×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Match Made in Heaven
     

Match Made in Heaven

4.5 14
by Bob Mitchell
 

See All Formats & Editions

That’s the question Elliott Goodman hears in the OR as he’s about to have emergency surgery following a heart attack. But it isn’t Elliott’s surgeon who’s asking. It’s God. As in the Almighty. And God has a wager for Elliott. He challenges him to an eighteen-hole golf match. If Elliott wins, he is saved; if he loses…So begins

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Match Made in Heaven 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
What a delightful book! It is poignant as well as extremely funny. I recommend the book highly and only wish that I could apply the wonderful life lessons on a daily basis to my own life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Match Made In Heaven¿s improbable premise, a life or death golf game orchestrated by God, is matched only by it¿s surprisingly clever conclusion. The story contains as many intricate twists and turns as the best designed golf course. This is a book about golf for the golfer and non-golfer alike, with as much to say about life as golf, perhaps more. The philosophy and character of its all-star cast, ranging from Leonardo DaVinci to Babe Ruth, Beethoven to John Lennon, Picasso to Marilyn Monroe, is impeccably captured by an author who is as insightful as he is creative. Sprinkled with a generous dose of light humor, MMIH is a must-read page-turner unlike any other. It should be this year¿s runaway best-seller. Five stars.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Match Made in Heaven is a compelling read.After finishing a chapter,I always needed to know who was going to appear on the next tee. Once I found out, I couldn't put the book down, continued reading, and devoured the book in short order. The cast of characters assembled by the author was wonderfully diverse.The philosophies they espoused gave a superb insight into what is truly important in life. I am on my second read now because I'm afraid that I missed some of MMIH's nuances.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once my wife and I started to read this book, we couldn't put it down. A totally unique story line that features wit and laughter balanced by moments of wisdom, insight and poignancy. In a disarming way, this book teaches us once again that in the game of life (like golf) fulfillment is found not in winning or losing,but in the character of one's struggle in playing the game.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Witty, learned, and unpretentious: even a non-golfer can take something away from this whimsical novel. The Socratic dialogue and the encounter with Freud were my favorites.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Golf?God?Not for me. I thought. However I was intrigued enough to pick it up.Luckily, it took me3 chapters to finish my grande mocha latte and by that time I was hooked.I loved seeing such familiar characters in such a unique way. It's funny, warm and reflective. I loved it!!!!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Whether you're a golf nut, a history buff or just a great book lover, Bob Mitchell has written Match Made in Heaven for you. The raw power of a life and death outcome, the unimaginable handicap of playing against God and the constant distraction of a parade of the most colorful characters in history (DaVinci, WC Fields, Shakespeare and John Lennon to name but a few) make this not only a novel idea, but a great novel. Storytelling from the blue tees.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Somewhat dry reading. Did not care for Shakespeare's chapter. All poetry. One really has to be a golfer to appreciate this book. Nice ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Bob Mitchell's novel, 'Match Made in Heaven' is a wonderfully creative tour de force describing a life or death 18-hole golf match between God and and one man Elliott. If Elliot succeeds in winning the match over God's 18 'designated hitters,' he will receive a reprieve from imminent death. His opponents happen to be some of history's most famous personages, e.g. Leonard da Vinci, Moses, Freud, Bethoven, even Marilyn Monoe, from whom Elliott derives valuable lessons, mostly unrelated to the golf game. It's a far out premise that Mitchell handles extrememly well with humor and insight and from which the reader can derive something about competition itself but even more about human frailties and strength.