly patients. At the end of each chapter it feels like he tacks on a token "Oh yeah, and when the patient died Oscar was there and that was quite interesting". That's it. He spends very little of the book pondering the mystery of this cat phenomena. If you have had some life experience with an Alzheimers patient, you will probably find this book quite touching. But if you wanted a good read about a cat, go read Dewey the Library Cat.
Nurse-rj More than 1 year ago
After only a couple of pages I was hooked. As a nurse and a cat lover, I could appreciate the story on more than one level. However, the author does not bombard the reader with difficult technical language. Doctor Dosa also weaves a bit of his own personal philosophy into the story. The reader will walk away both encouraged and challenged. Oscar models a behavior that any human could adopt. At the end of life, people need a non-judgmental presence to ease them to the next world.
OfficerMax More than 1 year ago
Having been in the medical profession for many years I was fascinated by Oscar's intuitiveness to those that were in need of his comfort as they were dying even if they weren't aware of his presence. Animals do have an ability that we a humans don't possess. They know when they are needed and Oscar shows that not only for the patient but the family members of the dying patient also.
Morris2 More than 1 year ago
You Must Read This Book My Mother suffered from alzheimers and was confined to an extended care facility. Months before passing my Mother did not know me. I would ask her if she knew me and she would laugh saying, "I know you, you", not acknowledging that I was her only child. When she passed I was alone with her, holding her hand and assuring her that everything was going to be okay. I believe she heard me and understood I was her only child and that I was there holding her hand. I believe sharing this end of life experience with Oscar would have helped ease my sorrow."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful insight on the animal/human bond that goes largely unspoken. I learned a lot about the human mind as well as animal senses that we know little about. Very touching and enlightening reading. I have already recommended this book to others.....cat lovers or not.
hjb45 More than 1 year ago
My mother has dimentia. I thought I knew a lot about it, but Dr. Dosa gave me so much more information. What Oscar does is amazing. I recommend this book to anyone with friends and relatives who have dimentia or Alzheimers. I'm giving copies to my sisters and sons.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very helpful in understanding the process of dementia my father was going thru the last six months before he passed away. We had no idea we were dealing with dementia in him until after 3 months of rehab when a psychiatric evaluation was finally done because he was not improving from an ankle injury. He would forget how to do the rehab exercises and would tell us everyday that they were not working with him, even when we would sit with him at rehab. The doctor in the book, writes about what is really happening inside a persons mind when they are going from "mild dementia" to alzheimer. We lost our father before he reached the point of not recognizing us. But his, what we thought stubborn attitude at the time, was really his dementia. We would get angry at him because we did not know any differently. This book helped me/us understand what was happening. I would recommend it to everyone who may need to deal with or understand what is happening in a person during this time or to comfort someone they know dealing with someone like this. The doctor writes it very well and Oscar is an added bonus and diversion of the seriousness about this topic. Our Dad had an "Oscar" at his nursing home (actually named Taffy). We are very grateful to Taffy for seeing our Dad thru his journey. This book came out right after our Father passed and I know we would have done a few things differently.
ReadingPatti More than 1 year ago
This is the story of Oscar. He lives with other cats at a nursing home. He is extraordinary. He goes to rooms of residents who are about to pass away. He sits on their bed until they pass. He gives them comfort and love with asking nothing in return. He gives comfort to the loved ones also. He is a cat but knows what his special job is. I really liked this story. Oscar gives you a lot to think about. He is a pet but gives love. He just wants to be with that person who is dying. He just seems to know who needs him and when. I give this book 5 stars. I think we need to cherish our pets. They are here to love us and give us company. They only want us to love them back. Protect them and care for them. I love my kittie, Callie. She has her moments when she drives me crazy then she does something to make me laugh. I love her.
Mary-PA More than 1 year ago
This little book is a fast read and one I will never forget. It gives us an inside view of nursing homes and coping with Alzheimer's on the part of nurses, doctors, patients and patient families. And with all our technology and advances in medicine it is the simple things that give most pleasure and comfort. I heartily agree with the author -- "at the end of my days, I prefer the cat over the ICU."
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
Like the author, I am more of a dog person than a cat person. As I read this book about the author's experiences with this unique cat, I found a new appreciation for these mysterious felines. Dr Dosa was at first skeptical of a tale of a cat who seemed to know when Dr Dosa's patients in the nursing home where about to die. Oscar, the cat, would regularly show up in the patient's room and keep them company during their final hours. Being a man of science, Dr Dosa, with a good amount of skepticism, began to research the many cases of Oscar's vigils. The stories of grieving families who found solace and relief in this extraordinary cat, made a true believer of the doctor and this reader.
LJGLG More than 1 year ago
I had been curious about this book ever since I'd seen it written about in newspapers and one of my professional laboratory journals. When I saw that Oscar was being written about in a book I just had to have it. I believe the author presented his research about what made Oscar go to people in their last hours effectively. There was never a definitive conclusion made about why Oscar did what he did but several possibilities were presented. I enjoyed this book immensely and have recommended it to several of my friends.
Anonymous 16 days ago
THER SO CUTE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This seems to be one very special friend that doesn't need to be told, he just does what he wa a meant to do. The end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This cat has such ESP about the people in the nursing home where he lives....it is amazing. The families of the patients in the nursing home seem to appreciate the "gift" this cat has and the friendliness and "compassion" this cat showed them. Yes, animals can be very compassionate and, if you have lived with cats and dogs in your lives, you know how compassionate they can be when you are ill or have sadness in your life. This cat made even a doctor who was not fond of cats "a believer" in Oscar's "powers".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book with a heavy heart as my mother suffers from Alzheimer. She is being cared for by a very wonderful staff in Sun City, AZ. There are no cats where she resides but if there was they would be with her as she's had cats all her life. As I watch my cats June and Freida sleeping I think fondly of Oscar and the precious job he has,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago