×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Map of Bones (Sigma Force Series)
     

Map of Bones (Sigma Force Series)

4.3 388
by James Rollins
 

See All Formats & Editions

The bestselling master of astonishing adventure James Rollins delivers his most relentlessly exciting page-turner to date-a gripping and explosive novel of an ancient conspiracy to create a terrifying new world order out of the ashes of modern civilization.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Map of Bones 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 388 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Excellent book! Rollins comes at you with a dizzying pace and almost overwhelming information. After 20 pages you adjust to his speed and data ... and you enjoy the ride! This is a modern thriller with obvious comparisons to The DaVinci Code. Three American intelligence operatives and two Italians (priest and niece) form an unlikely and tight partnership to thwart an ancient religious order from gaining an ultimate prize. Perhaps this is a perceptive view of our 21st century, a harmonious blend of science and spirituality, history and technology, religion and government agents across borders. A high point is Rollins' use of a loyal team of five very diverse people devoted to one another and their mission. This is a fine read!
TaylaurErin More than 1 year ago
James Rollins is one of my new favorite thriller authors, among the ranks of Michael Crichton, Dan Brown, Douglas Preston, and Lincoln Child. His plots are thrilling and incredibly unique leaving you in suspense and utterly surprised by the twists and turns. The first of his "Sigma Force" series, Map of Bones, is by far one of his best works yet and definitely one of my favorites from this series. Grayson Pierce is an interesting James Bond-esq lead character with whom you instantly fall in love and wish you were more like. His historical references as well as theological and mythological foundation are incredibly intriguing, making outside research on the topics fun and useful. Map of Bones is easily comparable to The Davinci Code, as the setting and religious elements are very similar. However, Rollins' writing style as well as the more thrilling theme makes it, in my opinion, a superior novel. Possibly one of my top ten favorite thrillers, Map of Bones is a must read for any action lover or someone looking for a new interesting author.
Guest More than 1 year ago
James Rollins has always been one of my favorite action/thriller writers, but he seems to have drifted in his last two books, gravitating toward the Matt Reilly-type thriller with lots of shootouts and narrow escapes, and less of the creative bent that characterized such efforts as Amazonia and Subterranean. The plot of 'Map of Bones' has a touch of 'Da-Vinci Code', with Biblical relics pivotal to the plot. Overall, it's a fun, fast-paced read, but wait for the paperback or get it from the library.
SiouxieBoshoff More than 1 year ago
Within the first couple chapters I was hooked! Map of Bones is an archeological thriller that beautifully weaves real life history, mysteries, religious and historical artifacts and secret societies into a thrilling adventure. The characters are developed in a way that you either love them or despise them. Their victories become yours and you can't help but feel a little thrill when the bad guys have difficulty. As a warning, this book is nearly impossible to put down. Rollins has truly mastered the art of keeping the reader engaged. It's one of those "just one more chapter and then I'm going to bed" books that keep you up late into the night.
Ronrose More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by James Rollins. I am sorry I haven't run across his books sooner. The book is full of nonstop action. I loved the tie ins with historical facts and his conjectures on the possible ways these facts might work together to further the plot of the novel. The characters are pretty standard fare, but the action is what we came for and Mr. Rollins does not disappoint.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book though at times kind of hard to follow.
gfry More than 1 year ago
Very, VERY well written! This is the first, (and only, so far), book I've read by this author and I couldn't put it down! Full of adventure, suspense and thrills, not to mention all the details relative to a wealth of historical details woven in to make this book a fantastic thriller!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I rate this highly if you like action and details.I love these guys .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my favorite books ever.
Mongobear More than 1 year ago
I Love the Sigma Force Series. I look forward to the next book in the series.
JeffNewman More than 1 year ago
After being let down by sandstorm I decided to give rollins another shot. It started out strong and I was excited that he got rid of all the horrible characters from the first. These new guys had some promise. BUT half way through the book I couldnt tell what the point of the journey was. Also sigma force is supposed to be the best of the best and they kept getting their butts whooped. By the end of it I kept thinking, "get it over with" and was checking the number of pages left. Low and behold at the end they got to the place they wanted to finally, stopped the chain and then just left on their merry way after 400 pages of riddles and clues.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!
karlpov More than 1 year ago
Couldn't anyone tell Rollins that "Magi" is the plural of "Magus"? He uses it interchangeably as singular and plural throughout the book. This is one of those books where the villain is always a step ahead of the good guys not because that makes any sense but because the writer hasn't squeezed out enough words to make the story a novel yet. The characters come from the U.S. Sigma Force (good guys), the Catholic Church (good guys), a bunch of neomonarchist conspirators (bad guys) and your standard ambiguous gorgeous Asian Dragon Lady who unexpectedly (?) saves the hero when necessary. The plot involves nonsense physics and a popular imaginary substance called monoatomic gold (or "m-state" substances in general -- this is all hokum). There's a wise old priest on hand to give the occasional Bible lesson, except check your Bible, as sometimes he seems to be making it up as he goes along (check the references to manna in Exodus). This is a terrible book on many levels, inferior to Lester Dent's most routine Doc Savage, or Warren Murphy's worst Destroyer.
kennyrFL More than 1 year ago
This is one of those books you just can not put down. Good and believable plot. Great characters with a fantastic ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Map of Bones was a thrilling novel by James Rollins. If anyone enjoyed reading The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown, they will enjoy this book. It is arguably better than the bestselling DaVinci Code. Definitely a must read!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Okay - I don't get the excitement over this book. The plot is laborious and totally unbelievable (The protagonists somehow accomplish more in one day than any human could hope to do in 2 months). The writing concerning the romantic storyline with Rachel and Gray is nauseating. And is it just me or does anyone else wonder how St. Thomas - a contemporary of Jesus - baptized the three magi? Anyway - I've read worse but I cannot recommend this book.
theaterofthemind 11 months ago
On my recent road trip I listened to Map of Bones by James Rollins on audio cd. This unabridged audio book was performed by L.J. Ganser. At 15.75 hours this book took two days of driving to complete. The story is somewhat reminiscent of Angels & Demons or Da Vinci Code. It is a somewhat grisly adventure pitting fanatic religious orders and government agencies against each other. Built around the Catholic Church history of dispersing the body parts of saints and religious icons to consecrated churches, the story becomes a worldwide hunt for what amounts to a terrorist organization. There was enough intrigue to hold my interest while racking up the miles on my odometer. This was my introduction to James Rollins' work (my wife is a fan and chose the book) and interested me enough to check out more of his work. Map of Bones is apparently somewhat of a departure from Mr. Rollins usual work. I found it entertaining and enjoyable enough for my road trip, although it is a little on the long side. There was of course the romantic interest, but it felt a bit like an add-on. A good read for fans of espionage type stories, some secret technologies but not overly reliant on them. Over all an entertaining accompaniment on a long, long drive. Enjoy! Mike
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read as usual
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Frenetic & fast paced, but jumped the shark a bit too many times.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MRR62 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book, but it went a bit into the weird... The writing style was very good, language well-used. Very few editing mistakes that I noticed. The plot moved well, and kept my interest. I would recommend this book with the caveat that one be prepared for things happening that just won't happen, even though the book appears to be set within the real world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The storyline and characters held my interest. I look forward to reading more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago