×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Manifold: Space (Manifold Series #2)
     

Manifold: Space (Manifold Series #2)

3.7 81
by Stephen Baxter
 

See All Formats & Editions

The year is 2020. Fueled by an insatiable curiosity, Reid Malenfant ventures to the far edge of the solar system, where he discovers a strange artifact left behind by an alien civilization: A gateway that functions as a kind of quantum transporter, allowing virtually instantaneous travel over the vast distances of interstellar space. What lies on the other side of the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Manifold 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 81 reviews.
TroyAsher More than 1 year ago
Space is one of my favorite science fiction novels and led me to explore the other books in Baxter's Manifold series. The books are individual stories and they can be read in any order though i feel Space has the edge over the others. While Time is an equally epic story, i found the enormous distances covered in Space easier to comprehend than the vast eons outlined in Time. Baxter's characters, both human and robotic, are engaging. His story telling is compelling. On top of this Baxter has the ability to describe the complexities of science in a way that makes it both comprehensible and fascinating. 5 stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story is one of the most vivid books I have read this year. It takes sci-fi to a whole new level, with Baxter's great imagination and writing skills.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The end of the world, or, merely, the end of life as we know it, has been one of man's greatest fears. Author Stephen Baxter's MANIFOLD: TIME does not exploit nor hide behind such dire threats. Rather, Baxter uses this most human concern as a catalyst for his action-based novel, demonstrating that man's survival instinct is so great that it bears the potential to transcend time. Told in the near-distant future and centering around a diverse group of characters (the rogue space hero; the independent, yet dutiful ex-wife; the politician with a conscience; the seemingly mad mathematician; the genius child; and the brain-enhanced squid), MANIFOLD: TIME is a story spanning so many levels, you'll be thinking about it long after you've turned the last page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In the beginning, this book was a bit confusing, but grew on me as I read on. After I read it the second time, things were much clearer to me. It is a very imaginative approach to answering the questions, "Are we alone in our Universe? How can it be that we have not seen signs of other intelligent beings beyond earth?" Stephen Baxter's treatment of this subject is on the dark side, but extremely well done.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stephen Baxter's intriguing book provides a new view to predicting Earth's end. His style of writing, although a bit slow at times, allows the characters to develop to bring the story to its irreversible end, and what an ending it is. I am impressed by Baxter's creativity. For an author with such an extensive technical background he goes beyond that call to incorporate simplicity to the scientific material and to explore the depth and interaction of his characters leading to earth's outcome without being humdrum! A most enjoyable book, well written and would recommend it to all sci-fi buffs who really want food for thought. Ceridwen 'C.J.' Johnson Toronto, Canada
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was boring, then interesting, then boring, and so on to the point i gave up on it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not worth reading waste of time and money
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an lover of what feels like a dying art...well written and thought-out hard science fiction. I loved this book!!
BellasMomma More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the other Manifold books immensely. Origin was good, but not the best. I enjoyed the other two better, but this is worth a read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago