×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Man Called Cash: The Life, Love, and Faith of an American Legend
     

The Man Called Cash: The Life, Love, and Faith of an American Legend

3.9 45
by Steve Turner
 

See All Formats & Editions

Johnny Cash is one of the most influential figures in music and American popular culture today. While he was an icon to people of all ages during his life, Cash's legacy continues after his death. His remarkable story is captured in this exclusive authorized biography, addressing the whole life of Johnny Cash-not just his unforgettable music but also his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Man Called Cash: The Life, Love and Faith of an American Legend 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good but not great! This book goes here and there and does capture some of Johnny Cash but leaves out a lot. For instance when Johnny backslides into drugs it never really adresses Junes place in the drama that unfolds.But I was not looking for skeletons to be dragged out of the closet but at least a clear view of events as they unfolded. And maybe that is not to be expected if the family did not want that.So if your looking for an indepth book this is not it.Read Johnny on his own "Man in Black" !
BritAllie More than 1 year ago
If you are a Johnny Cash fan, there is little here that you haven't read or heard before. The most interesting to me was his time in Germany, but overall while the writing was good, the information was a rehash.
DINKDB More than 1 year ago
It reveals a side of Johnny Cash that I had not known before.
avkdjw More than 1 year ago
I've never been into country music, but I do like some of Johnny Cash's songs. Since I like to read biographies, I got this book. I found it very interesting. Reading Johnny's life story (this book) is very informative. I'm sure that if your a country music fan and a fan of Johnny's you will also enjoy this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Steve Turner does a great job telling Johnny Cash's story. You get exposed to all of the various facets of this diamond of the music world. Johnny was definitely not a one dimensional person or artist. A lot of Johnny's life is covered in the pages of this book. I expect it was hard to leave some things out. Although he frequently succumbed to many of life's bad influences, Johnny Cash came out on top in the end. This is recommended reading for biography or music fans.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It talks about the truth about the man in black. Great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was an easy read. The content and way it was presented made it quite interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I respect opinions but yours is hateful and just wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :(((((
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I paid more for this book than I usually do, but I was disappointed; I've read books about Johnny Cash before, I guess I wanted to hear about the "love story" between Johnny and June
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RetiredSenior More than 1 year ago
Very cumbersome. Couldn't even finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NanaLA More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book as well as the other one Written by John Carter. As the song says having a love like Johnny and June's is everyone's dream. He was an amazing person and one of my favorite singers
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed Johnny Cash's music during the late 60's and early 70's. I also enjoyed the movie about he and June Carter, "I walk the line". However, that was about all I knew about he and June. "Cash" gave me some interesting insights into his life. I enjoyed it a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TurboLink More than 1 year ago
A more contemporary view of Johnny Cash that includes an excellent analysis of his musical evolution. I didn’t get the same first person sense of other bios that Johnny had done, for obvious reasons, but there are many other first hand accounts of his life and times by those who knew him well. You can see a lot of this book in the movie “Walk the Line.” On the downside, there seemed to be many holes to important phases of his life and career. Still, an excellent perspective if you've read other Cash biographies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoying this except for the typos and formatting errors