×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Measure of the Magic: Legends of Shannara
     

The Measure of the Magic: Legends of Shannara

4.3 141
by Terry Brooks
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 
For five hundred years, the survivors of the Great Wars lived peacefully in a valley sanctuary shielded by powerful magic from the dangerous outside world. But the enchanted barriers have crumbled, and the threat of annihilation looms large once more. As he lay dying, Sider Ament, bearer of the last black staff

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Measure of the Magic 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 141 reviews.
david meyers More than 1 year ago
Starting with "sword of shanara" all the way to this one. Great stories. I have read them all. Each story is unique and stands on its own. But to really enjoy the complete works of Mr. Brooks. Start at the begining with "sword of shanara" and read your way through. It all comes full circle.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining and true to the storyline. Lots of depth to the characters. Exciting and not always predictable in the way you think. One of my favorite authors and series. Good bridge to closing out the old world and begining the world of Shannarah.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nuff said
Reading_Rogue More than 1 year ago
The Sword of Shanarra was one of the first fantasy books I every read. Since then Terry Brooks has, by far, been one of my favorite authors. This installment in the series does not disappoint. Can't wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terry Brooks has once again written an amazing novel!! I love Terry Brooks and have been reading him for over 30 years at least. This story continues on with The Man with the Staff, only this time the entire valley is in trouble. You also find out more about the elusive Blue Elf Stones. Trouble is coming and so are big changes for the valley. This one is definitely another one of Terry's great stories. A good book that you read and cannot stop! Terry Brooks at his best!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great read! On par with most of Mr. Brooks' later books, it is full of adventure, magic, surprises, and heartache. The ending left more questions than his last trilogy, but it just makes me want to get into the next book in the series that much sooner. 8/21/12 cannot get here fast enough!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This and the entire series is wonderful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terry Brooks continues to produce great stories, and the only baffling thing is why Hollywood hasn't snatched up some of his books to make into what would be really fantastic fantasy films. Yet. I believe that one day someone will get wise, and do just this, and this book, part of a 2-book series, will make yet another good story to incorporate into a movie series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an ok read but far from the great work I have come to expect from Terry Brooks. The Bearer of the Black Staff and The Measure of the Magic read as if they were for YA readers. Not sorry I read them but will probably forget that I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
joannegrace More than 1 year ago
This is a complex, continuously suspenseful legend interweaving magic and human interest. Hard to put down the books in this trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a long time reader of Terry brooks books, I have possibly read all of them, this one as with so many others is most excellent. I read my first book, the Sword Of Shannara when I was at sea for six months in the navy in the early 80's and have been an ardent fan ever since.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite author, read all his books, can't wait for the next. My last name is Ament. It means "at the end"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago