×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Marry Him: The Case for Settling for Mr. Good Enough
     

Marry Him: The Case for Settling for Mr. Good Enough

3.8 52
by Lori Gottlieb
 

See All Formats & Editions

The controversial national bestseller!

Nearly forty and single, Lori Gottlieb faced the unthinkable: she'd wasted her best years chasing an elusive Prince Charming who might not even exist. Meanwhile, her friends who'd "settled" for Mr. Good Enough ended up married to excellent husbands and fathers.

This is an eye-opening, funny, painful, and always

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Marry Him 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 52 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think the title is misleading, this book isn't about settling for someone who wont make you happy it's about self-awareness, determining what actions and thoughts have prevented you from finding the partner/relationship you want in your life. This book is aimed at women in their mid to late 30s and the book is filled with stories from women and men in that age group both single and married. The author (single mother in her early 40s) uses herself as a guinea pig and enlists the help of matchmakers, dating gurus, a rabbi and researchers to explain why its so much harder to find someone as you get older. There is so much information presented in this book from experts, the author and the people interviewed that I think it would be impossible for someone to not find a story/theory they can relate to their situation. This is the best $15 I've ever spent. The best thing about this book is that it's not an advice book, no silly ideas like- dressing sexy and going to a sports bar, just a mirror to help you see where you are going wrong.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have been needing this reality check and this book probably just saved me from a lifetime of loneliness. If you are sick of advice from friends that lead you to be more alone- take this book to heart. I know today that i am going to marry the man of my reality!
TampaGirl More than 1 year ago
I'm 30+ and still single. This book made me realize how picky I've been throughout the years. It made me accept that the prince charming that I've been dreaming about since a little girl is just a fantasy and that I needed to have more realistic expectations. This new way of thinking is only fair because I am not a princess myself. Also, this book gave the word "settling" a new definition in my life. It doesn't mean that I should compromise and marry any loser. Just that I should be more open minded.
panderia82 More than 1 year ago
The perfect slap in the face for all of us perpetually single girls. It's not about settling for Mr. Joe Schmoe, it's about letting go of all your preconceived notions of what a happy marriage should be so you can find that Mr. Right. We follow along in Gottlieb's quest to open herself up to it all, from her reluctance to change her way of thinking to her eventual transformation and acceptance. The book to share with all your female friends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was inspiring, uplifting and hilarious all at the same time. I am sharing it with all of my friends regardless if they are married, single or dating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not a new one, but the concept is good that women should be more reasonable and less critical in looking for a mate. With that said, if you already know this, there is a better way to spend money than buying this book. The entire book is basically a compilation of various researches followed by the author's rambling about herself. Sharing one's experience is one thing, going on and on about "me, me, me" is another. The book reads like a bad attempt to stretch what can be sufficiently and more efficiently said in a paragraph into 300-something pages. Despite most earnest effort, I ended up skipping several chapters as the author continued to repeat the same content over and over, simply in different sentences. For what matters, spelling and grammar errors are spotted frequently; section titles and subtitles rarely reflect the content. If you must read this book, I suggest going to the book store and flipping through it before spending money on it. But I do understand everyone responds differently to one book, so if you happen to really like it, please don't let my criticism affect your decision to purchase one. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read 1-3 nonfiction books a week and this one is a total game changer. This book has opened my eyes to things I never really gave though to and is wonderfully insightful. If you're dating, not dating, having issues in your relationship, etc....read this book. Best relationship book I've ever read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Author gives detailed information and real life experiences. Will definetely give you a sense of urgency to get paired up as soon as possible. Message here is if you wait too long you are going to get the guys no one wants. Basically crumbs someone else didn' t pick or leftovers.
Akil More than 1 year ago
First of all, I am a man. I am 27 years old, and I saw this book reviewed in a magazine. I was initially interested in it because I once dated someone, and I think she passed over me the way the author passed over many of the good prospects she had in her younger days. All in all, I enjoyed the book. But, I realize the me reading it isn't going to help the situation. Women need to read it, and realize that they need to be more open about who they date and who they dismiss and their reasons for the dismissal. (sorry for the run-on sentence) I am looking at the so-called "independent single ladies." You can have a man, a good man, just don't expect him to be the president or a CEO. He can be a regular guy who is loving, caring and kind, and will be a good husband to you and a good father to your children (if you want them, of course.) I just hope some women are able to reevaluate their preferences and opt for someone good enough and happiness, instead of waiting in the wings for perfection, and running the risk of ending up 40 and alone. Think about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago