×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Mediterranean Caper (Dirk Pitt Series #1)
     

The Mediterranean Caper (Dirk Pitt Series #1)

4.1 197
by Clive Cussler
 

See All Formats & Editions


A LUFTWAFFE ACE WHO WOULDN'T DIE...
A BRUNETTE BEAUTY WITH DANGEROUS SECRETS...
A LETHAL, BILLION-DOLLAR CARGO!


On an isolated Greek island, a World War I fighter plane attacks a modern U.S. Air Force base...a mysterious saboteur preys on an American scientific expedition...and Dirk Pitt® plays a deadly game of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Mediterranean Caper (Dirk Pitt Series #1) 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 197 reviews.
Breykaleg More than 1 year ago
I read this book around 1980, given to me by my brother after he finished. What a great start it was to the world of Clive Cussler (CC). We had just returned from two years in Turkey, so the geographical references were bright and spot on. I really enjoyed how CC so aptly described the details of not only the locations, but down to the way a dress would lay on the curvaceous body of Dirk's woman du jour. I could not read this book fast enough, taking no more than a day and a half, interrupted only due to the hour in which I started being so close to bedtime. I read as much as I could before falling to sleep. As his first Dirk Pitt novel, CC did show his Freshman writing, but he grabs the reader by the neck and shoves the adventure down your throat. The seemingly non-stop action, coupled with a string theory collaboration of characters is a tremendous formula for success. It all leads to the first of so many "Only Dirk, Al, and the Good Guys/Girls can avert Global destruction by following insignificant clues" scenarios. It also lead to a 30+ year family CC book swap meet between my brother and I, where one of us buys the newest release, devours it, then sends it to the other on a rotating basis. Thanks for all the memories, sir.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although definitely not the best Cussler novel, it's definitely worth the read if you're a fan, and unlike later Pitt novels, this one is a quick read at just a few hundred pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Dirk Pitt¿ novels are just s great as the Kurt Austin¿ series. Gooo... Clive Cussler. He's the best writer in my book collection. Gooo... NUMA¿!
waltread More than 1 year ago
Hard to beat Clive Cussler for an action read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the story's twists & unexpected turns. I find Myself reading CC's stories from my Nook while I've got Google Earth running on my laptop to follow the geographical references.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pitt's cocky attitude makes these books! Definately worth the read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Forget what my wife wrote up there before(only one star) shes just pissed because i like his books more than having sex with her, its great and i plan to read it over and over
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
By far the best Clive Cussler I've read yet. From the first page you are into the action and suspense. It's not a particularly lengthy book, only a little over 200 pages so the fast action and exciting story makes this a great read for the long plane ride or a vacation read. Dirk Pitt is my kind of guy!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fairly good but the best durk pitt is cyclops by far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fun and quick read. Great for reading on an airplane or while traveling. Basically, its like reading an Indiana Jones movie. Lots of action, very fast-paced, and the plot doesn't really matter (and doesn't have to be believable). Have fun with this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love all clive cusslers books, tgis one was great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my firt Clive Cussler book and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Kept you reading to see what happened next. Highly recommend!
Shatman More than 1 year ago
Highly recommend. Have read many but went back to series #1 with Dirk Pitt to start from beginning. A page turner that you cannot put down. The tie in to possible historic events is a plus. This is perfect for a relaxing weekend. Enjoy
Reader53TX More than 1 year ago
The VERY early Cussler was fun entertainment but a little rough around the edges. The plot was far fetched (aren't they all) and the hero was a little raw. Later efforts improved greatly, but I still enjoyed this one.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Dirk Pitt is one of my favorite characters in the world of books and he's making his debut in this whirlwind thriller. Cussler's early writing is defintitely not his best but it's still pretty good. The farther you get into the book the more detail comes into the writing. All the events weaved nicely and I was reading furiously for one action scene. One of my complaints is that Pitt seems a little stern in this novel but Clive explains that he's trying to regruop after losing someone(see Pacific Vortex!). And the biggest complaint I have is that the final scene does not live up to the endings of Clive's other works. The ending just seemed to happen with no action. Overall, it's nice and short with alot of punch and you can't help but read the next page. 4 out of 5 and a nice Christmas gift for any book lover.
AMA001 More than 1 year ago
Unlike what I am used to reading but enjoyed the story and recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kegmeister More than 1 year ago
Overall, the story line and character development is typical Clive Cussler. However, the character treatment of women is very sexist which reminds me of the fact the original manuscript was several decafes ago. I doubt that describing a relationship with a woman in a cavalier manner as one in which the honorable protagonist says he "laid her" would be acceptable today. In fact, the early Dirk Pitt comes off as being chauvanistic. So, if you don't mind that...enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Clive Cussler gripped me right away, hard to set this one down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago