×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Mary, Called Magdalene
     

Mary, Called Magdalene

3.8 46
by Margaret George
 

See All Formats & Editions

The New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth I brilliantly reimagines the story of the most mysterious woman in the Bible.

Was Mary Magdalene a prostitute, a female divinity figure, a church leader, or all of those? Biblical references to her are tantalizingly brief, but we do know that she was the first person to whom the risen

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mary, Called Magdalene 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 45 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book made me look at things with new eyes, it has helped me discover God, and it did so in an understandable, fun way! I highly recomend for people of all backgrounds to try this book. Although some consider this book to be 'daring', you can tell the author did her research, but keep in mind the book is an opinion, it is not the Bible.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Plowing down through six hundred plus pages is a lot of novel. It is obvious that Ms. George spent unlimited hours to research and write about the era that Mary lived and later knew Jesus. Many incidents in the novel are very intense, including, the crucifixtion of Jesus. Seeing Mary through George's eyes, she is a very strong person that endured much.
marikaMF More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book because it was listed as a NYTimes bestseller. I tried picking it up several times but failed for lack of interest. Finally I decided to give it a go and get past the first ten pages or so. I am a non-practising Catholic. Well, I am very glad I persevered and read this amazing, engrossing story about a woman who apparently existed and was very much vilified in her time. She was demonized, LITERALLY, for several reasons. To her family she became a shameful outcast, and later akin to a prostitute because she followed John the Baptist and later Jesus Christ with a group of men--a woman leaving her family, and CHILD, was severely ostracized in those times. Mary of Magdalene was a Jew who became fascinated by an Idol at a time when religious Jews were very much at odds with the pagans and idol worshippers. As a result she became possessed by several very powerful demons. She went through some severe and traumatic exorcism rites at the hands of local rabbis but did not improve--but rather became worse. She was "cured" by Jesus and this lead to her following him. This novel fleshes out details of Mary's role as one of the Apostles (actually called "the Apostle to the Apostles" because of her significant role in spreading Jesus' word after his resurrection. This is a BEAUTIFULLY written book and may possibly make a believer out of a non-practising religious person. I highly recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book to help me find the feminine perspective of the Christian faith. I recently lost my brother at age 34 to cancer and a sister was murdered ten years ago. My faith has been shaken and it's been hard to reconcile what I have always been taught about God, Jesus and life itself. This book took me thro Mary's life and how she dealt with her own personal questions about faith. In that journey I was also able to rediscover my own faith. An excellent book for those interested in the day-to-day life details in the early first century or for those wanting to learn more about what life may have been like for the founders of the Christian religion. And to think I almost put it back on the shelf!! MamaJ
Guest More than 1 year ago
A child's curiousity opens the door to a lifetime's worth of regret when the young Mary of Magdala finds an Ashara idol on the way to Jerusalem with her family. Knowing she shoud throw it away, the girl still keeps it, thinking the goddess to beautiful to cause harm. Besides, only Yahweh is God, surely an idol could have no power. She does not realize that her disobedience opens the door for a demon to take hold of her heart. .............. The journey to Jerusalem is not completely filled with ill tidings. Mary also makes a friend who will defy custom and teach her to read and write, and meets the man who will change her life forever in years to come, Jesus of Nazareth. ................ As the years pass, Mary continues to hide her secret. From time to time, she hears a voice that she learns belongs to the idol, and finds herself compelled to obey it. Seeking to escape, she marries, but not even that brings her peace. Time marches on, bringing with it a child, and more demons. Tormented, Mary confesses her sin, and seeks every known means of deliverance, to no avail. Finally, she is driven to seek refuge in the desert and there will attempt to end her life. Before that can happen though, she meets Jesus once again. By now, He is also grown and beginning His mission. With a few words, He gives her peace and a new life. She joins Him and the disciples as their equal after she attempts to return home, only to be cast out as a whore. ............... The years ahead of Mary are ones filled with her greatest joys and sorrows. She learns at the feet of the Master, and is able to bring deliverance to those afflicted as she once was. Then, it all seems to be over when Christ is crucified. Or is it only beginning? ................. **** Ms. George's hours of research add historical accuracy and depth to a compelling story. New light is shed on one of the most mysterious figures in the Bible. Even from a purely secular standpoint, this is a magnetic tale. Passion and sorrow heighten the moments of joy. Whether you are Christian or not, this novel will engage your full mind and heart. ****
dpauli More than 1 year ago
I was given this book by a friend and tried several times to read it. Third time was a charm and it is one of the best books I have read in a long time. Read this whether you are religious or not. It is a fabulous story about the significance of a woman (and women) in the life of Christ and in Christianity. A great read!
Mistress_Nyte More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. It's a novelization of Mary Magdalene's life -- it's possible that her life happened this way. There is historical basis in the story, but a lot of writer's imagination. I enjoyed the characters a lot - she put a lot into them. I recommend this book - there was nothing in here that would offend anyone.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found the book enjoyable as a fiction. In the past all her books have been well researched I would love to know what research she used to base her concept of Jesus's mother, Mary, having had so many children and the family being angry at Jesus's wishing to preach versus running the family business. I was disappointed in her take on the Holy Family
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've not yet read a book by Margaret George that I've been able to put down. I hate to see them end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago