×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization
     

Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization

4.0 33
by Greg Cox
 

See All Formats & Editions

The official novelization of the new Man of Steel movie featuring Superman. The film, from director Zack Snyder, stars Henry Cavill (The Tudors) as Superman/Clark Kent, three-time Oscar® nominee Amy Adams (The Fighter) as Daily Planet journalist Lois Lane, and Oscar® nominee Laurence Fishburne (What's Love Got to Do with It) as

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Man of Steel: The Official Movie Novelization 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The movie was great!!! This book is a perfect depiction of the movie. The action sequence dont get mundane as in some books. I was hoping there were 'deleted scenes' in this novelaztion but was saddly disapppointed. Overall a fun quick read for the weekend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an over all great book. The action scenes are great but do not over shadow the dramitic parts of plotline. Also the big surprise ending was not really suspected but still welcomed. I have not yet seen the movie but if it is anything at all like the book it should be great. P.S. This book's SNAP is almost as good as the dark knight rises.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A dark grey tabby padded in. "Hello!" She smiled warmly
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Where is that
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I know that Superman had to be 'updated,' but this adaptation really destroyed the essence of Superman. He's was pretty much an confused person traveling the world with no direction. I know the point of this movie was to make Superman more human, but it really just turned him into a wander. No life, no direction, no goal and no hope. That sounds much to human to be Superman. Superman is different, he always has been. It's a good book as a book itself, but not what I'd consider a good Superman book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great movie and great novel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVED IT IM REREADING IT HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT
Andrew_A More than 1 year ago
The Man of steel by Greg Cox Is a great new version of the DC Comics series “Superman!” Greg Cox does a great job of integrating the original Superman story with his new story. His technique of using the original Superman story is great for Superman fans. The new version is actually better because he gives more explanation about Superman's beginnings. I think that superhero fans around the world will enjoy this new edition of the all time favorite superman! I easily give this book a solid four stars and might even push for four and a half. I would recommend this book for people of all ages who like Superheroes especially Superman. In the beginning the author gives a really great explanation of Superman's family and home planet. He even explains how the destruction of Jor-el's (Clark Kent/Superman) home planet unfolded. It a gives a great foreshadow to the far future events to come. Cox gives great detail about Clark Kent growing up on a farm in Kansas and transforming into the Superman everyone knows today! In the end like every good Superhero the Man Of Steel has to save the distressed from their perils. He saves lives and helps others in need, unknown to the endeavors that await him. To top all of that this time he has to face his own people. Superman has to live up to his father's high expectations and the hopes of everyone depending on him!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book Ever!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Superman is the greatest hero eva.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi-am-dumb-at-this-plus-you-bori-ng
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cdgxggdgtfftfdy. I am unabel to make words.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I NEED TO SEE TGE MOVIE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a little wary about this darker version of Supes, but it really works well.
Man_Of_La_Book_Dot_Com More than 1 year ago
Man of Steel: The Offi­cial Movie Nov­el­iza­tion by Greg Cox is exactly what it claims to be, a novel of the sum­mer block­buster. Mr. Cox has writ­ten other nov­el­iza­tion, includ­ing sev­eral in the super­hero genre. On the doomed planet Kryp­ton a son is born to Jor-El and Lara-El, the boy, named Kal-El is the first Kryp­ton­ian nat­ural birth in cen­turies. Jor-El steals the genetic infor­ma­tion from which Krp­ton­ian babies are “made” of and sends it with his son shortly before the planet explodes. The only Kryp­to­ni­ans to sur­vive, besides Kal-El, are rene­gade sol­diers led by Gen­eral Zod who make it their mis­sion to find the infor­ma­tion Jor-El stole. Thirty-three years later, Clark Kent ( Kal-El) trav­els the world in search of his iden­tity, inten­si­fy­ing the myth of a sav­ing angel wher­ever he goes. In a truck stop he over­hears Cana­dian air­men talk about a UFO found in deep in the ice. Clark goes inves­ti­gat­ing, finds his roots but also sends out a mes­sage into space bring­ing the genet­i­cally engi­neered sol­diers to Earth. When I saw Man of Steel: The Offi­cial Movie Nov­el­iza­tion by Greg Cox on sale I imme­di­ately grabbed it. I thought the movie was great and wouldn’t mind a quick read of the novel. The oppor­tu­nity to read this book came on Thanks­giv­ing week­end, when I didn’t want to read any­thing heavy or pro­found (and I got the Man of Steel DVD for Chanukah). I thought the book was very good, a quick read and lots of fun. The book added onto the movie going into more details and into the char­ac­ter heads. For exam­ple, the story cov­ers more thor­oughly the genetic engi­neer­ing of Kryp­to­ni­ans which leads to the con­fronta­tion of Super­man with sol­diers who can feel no empa­thy or remorse. I used to read many movie nov­el­iza­tions, mainly since I love films as well as books, but as we all know nov­el­iza­tions are some­times bor­ing, some­times sim­ply bad and mostly never bring any­thing new to the reader. For me, the nov­el­iza­tion helped enhance the movie and some of the aspects which I was unclear about (mainly due to the explosions). Mr. Cox says that he wrote the book before see­ing the movie, read­ing how well he man­aged to cre­ate the fic­tional scenery and descrip­tions to match the movie is a tes­ta­ment to his skill as an author and observer. The novel fol­lows the movie very closely, is fast paced and easy to read. If you’re look­ing for a fun and enter­tain­ing book, not too seri­ous and enjoy­able pick up this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The hunger games is better
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
E V E R!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago